Not to mention John McDermott treating Canavanâs ankle like a bouncing castle.
That was his pathetic attempt to be edgy. An awful clown of an analyst but a very good footballer.
He wasnât even looking at him, a complete accident
That Meath Tyrone semi from 1996 is one of the most dirty matches in my memory. Meath pricks.
Meath were laying into dublin for years⌠Nobody cared because it was just the dubsâŚit only became an issue when meath got out of leinster and started butchering the like of Cork, mayo and tyroneâŚ
Nobody really cared either way as Meath were a âmanlyâ team, apparently.
Meath were fairly reviled after 88 especially. When youre dirty and still win after having a man sent off its a perfect storm for the screaming marys. Likes of Liam Hayes used to revel in the bad boy image
That Meath team nearly killed a load of lads by âaccidentâ. O Connell shoved Doohers face into the turf and them stamped on his head. It was no accident. Doohers head was exactly where he left it.
Whatever that Tyrone team got was too good for them. They were a shower of tramps and cowards. But throw us up a video of the fateful incidentâŚ
Meath were well known as scum. My mam used to despise them, although Monaghan people generally hate Meath teams anyway.
Whenever Dublin eventually turned into probably the dirtiest team if all time Iâd say a lot of it was because they had seen that teams had been kicking the shit of them for years and no fucks given.
Iâd rather have the Meath men taking it out on Dooher and the Dubs than taking it out on their wives.
Hayes was one of the cleanest players on that team. Still ended his career with a sending off, mind.
Hayes was a fucking great player actually, but generally isnât one of the names people think of as such when they think of that team.
I meant the bad boy image of the team. The Millwall no one likes us we donât care thing
He did a bit in his autobiography alright, but that was the ethos of the team. Iâd like to read some of Hayesâs Sunday Press articles from when he was actually playing. Maybe it was because it was the first GAA autobiography I read, and maybe because I have an unhealthy obsession with the period of football when he was in his pomp, but I always thought his book stood up much better than others of that genre. He was definitely a thoughtful man, but phoned it in for lot of his later when he was writing for the Sunday Tribune and made an eejit of himself defending Michelle Smith.
Meath were slated by the media after 88 replay and they never were liked thereafter . They were a tough team with a dirty enough streak but never whinged . I liked them and generally liked to see them win
I was massively up for Cork in 1987 and particularly 1988 which Meath won.
In 1989 I was up for Mayo, but Cork won.
In 1990 I switched to being mildly up for Meath, but Cork won.
My history of being up for the side that lost was established early.
I didnât really give a shit about the 1990 final though, I was in the middle of an anti-GAA period, I watched Liverpool beating Manchester United 4-0, then after that finished I turned over briefly to hear Cork were leading, then went to 5pm mass so I didnât even see the end of it.
Strangely enough though I was glued to the 1990 hurling final and was massively up for Cork.
O Rourke was an all time great. He was incredible. He made a bad statement. It happens.
That Meath were some filthy fucks but Jesus they were fun to watch.
Iâd recommend anyone with a love for the early 90s have a listen to Woolies recent podcast with James McCartan, a great rollercoaster of an interview. Kevin Foley busted a hape of teeth on Mickey Linden in the first half.
OâRourke was a serous athlete.
Lyons was an animal
McEntee a surgeon
Some operators
As a younger man they broke my Dubs heart so many times.
Christ what a footballer. Pat spillane must be sick at the very thought of him.
Mickey Linden was an unbelievable player but he was some man to spectacularly miss a sitter of a goal chance.