Met him coming out of the old pairc in 89 after ye gave us another hole opening. He was canvassing at the time. Really threw a spanner into CJHs turbo charged engine in the general election that year
MGQ
Larry Donnelly @LarryPDonnelly
Met him coming out of the old pairc in 89 after ye gave us another hole opening. He was canvassing at the time. Really threw a spanner into CJHs turbo charged engine in the general election that year
Wouldn’t have been my experience of him but there you are.
@rtenews killed him?
A good Fianna Fáil man, RIP
He wasn’t your typical FF politican going around filling out passport forms and moving you up a housing list on a promise of your vote. He struck me as a man who detested that gombeen local strokesmanship.
He was a man who stood by his principals and fought fir the bigger picture. Unfortunately those around him in FF in his middle years and the PDs in his later years hijacked his legacy.
Dessie was a TD for Limerick City. The famous story about him is that they were organising a pre-election meeting one year. Dessie said to book Cruises Hotel. Sorry says the director of elections. Cruises was knocked 10 years ago.
Nothing to do with passport forms. It was his way with Junior and menial staff in the Civil Service that put me off him.
I’d a great knees up in Costello’s in Limerick in 92 when himself and Peadar Clohessy got reelected. I was ten and must have drank about six glasses of coke that night
Nothing to do with passport forms. It was his way with Junior and menial staff in the Civil Service that put me off him.
Probably expected them to work. The cheek of him.
Whatever
"Just because my career didn’t follow an entirely conventional route or path doesn’t mean that I feel dissatisfied with it. I’m happy looking back that I did my best for a third of a century.
"And even if that entailed trodding on a fair number of toes and following a fairly lone path at times so be it.
“That’s what I felt I was called to do.”
A very decent man. My mother worked for him for a few years. RIP.
Larry Donnelly @LarryPDonnelly
Michael McDowell is on now eulogising the late Desmond O’Malley. The formation talks are being discussed and McD says Mary Harney used her substantial charms to move him forward…
Thinly veiled “She threatened to fall on top of him”…
I’d say he’d be a bit abrupt alright
Cuntish is the word I’d have chosen but I’ll accept abrupt
Definitely gruff. But it you got onside with him, he’d back you to the hilt.
Pure Limerick citaay like
My sympathies are with his family, including Dido and her brother from Faithless, at this time.