Building homes

Anyone see that program on RTE last night, design for life I think it was called. Followed a couple who built their dream house from planning thru to completion.

Its mad tho, you’d wonder if they feel rightly fooking stupid after it all. They paid 250,000 for a shit field full of rock in the middle of no where in Sligo, and then spent over 500,000 on a 1,400ft ‘barn style’ bungalow. And it looke shite. yer one was a fooking idiot. looking at really expensive finishes becaused they looked nice and never minding the cost. Putting in 3 bedrooms into the house and they have 4 kids.

The show just proved to me how stupid people were with their money, and how they spent way way beyond their means. yer one even admitted they paid way over the odds for the land. And whats worse was they had a bigger house in Sligo town that they sold off to move to a smaller one and was a third of the cost. absolutley stupid.

Now is a great time to be building alright, there is no doubting that, but I think 2 years or so at the height of the ridiculous planning and building people were more concerned about impressing others and having big fancy things rather than meeting their needs and building what they actually needed and wanted.

1/4 mill for a site in Sligo?

Get the fook out of here.

Gobshites.

[quote=“myboyblue”]1/4 mill for a site in Sligo?

Gobshites.[/quote]

Thought the exact same myself…How many acres did thay get for that Gman?

[quote=“myboyblue”]1/4 mill for a site in Sligo?

Gobshites.[/quote]

They could have bought Leitrim for that

looked like fook all, maybe 2 at the most. and it looked like the worst fooking ground you could ever try build on, and no scenery or anything that made it expensive, wasnt by the see or mountains or anything, altho yer one was trying to make out she had a great view of the mountains from her room, and the camera pans across and all you see are fields and a bit of a hill way off in the background. like I said, absolutely ridiculous stuff and you’d wonder what the hell they were at.

Fooking nuts, you’d get 2 acres or so in God’s country of Leix for that money at least.

Some awful gobshites out there too.

They deserve what they get. The floods will come and cleanse the earth.

Tis true what they say fools and their money soon depart…

Had they a PM who advised them or did they buy it off their own back…

looked like they did it off their own back. they got an architect involved alright, and also an interior designer too for their house. I know it happened a few people alright, but summed them up when they were getting their kitchen, and they paid a deposit for it without any delivery or manufacture taking place and the crowd went bust and they lost that money too. Just so so foolish.

saw the very end of it… surely ya could built a barn for more than that … ya serious that they only put in 3 bedrooms fools…

Would have thought that you’d build for around 1000/sqm
That should put the build at around 150,000
What the fuck did they finish the house in? Gold?

Is this a regular series lads or just a couple of one off shows?

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]Would have thought that you’d build for around 1000/sqm
That should put the build at around €150,000
What the fuck did they finish the house in? Gold?[/quote]

yer one spent €12,000 on a finished concrete style worktop for the kitchen. Just the worktop, no fittings or anything else. They put in beech doors internally which are mad expensive, and she wanted them on every door inside and the architects had to tell her not to. They had a timber style clad finish to part of the ‘barn’ and then an industrial type cladding system to the lower half, both of which are seriously far more than just a palstered finish. There was a huge internal spacial area, so they needed massive steel columns to support the timber framed building.

add on liscanner type tiled floors, concealed internal guttering, huge pointless windows, balconys internally overlooking their main internal area, sliding doors and a whole load of other absolutely pointless and expensive finishes and they were way out on their budget. But they were happy, and as yer man says at the end, you cant put a price on getting your dream home.

Yes you can, they spent over €750,000 on a 1,400ft2 barn.

seems to be a series too mac, on Mondays at 9.30 or so.

Presume it is a poor attempt by RTE to copy Grand Designs…

I think it could actually be called Grand Designs

id like to see the field they paid 250k for, and id like to see the farmer they bought it off.

got involved in bidding for a site about 3 years ago. was very interested, asking price 100k with no offers and on market for 2 months.

started at 75 and mysteriously bidders were coming out of the woodwork. was interested up to 100 but at that stage it was obvious i was bidding against myself. upped the ante at that point and 3 bids later was at 160. had a verbal agreement from the cunt of an auctioneer as he was dosing cattle one Friday evening and took great pleasure in pulling the plug Monday morning.

the field is now back as a field and wouldn’t be shifted for 75k.

1/4 acre plots were as big a rip off as 3 bed semis in commuter belts.

it wasnt actually a bad show tho puke, was put together pretty well and wasnt strung out or anything. They started following this couple in 2006 and they only finished towards end of last year. went thru with them at planning stage and then to when they were finally living there. I was saying ot the bird watching it that it wasnt really applicable to times now, but it was still really watchable if only to realise how foolish people were with money trying to build and how people spent way more than they could afford for no good reason whatsoever.

Design for Life i am led to believe

Lads, whats the average cost of just going through planning at the moment?

just found this on RTE. This is the house.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/designsforlife/images/header.jpg

http://www.rte.ie/tv/designsforlife/ep1.html

WRT planning mac, depends on what you are looking at. If you have a site and are planning on building on it, should be straight forward enough. Architects fees vary, and wise to look around, but also get someone who knows the council, not some chancer who doesnt deal with them often. For submission of planning and doing detailed drawings, you’d be looking at around €1200 or so excl VAT. You also have to do a percolation test, and this usually costs about €500-700. Few other small fees on top, ads and €60 council fee.

But realistically, you could have your planning permission granted for less than €2500 all in.

Look at all the natural light the house is getting; you just can’t put a price on that…