A great example of massive government intervention working.
I’ve relatives from there and it was quite the depressing place in the 1950s. That said the scale of the rebuilding post World War II was absolutely astonishing. There are videos of German cities blown to pieces in 1945 with incredible recovery seen in the early 1950s. Amazing what can be done after a catastrophe.
I don’t really subscribe to this stuff on it being U.K. towns hollowed out. I get that people say the Wars catapulted the US to the number one nation and the UK ended up relying on them, but the US was always going to be number one at some point once their economy turbo charged in the 19th century.
It was inevitable that the U.K. was going to decline given it’s size. If anything the U.K.’s intelligent use of multilateral organizations has given them a disproportionate say in world affairs. The U.K. economy was absolutely fucked by the 1970s because they ran out of the free Marshall money and post war productivity gains and had yet to engage with Europe.
That should be on “things that are right” thread.
This Brexit shambles evokes memories of the battle of Rorkes’s Drift when half the proposed defenders fucked off to protect their own skins.
Hopefully the EU are better organised than the ill-fated Zulus.
It’s a bit like the void Grand National.
A farce which demanded a re-run that didn’t happen.
But this is far worse, as unlike the result of the void race, the result of the referendum stands.
It could only happen in a backward little country like England.
Name the horse that “won” the voided Grand National?
Esha Ness. Ridden by John White from Carrig. I didn’t Google that. I hope I’m correct.
You are correct.
What in the name of jaysus have I just watched.
One of the oldest games involving a ball, played every Shrove Tuesday in Athersone, Warwickshire…
Gaelic Football - or Caid, would have been similar i’d imagine.
Sounds like it:
In the years prior to the foundation of the Gaelic Athletic Association in 1884, Ballysteen and Askeaton played games of Caid or ‘rough and tumble’ against each other on a regular basis. This was a game which was popular with the Irish peasantry at the time. They used a ball made of farm animal skins with an inflated bladder within, giving it an oval shape. Their were 21 players on each team and players showed their team colours by wearing bands around their shoulders.
The ball was thrown up halfway between Ballysteen and Askeaton at Sheehys Hill, in the townland of Moig North and from then until the end of the game the aim was to get possession of the ball and run for home which was the church gate of their respective parishes.
The game was played cross country over fields and hedges, and tripping, pushing and wrestling or ‘handigrips’ were all recognized methods used to try an impede the progress of opponents. Fast runners were often placed on the outside of the large crush of men wrestling for the ball to enable them to gain ground quickly when their side succeeded in moving the ball out to them. There was no time limit and many of these games went on until nightfall
Askeaton didnt like it up em.
Sounds deadly.
so the British invented Gaelic football as well as hurling? interesting
Tassoti
Last night’s triumph in Paris will surely embolden the brits ?
Name the English trainer who said “This is like something that would happen in Ireland, you know, a backward little country like Ireland!?”
He claimed that he was being satirical and having a go at the English, not the Irish, and it just came out really badly.
I actually believe him.
That question was asked in a primary school credit union quiz in 1994 or so.
The quiz was in Piercestown GAA complex @Bandage. Were you there?
Incredibly I answered Into the red.
I’ve never forgotten it.
John had a very testy interview with Des Lynam after the Esha Ness ‘win’.
Yes, was that a final? I think we won that quiz and I scored all my team’s points.