British Loins Tour to Australia 2013 - Official Thread

Croppy on fire here.

Getting inspiration from fooley and using his lame “Baldoyle” line of slagging. It doesn’t get worse than this on the forum.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 772479, member: 306”]Sorry, Australia came 18 with 0.3180 medals per head of capita.

Ireland came 22 with 0.2118 medal per head of capita.*

• not shit in the Olympics[/quote]
    Unfortunately I can’t agree with those calculations. I’m fairly sure we did not win 0.2118 medals per head. That would be a stunning achievement with between 1 in 4 and 1 in 5 Irishmen bringing home a medal from the Olympics.

http://simon.forsyth.net/olympics.html

http://www.medalspercapita.com/#medals-per-capita:2012

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 772845, member: 306”]http://simon.forsyth.net/olympics.html

http://www.medalspercapita.com/#medals-per-capita:2012[/quote]

So your initial figures were only off by a factor of a million.

Now, onto my second criticism of the calculation: you’re using a conveniently partitionist set of figures that is based on the Irish population being 4.6m. That’s the population of the 26 counties - 2 of our medallists were from the 6 counties.

If you want to use the full population of the island then the total is 6.4m so by my reckoning that puts us 30th on the medals table per capita.

If you prefer the paritionist numbers you’ve supplied above then the divisor is 3 medals, not 5. That would leave us in 33rd place on the table.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 772853, member: 1”]So your initial figures were only off by a factor of a million.

Now, onto my second criticism of the calculation: you’re using a conveniently partitionist set of figures that is based on the Irish population being 4.6m. That’s the population of the 26 counties - 2 of our medallists were from the 6 counties.

If you want to use the full population of the island then the total is 6.4m so by my reckoning that puts us 30th on the medals table per capita.

If you prefer the paritionist numbers you’ve supplied above then the divisor is 3 medals, not 5. That would leave us in 33rd place on the table.[/quote]

1 Two sets of figures I have provided have us in 22nd place and Australia in 18th place.

1. You are, by your own rationale, providing partionist statistics by disregarding citizens of Northern Ireland who won a medal for Team GB in your own calculations. Shame on you.

2. Even if we were in 30th or 33rd position by your calculations then that would still but represent a ‘shite Olympics’ comparatively so you’ve reinforced my point. Thank you.

I’m Irish, I live in Australia. I’m involved in Amatuer, semi-professional and professional sport.

Ireland are a better sporting nation, end of story.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 772869, member: 306”]1 Two sets of figures I have provided have us in 22nd place and Australia in 18th place.

1. You are, by your own rationale, providing partionist statistics by disregarding citizens of Northern Ireland who won a medal for Team GB in your own calculations. Shame on you.

2. Even if we were in 30th or 33rd position by your calculations then that would still but represent a ‘shite Olympics’ comparatively so you’ve reinforced my point. Thank you.[/quote]

This is a very strange argument you’re making.

I know what the figures you provided said. I’m explaining to you that they’re wrong. You however don’t seem to know what they said. One of the sets of figures you provided does not have Australia in 18th place.

Even if you managed to read them correctly (which you still haven’t done), they’re clearly flawed. It’s beyond bizarre that you would debate this point.

Good ol croppy boy :smiley:

Are GB’s figures including NI?

If so then ours can’t. We just take the lads in boxing like we do in soccer. Do ye consider the soccer team all Ireland due to McLean etc. or should we call ourselves Rep. Of Ireland/NI/Scotland/and a few English born lads?

Your logic is just as bizarre Rocko.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 772876, member: 1”]This is a very strange argument you’re making.

I know what the figures you provided said. I’m explaining to you that they’re wrong. You however don’t seem to know what they said. One of the sets of figures you provided does not have Australia in 18th place.

Even if you managed to read them correctly (which you still haven’t done), they’re clearly flawed. It’s beyond bizarre that you would debate this point.[/quote]

Apologies, should have read that both have Ireland in 22nd, my mistake - shame on me.

What is bizarre is that someone who is doggedly patriotic enough to label stats as ‘partitionist’ is going to such great lengths to argue that we are shit at sport. Do you think we had a shite Olympics?

Double post.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 772881, member: 273”]Are GB’s figures including NI?

If so then ours can’t. We just take the lads in boxing like we do in soccer. Do ye consider the soccer team all Ireland due to McLean etc. or should we call ourselves Rep. Of Ireland/NI/Scotland/and a few English born lads?

Your logic is just as bizarre Rocko.[/quote]
Why would GB include the six counties? Without getting political, GB is an island. It’s not the one Cork is on.

There’s no comparison between boxing, which is organised on a 32 county basis, and soccer.

The population we draw from in the Olympics is over 6m. Some of those may choose to represent other countries and some born elsewhere choose to represent us. But our population for boxing, tennis, athletics, cycling etc is over 6m.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 772874, member: 273”]I’m Irish, I live in Australia. I’m involved in Amatuer, semi-professional and professional sport.

Ireland are a better sporting nation, end of story.[/quote]

you were never involved in sport in Ireland

we have the best cyclist in the world too

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 772886, member: 306”]Apologies, should have read that both have Ireland in 22nd, my mistake - shame on me.

What is bizarre is that someone who is doggedly patriotic enough to label stats as ‘partitionist’ is going to such great lengths to argue that we are shit at sport. Do you think we had a shite Olympics?[/quote]
No shame in it mate.

I’ve argued nothing of the sort. I didn’t comment on how good or bad we are at sport, I just pointed out some important errors in the figures you were relying on to make your point.

I do find it humorous though that you think a patriot has to think we’re good at sport.

Convincing at first glance Rocko but the boxers were citizens of Ireland and competed for them. Citizens of countries can be born in or even live on different countries you know. Sweden have a naturalised Kenyan runner, by your logic we should add the population of Kenya to Sweden for calculation purposes.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 772869, member: 306”]1 Two sets of figures I have provided have us in 22nd place and Australia in 18th place.

2. Even if we were in 30th or 33rd position by your calculations then that would still but represent a ‘shite Olympics’ comparatively so you’ve reinforced my point. Thank you.[/quote]

Croppy is some clown, partiotic enough to get upset when someone suggest potatoland is shit at sport but unpatriotic when it comes to British imperialism in Ireland

What on earth are you talking about? I’m the one saying they are citizens of Ireland. We can’t exclude 2 million of our population because it doesn’t suit Croppy_boy’s argument. By that partitionist logic, Tyrone beating Kerry would be bad for Irish sport.

There are 2 million Irish passport holders in Northern Ireland?!

uugh - the forums chief west brit comes on to dismiss our northern brethern as Brits