[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 772881, member: 273”]Are GB’s figures including NI?
If so then ours can’t. We just take the lads in boxing like we do in soccer. Do ye consider the soccer team all Ireland due to McLean etc. or should we call ourselves Rep. Of Ireland/NI/Scotland/and a few English born lads?
Your logic is just as bizarre Rocko.[/quote]
Yeah they do, the IOC recognises it as The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
There are 66,850,252 people in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. We won 70 medals. That’s one medal for every 955,003 people, putting us in 22nd place. It’s disappointing that even with with all the lottery funding from the Government, we couldn’t beat the Australians on medals per capita at our home Olympics. That should prove to be extra motivation both for the Loins and for our cricketers this summer.
It’s funny what lengths certain posters will go to argue against someone they didn’t agree with elsewhere or to support one of their mates, no matter how foolish.
U can imagine an email privately from Rocko to FR " hey mate, I know we spoke about the paedo jokes already, and you’re doing really well in that in fairness, but I’m not sure how long I’m going to be able to back you up in these mad debates you are having. It’s getting harder and harder to support ya mate. Hope family is well, Rocko"
Nah, I’m doing this without stats. In an overall holistic sense an putting sport in its rightful place, Ireland is a much better sporting country. The image of Australian sport is a little distorted by their marketing of their country and the weather. It’s not that great.
It’s terribly amusing that glasagusban, Kev and croppy_boy are arguing that Irish people aren’t Irish. They’ll happily embrace the British occupation of Ireland to support their stats on Irish sport, all in the aparent interests of patriotism.
They’ll be telling us next that the GAA is a British organisation because its founders were UK citizens at the time.
Mad that Croppy can’t just admit that the figures he posted were mathematically incorrect rather than bringing some bizarre patriotism argument into play.
[quote=“Rocko, post: 772959, member: 1”]It’s terribly amusing that glasagusban, post Kev and croppy_boy are arguing that Irish people aren’t Irish. They’ll happily embrace the British occupation of Ireland to support their stats on Irish sport, all in the aparent interests of patriotism.
They’ll be telling us next that the GAA is a British organisation because it’s founders were UK citizens at the time.[/quote]
I’ve been arguing the opposite on here about McIlroy on here as long as the debate has raged.
You’re the one who excluded the Northern Irish citizens that won medals for Team GB from your Irish Medals buddy.
[quote=“Mac, post: 772962, member: 109”]So, the Lions eh?
Mad that Croppy can’t just admit that the figures he posted were mathematically incorrect rather than bringing some bizarre patriotism argument into play.[/quote]
You’ve seen croppy boy posting here before, right?
Getting back to the Loins, training is going well this week.
[quote=“Mac, post: 772962, member: 109”]So, the Lions eh?
Mad that Croppy can’t just admit that the figures he posted were mathematically incorrect rather than bringing some bizarre patriotism argument into play.[/quote]
They may be incorrect and, as I stated earlier, even Rocko’s dubious figures show that Ireland did not have a ‘shite Olympics’ which is the original point that I was debating.
[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 772967, member: 306”]I’ve been arguing the opposite on here about McIlroy on here as long as the debate has raged.
You’re the one who excluded the Northern Irish citizens that won medals for Team GB from your Irish Medals buddy.[/quote]
It doesn’t serve your argument much good to claim you’ve been arguing a contrary point when it suits you.
You compared medals won by people representing Ireland to the population of a part of Ireland and derived a ratio which is meaningless and overstates our competitiveness. It’s also presumably inconsistent with other views you hold on Irish sports such as Gaelic Games where you don’t claim the population of Tyrone to be nil. That’s been pointed out to you so just move on. It’s not the end of the world.
[quote=“Rocko, post: 772975, member: 1”]It doesn’t serve your argument much good to claim you’ve been arguing a contrary point when it suits you.
You compared medals won by people representing Ireland to the population of a part of Ireland and derived a ratio which is meaningless and overstates our competitiveness. It’s also presumably inconsistent with other views you hold on Irish sports such as Gaelic Games where you don’t claim the population of Tyrone to be nil. That’s been pointed out to you so just move on. It’s not the end of the world.[/quote]
[quote=“Rocko, post: 772975, member: 1”]It doesn’t serve your argument much good to claim you’ve been arguing a contrary point when it suits you.
You compared medals won by people representing Ireland to the population of a part of Ireland and derived a ratio which is meaningless and overstates our competitiveness. It’s also presumably inconsistent with other views you hold on Irish sports such as Gaelic Games where you don’t claim the population of Tyrone to be nil. That’s been pointed out to you so just move on. It’s not the end of the world.[/quote]
You disregarded the medals won by the population of Northern Ireland for Team GB in your statistics, thereby ridiculing your own nonsensical argument. You served your own argument by underestimating the contribution of medals won by the population of 2 million in Northern Ireland to your adjusted figures to serve your own argument.