in theory yes but obviously the strong intermediate leagues are centred around Cork and Dublin so outside of those cities the best players will still play in Junior leagues.
The strongest intermediate teams would hold their own in LOI first division.
Cobh equalised with two minutes to go and we’ve gone into extra time.
I thought Cobh were going to ‘batter’ them 8-0?
Not looking good, liffey have a lead at half time of ET.
Twitter reports make it sound like Cobh have been the better team.
beaten in sudden death spotters
brilliant game
fair play to the winners , real passion from both sides, fuck the EPL this is where its at
utterly gutted now, utterly gutted, i had 2 cousins and a brother started
A lot of bunting around d2 for Liffey wanderers
Delighted for them
Evergreen lost 2 0 to Sherrif
Did Liffey just put together a team in a season or have they some underage stars or what?
Its a very unusual jump up the rankings.
Alot of players in MSL and LSL would be better than LOI players and probably have a better life and actual income out of it too.
Less travel, less training, more games, also working significantly better income overall in alot of cases.
Now its only a handful of lads get paid bit for me anyone with a brain would play MSL or whatever instead of anything outside the first 5-6 clubs in LOI.
a lot of you muldoons keep coming out with this shit about MSL & LSL players being better than LOI players.
MSL & LSL clubs are generally shit in the FAI Cup so I ind it hard to believe
also its a terrible reflection on good MSL players that they dont want to play against the best and just want to take it easy
oooffffty
No one serious says MSL and Leinster League teams are better than LOI teams . Some of them have more naturally talented ball players ok but that’s it . Generally the market talks , even in Irish soccer .
There’s only 2 LOI teams in Cork mate, that’s about 30 regular players.
More money in MSL/LSL for some. Alot of
And comparing some team full time with part time in one off games is ridiculous. I am talking about one or two players in each side.
And its a lifestyle choice.
Train twice a week, never travel too far, get 250 euro a week on top of your wages.
OR
Train 3-4 times a week, travel to shitty places kike Finn Harps for 18 hour days, get maybe 300-350 a week and not really be able to have a full time job or build a career or business.
The higher level is not always the best idea in these cases.
i think if Mick Devine was a few years younger than 45 he might have made a couple of those spotters
its not fair to criticise lads at this level tho, come extra time there were men cramping up all over the shop and going down left right and center
the scenes when we equalised there in the 85th minute will stay with me forever, ive never been involved in such a situation before in sport and i doubt i will again, it was incredible
the winners were bang on, invitied us down to the Padraig Pearse on earn street afterwards for a drink and food, i didnt go over now but a thoroughly decent group of people
That used to be some rough house! Lived around the corner from it for a spell. Had a few pints in there wouldn’t say it was very welcoming. Area much improved since maybe the boozer has as well. Directly across from the widow scallans so the padraig pearse attracted a lot of that crew when it closed. Only @Bandage and his crew could be guaranteed a safe passage in there
I suppose your big rubby head and the collar of the polo shirt up wouldn’t make you welcome.
Ooofffttt. Headshot there.
oh they were tough lads allright
ive never heard of that pub but the jesture was decent tbf
Guys, I don’t think I mentioned being in Cork this weekend but I am and I’m looking for somewhere in the city centre to have a nice breakfast or brunch. Any recommendations?
I wouldn’t be massively up to speed about where mightnt be open of a Sunday morning but the below are noted for brunch
Liberty grill or Spitjack on Washington street
Gallagher pub on mccurtain st
The Sextant pub used to do an unbelievable brunch haven’t been in a year or so I assume it still does. It’s near city hall and on right side of the city for ye
Sextant would be my pick of the above.
Where did you go last nt for pints