Celtic 2012/2013 season discussion thread

Yeah I was mildly concerned about the other games but wouldn’t be concerned with that result tonight because we played quite well without a few of our stronger players. Samaras back made a big difference, McCourt played well, Twardzik looked decent enough in the middle too and Commons and McGeouch both had plenty of inventive moments. We didn’t really look like scoring from open attacking play through Murphy but but still managed to create a few chances and we got good runners from midfield.

Rogne looked our best defender anyway with Lustig probably next best.

Team to play Inter:
[soccer]
[gk]Forster[/gk]
[rb]Matthews[/rb]
[rcb]Lustig[/rcb]
[lcb]Mulgrew[/lcb]
[lb]Izaguirre[/lb]
[rm]Commons[/rm]
[rcm]Wanyama[/rcm]
[lcm]Ledley[/lcm]
[lw]Samaras[/lw]
[rst]Hooper[/rst]
[lst]Stokes[/lst]
[/soccer]

Subs:
Zaluska
Irvine
Twardzik
McGeouch
McCourt
Bangura

Quite an attacking line-up. Interesting to see how Lustig gets on at centre back.

The talk is that Kayal won’t be fit enough to play in midweek. He’s missed the last 2 or 3 friendlies and isn’t involved today. Brown also has a knock but should be available and I also notice that Forrest isn’t in the squad today. So a few midfield injury concerns ahead of Wednesday.

Haven’t really watched much of our pre-season, really finding it hard to have any optimism for the season ahead. We have been totally shafted by Lawwell. Would hope to that McCourt is given a start in the centre of the pitch for the game on Wednesday, by all accounts he has been our best player in pre-season and he has taken up that role regularly. I think Lennon has far too much of a negative streak in him as a manager to ever trust McCourt. I’m beginning to become totally alienated with the way this club is being run.

Sorry for being so negative lads.

Can one of you guys kindly post up a link to the game before it starts? Think I will watch this as much to see how Inter are coming along as Celtic are.

Meant to be coming up on these ones:

http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/63461/1/celtic-vs-inter-milan-live-stream-online.html

http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/132562/1/watch-celtic-vs-inter-milan.html

The new home jersey is extremely smart looking, going to purchase it soon. Any of ye bought it yet lads?

I have ordered a sponsorless long-sleeve version. It’s en route apparently.

Think I will get the short-sleeve, Nike seem to have abandoned their wizard-sleeve jerseys designed for fat Americans this year.

Wanyama and Zanetti are the captains today.

Inter lineup:

Handanovic,
Silvestre, Ranocchia, Chivu, Zanetti,
Guarin, Cambiasso,
Jonathan, Sneijder, Coutinho,
Milito.

Good early chance for Mulgrew there. Nice play from Commons in the build-up.

Could be wrong but I’d expect more of a 4-3-1-2 there with Jonathan at right back and Chivu at left back with Zanetti in midfield and Sneijder playing behind Coutinho and Milito.

They’re lining out how Bandage posted so far.

We look sharp today - Commons has been nice and lively again and Matthews showed excellent recovery pace against Coutinho there.

Nice clipped ball by Wanyama for Stokes who was called offside.

Stokes has played well so far, good volleyed effort.

Wanyama, Stokes and Samaras have impressed.

Great play by Commons and Ledley in that move with Ledley eventually being smothered out.

We’ve dominated possession and the game but anytime Inter seem to get time on the ball our defending has been very naive, the back four look clueless in how to counter Milito’s clever runs.

Stokes looks in some pain here.

Stokes is in a lot of pain after challenging Cambiasso on the sideline, seems to be his ankle.