this is the biggest British and Irish Lions tour in decades , a mouthwatering prospect
I’m the same, I need to fully digest the days action
Hamstring according to Schmidt
I thought Laidlaw was? Marmion is a grand replacement for Murray
Curious as to how Laidlaw has gotten back into the reckoning despite his injury and not having been involved for 3 1/2 games?
The injury works in his favour as he’ll be fresh and chomping at the bit to get back into action. As well as being a superb leader of real officer class he also offers the added bonus of being a fine place kicker.
Scrum half is probably the most difficult position on the entire to team to pick, however, as all the home nations offer genuine contenders for the prized test starting spot.
I think gatland will pick
15 - Hogg
14 - Liam Williams
13 - Joseph
12- Farrell
11- North
10- Sexton
9 - Murray
8 - Vunipola
7- Warburton
6- Stander
5- Gray J.
4 - Itjoe
3- Furlong
2- Owens
1- Vunipola
There or thereabouts - AWJ, O Mahony, Henshaw, Jon Davies, Tipuric, Webb
Weak at 2, 13, wing and 15 relative to the all blacks.
Jamie George and Huw Jones could be surprise packages in two areas of weakness
Murray is one of only 3 or 4 lads guaranteed to start if fit. Potential captain
I know your probably having a laugh but Laidlaw is the worst 9 in the conpetition. And he will have no games of any meaning to prove his worth between now and end of seasob
Laidlaw is essentially an out half playing at scrum half. He’ll tour for his versatility alone if fit but don’t see him getting near test team.
He’s stone useless in both positions. Don’t think they need to bring a 9/10 option if they bring Farrell as a centre.
I don’t think he will be on the tour. Murray, Webb and Youngs I’d say. I’d pick Wales 2nd string or Scots 2nd string ahead of youngs personally.
This is the sort of difference of opinion that makes British Loins tours great.
The great thing is, we’ll all be wrong.
I mean, who would have thought John Bentley would be the star turn on the tour of South Africa at this point in 1997?
Who are our prospective bolters this time, chaps?
Smashing question
Ringrose, Seymour might make an impact…
A proper bolter in the Bentley mode though Il say Jack Nowell. Best English wing it’s a mystery to me how he doesn’t get in their team. Exeter in running to win premiership so he will be in the shop window
There was a girl in my school nicknamed John Bentley, due to her massive thighs.
Cipriani?
Shout.
Doubt he’s Gatlands type of player though.
Given the rate of attrition on Loins tours and the distance and logistical difficulties involved in calling up replacements during a tour, especially a tour of New Zealand, it’ll certainly be worth the while of non-selected or recently retired players to bring a pair of boots with them if they’re travelling to New Zealand as supporters.
This unofficial touring reserve, a sort of Loins’ Dad’s Army, could yet be crucial.
Remember how Shane Williams just happened to be in Australia four years ago and was called into the squad and got a starting spot in one of the midweek games? The Welsh wing wizard turned tricky Glenswilly corner forward can certainly feel he contributed towards the winning of the ultimate prize, the Tom Richards Cup, even if he didn’t play in any of the tests.
A list of such players this time might include:
Gordon D’Arcy
Paul O’Connell
Brian O’Driscoll
Luke Fitzgerald
Manu Tuilagi
Chris Ashton
Chris Robshaw
Gavin Henson
Kevin Sinfield
If they want to kick the ball up in the air and run after it as their main tactic them Murray is the ideal choice, if they want to actually try to play rugby and have a chance of winning the series they’d be better off choosing someone who can pass the ball without looking like they’re in serious pain
There’s a problem with Murray’s passing?
There is no issue with his passing. McGrath put himself ahead of Marmion in his brief cameo yesterday IMO.
Possibly although I thought Marmion had a fine game.