Celtic Transfer Window Summer 2017 ☘ 🍀 💵

At the same age, Armstrong had played 50% more top level games than McGinn. He started well when he moved to Celtic. He regressed, as did much of the team, but readers will recall me refusing to write him off. He’s a player you don’t like - I don’t think he’s world class but he’s talented. And arguing McGinn has been playing at a comparable level in the championship doesn’t cut it.

And I do think if Armstrong is offered twice as much to play in England then it’s fairly understandable that he’d drag his heels or leave. It’s very annoying but I wouldn’t be pissed off with him for refusing to sign a deal that might be half what he can earn elsewhere.

I do agree we should sell if we’re offered £8m or anything like that.

The top level games is a misnomer, McGinn choose to drop down a division to play with a much bigger team. McGinn had played more SPL games than Armstrong had when they were at the same age before McGinn chose to drop down a division. McGinn was also instrumental in winning a Scottish Cup with Hibs and during his time in the Scottish Championship Sevco, Hearts and Dundee United were all participating in it so there wasn’t a great deal between the divisions.

McGinn has also won international honours before Armstrong did. He would generally have been rated higher than Armstrong before last season where Armstrong’s game seemed to improve immeasurably under Rodgers, as have the likes of McGregor, Boyata, Rogic etc. I think Armstrong owes Rodgers and Celtic something so fuck him if he goes chasing the money. If Rodgers could get the same level of fulfillment out of McGinn as he did Armstrong, McGregor etc then I believe McGinn will be a better player than either of those.

You don’t think we should take less than £8m for Armstrong. You also think McGinn is a better player.

And McGinn was never “generally rated” higher than Armstrong. The Sevco experience and the likes of Scott Allan suggest that looking decent in the Championship is a massive step down from looking decent in the Celtic first team. There’s an enormous gap in quality between Celtic and Hibs.

He was.

He received international honours much earlier than Armstrong, he won a Scottish Cup with Hibs and a League Cup with St Mirren.

I think McGinn has more potential to be a better player than Armstrong. When you look at what Rodgers has done with struggling players thus far at Celtic then I think it’s a fair summation to say he could have a huge impact on McGinn, who I feel is a much more naturally gifted player than Armstrong.

Armstrong largely failed to deliver before Rodgers took over, my point is he should show a bit of loyalty to the club and manager who helped him develop into the player. If he doesn’t then it’s quite simple, a club meets our fee or Armstrong spends the next year with the development squad. Maybe you’re happy with Armstrong dicking about the club after 2 years of shit and a good 6 months but I’m not too impressed with it.

Izzy off to Saudi Arabia for £1.25m.

Disappointed to see him leave, he would have been very reliable backup to Tierney.

He’s given us some great service and acquitted himself very professionally during his stay here, the best of luck to him.

It will be interesting to see who we get to replace him. Rodgers did use Calvin Miller there in a game or two last year but doubt he would go into a season without recognised cover for Tierney.

I wonder if there was anything to our links with Caceres earlier in the window. He’d be decent left back cover while also competing outright for one of the two CB spots and he’d be helpful if we want to flex to 3 at the back which Rodgers likes doing.

It’s a bit of an awkward gap to fill with a specialist left back because the incumbent is so established and we wouldn’t want to tie up any significant wages on a permanent sub.

Getting money for Izzy obviously helps. We were in no hurry to sell but we should be able to fund a replacement anyway.

Caceres is right footed though. He could play there but I don’t imagine he’d be very good there from an attacking point.

Can’t really think of too many decent domestic options, I’d have no problems with taking some youngster from the EPL for cover for the season. Some young left back from Chelsea, City, United etc could do the job for us.

Another Tyler Blackett. :eek:

Celtic have been linked with a Turkish left wing back whose name escapes me on and off for since January.

I think converting Calvin Miller to a left back was abandoned last season in the end. He reverted to playing as a winger in the second half of the season.

Izzy was great though.

McGinn has been terrrific for Hibs this evening, he’s clipped a few inch perfect 70 yard passes in behind the Ross County defence this evening.

I hope we buy him whenever Hibs decide to cash in, Rodgers has been on record expressing his admiration on him before and like me and you, he’s a Provo too.

Izzy. :cry:

What’s up with his thumb though?

He is like the chap who had the TV that put him mammy in mortal danger .

Izzy with a farewell message of support to the Celtic Ultras.

Rodgers said we’re not in the market for another centre back.

Boyata and Erik out injured at the minute is not ideal but I’m reasonably happy with our centre back options.

We could do with a left back as cover for Tierney but apart from that I think we should be prioritising two attackers.

A load of reports about Roberts coming back to Celtic without anything concrete to back them up. Chris Davies in his press conference yesterday gave the usual talk about him being a great player, very welcome here etc etc but last night the various tabloids and now BBC Scotland are reporting that Roberts has told Manchester City he wants to come back. He was heavily linked with Nice but they signed a winger yesterday and Southampton and Huddersfield were also meant to be after him.

He’s coming home.

My sources indicate that Roberts’ return will be announced this weekend.

My source within Paradise is being very coy

Linked with a couple of Croatian centre backs as well as that South African chap. Also Danish media are reporting Sviatchenko is close to a move to Copenhagen. I’d be keen on replacing Sviatchenko.

Any more specifics on the Croatian chaps? Any names mentioned? Talk on twitter that Rodgers and Sviatchenko have spoken about it and he’s okay with moving to get first team football. Copenhagen bidding around €3m but Celtic want more - Leicester inquired/enquired in January and were quoted £10m inclusive of the EPL premium so I’d say €5m or so would be acceptable.

Sviatchenko has been grand for us but is a bit limited. Seems like a good guy but the Rodgers Revolution will see some nice lads moved on as our standards soar and we become one of the best teams in Europe.

We’ve agreed a deal for Rivaldo Coetzee.

And Ciftci has signed for Plymouth on a season long loan. That might actually wind down his contract with us as this is his third season.