Cars

No was hoping for suggestions on models but the feedback in general here is negative.

It’s a simple one really.

25 mpg max if you are looking at 2.5lt - 3lt options. Automatic will average no better than 18 mpg - 20 mpg.
Depending on the year, if you want a passenger version you will pay through the nose for road tax.
Commercials don’t make a pile of sense unless you are vat registered or have a herd number to get the commercial tax.

The best Jeeps on the road IMO are the Landcruiser & Pajero.
The best Crew-cab jeeps are the Hilux or Isuzu DMax.

If you need space without the need to tow heavy loads, then maybe look into an XTrail Commercial or a Mitsubishi Outlander. These will give you much better Fuel Consumption @ roughly 30-35 mpg.

carry- whats the best site to sell a car on?

These crowd trade on e-bay. Keen pricing if some high mileage cars on offer.
http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/v12sportsandclassicsltd/

I had a Hyundai Santa Fe as a work vehicle for about 6 months a few years ago. Surprisingly nice to drive and a nice bit of poke in it. It was a commercial so the back was flat bed. Only ever drove around Dublin in it so was fairly wasted on me. This yoke:

http://www.cbg.ie/uploaded/used_cars_images/410_307/EXP_da39a3ee5e6b4b0d3255bfef95601890afd807091405631382_0.jpg

You’ll save between €4-5k. by buying a motor in the UK. Generally a higher spec and better maintenance. The Audi you showed for €21.5k on the other thread can be had for about €4k. less (after currency and VRT) from Cargiant in the UK. They have several places over there.
Be careful of the model, S-Line or whatever, when using the VRT calculator. I got an awakening there a few years ago. Cargiant is the answer.

Carzone or CarsIreland.

Donedeal is full of cunts.

Here’s a nice motor, in great nick at smashing money. I’ve bought a motor from Fred 2 years ago and he’s top notch. Not @Horsebox’s ideal car, but for someone looking for value this guy has a few every week or two. He picks you up at East Midlands and is about 15 mins. away. 100% bloke.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/quality_cars_at_auction_prices_plus?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1007061, member: 246”]Here’s a nice motor, in great nick at smashing money. I’ve bought a motor from Fred 2 years ago and he’s top notch. Not @Horsebox’s ideal car, but for someone looking for value this guy has a few every week or two. He picks you up at East Midlands and is about 15 mins. away. 100% bloke.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/quality_cars_at_auction_prices_plus?_trksid=p2047675.l2559[/QUOTE]

Where is he based, auld stock?

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1007061, member: 246”]Here’s a nice motor, in great nick at smashing money. I’ve bought a motor from Fred 2 years ago and he’s top notch. Not @Horsebox’s ideal car, but for someone looking for value this guy has a few every week or two. He picks you up at East Midlands and is about 15 mins. away. 100% bloke.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/quality_cars_at_auction_prices_plus?_trksid=p2047675.l2559[/QUOTE]
Had a look on Cargiant there Boxty. Not as big a selection as I was hoping for. Just had a look at A5’s and prices seemed more or less the same as here albeit with a higher spec. Adding the VRT in the few I looked at would actually make them dearer than here.

Sterling isn’t helping either.

Beside you there in Melton Mowbray, home of the pork pie. A genuine spot on man who dabbles in the odd motor. They’re all owned, as far as I can follow by big leasing companies and have the complete service history. The one I bought may as well have come off the factory floor such was the valeting he’d given it. Makes great tea as well.

Just say you’re working for Sean Quinn and it’s a company car, you’ll be grand…Pay the VRT in a few years time. :wink:

[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1006962, member: 246”]These crowd trade on e-bay. Keen pricing if some high mileage cars on offer.
http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/v12sportsandclassicsltd/[/QUOTE]

Here you are @Horsebox . Them lads I posted about the other day have the A5 for you. 2011 in black.
Look through their offerings, it’s £10995 but you’ll have it in the back street for €18548 taxed for the year.

VRT €4535 + Currency charge €2818 + Road tax for year €200. @chewy louie will bring it over for you on the ferry for a case of craft beer + €50 seeing as it’s beside him. How bad is that.

Opinions on Wrangler Jeep? Or just the Jeep brand in general.

Dirt.

Any advice on a used car around the 8k price range?

Be more specific.

Passat, Audi or BMW

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Passat/SPORT-1./44213942712905800/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Passat/HIGHLINE/72514079334763220/advert?channel=CARS