I agree. And we can plan it much better too.
Iâm not sure weâre steadfastly sticking to linking wages to CL qualification.
Not sure the likes of Rogic would have signed a 5 year deal on that basis.
I think bonus payments are a large part of how the wages are structured. But when those bonuses seem less guaranteed itâs not as attractive.
In any event I think we can be much more discerning in how we spend our money. Compper is apparently on big money.
Dembélé seems to be seething.
who is his agent?
These agents are cunts.
They need regulation
Some French chap. DembĂ©lĂ© and his agent have been grand up to now. Itâs the way of the football world that Celtic will get a couple of years from a quality young player before they move onto a more lucrative and higher quality league. I thought that was understood by all sides but heâs seriously taken the hump. Celtic are within their rights to turn down an offer thatâs too low but his tweets and (canât believe Iâm typing this) likes of other tweets show that he thinks Celtic have went back on their word.
DembĂ©lĂ© - told to leave the training field today by Rodgers in order âto protect the environmentâ ahead of the Sevco game on Sunday.
Celtic seemingly holding out and refusing to sell him. Willing to deal in January apparently when a replacementâs lined up.
Mulumbu - confirmed signing on 2 year deal.
Benkovic - trained today. 12 month loan deal.
Eboue Kouassi - told he can leave the club. Not sure if heâll depart today. Think some other leagues donât have a deadline today though. Could see him heading off to Turkey or somewhere.
Calvin Miller and Jack Aitchison - joined Dundee and Dumbarton respectively on season long loans.
Plenty of talk now that Dembele will be leaving tonight.
Smashing.
Dembele to Lyon for ÂŁ18m.
CELTIC tonight can confirm that the club has accepted an offer from Lyon for the transfer of striker Moussa Dembele.
Celtic manager Brendan Rodgers said: âEvery decision we make at Celtic will always be in the best interests of the Club and our supporters.
âIt is vital to make clear that we have never promised any player that he can leave the Club at a particular time. It has never happened. In fact, we have said all along that we did not wish to sell Moussa, given the circumstances within the transfer window and that is why we rejected a significant offer yesterday.
âHowever, this particular decision to accept this offer has been taken in order to serve the best interests of the first-team squad, my coaching team and the culture and environment we have created in these last two seasons.
âThe Board and myself are united and they have been very supportive to me on this issue.
âOur real focus now turns to Sundayâs match and beyond, working with our players here who are committed to doing all they can to ensure another successful season for the Club.
âFinally, I would like to thank Moussa for his contribution in our last two seasons and want to wish him well in his new adventure at Lyon.â
Weâll surely sign a striker on loan from Leicester, Southampton or somewhere before midnight.
Doesnât look at all likely. Ryan Christie is now a striker.
I canât see how we could really have held onto Dembele anyway and the timing is shite but the outcome of this summer is pretty awful with the weakening of the squad and no Champions League group stages.
The fee seems reasonable enough but it doesnât matter because fuck all will get reinvested. I donât understand why we havenât even been able to bring in any new less proven players though. The buy cheap sell high model doesnât work if you donât even buy cheap.
Rodgers seems fairly adamant that it was right to sell him and thatâs probably fair enough if heâs going to act the cunt but we needed to have his replacement brought in weeks ago. (Not Edouard who can obviously fill that role but the next guy to play the role Edouard did last season).
Those thoughts are very incoherent. Apologies to all my readers.
I completely agree with those relatively coherent thoughts.
We need succession planning for these young players whoâll be sold on. Take Ntcham, for example. Watching his performances late last season and the start of thisâŠheâs blossoming into a super player. Porto offered âŹ14m for him the other day apparently. Weâll need to have someone lined up to replace himâŠ
âŠAnd Tierney and Boyata.
Did we bin our scouting department?
Weâve bought in two players on loan from the EPL, signed two lads who were on loan last season with us and two free agents in their 30s - one a former Celtic player and another who played in the SPL last season.
Our other main target was an SPL player who signed for Villa and we didnât seem to make any attempt to sign a right back despite it being a glaring weakness.
We donât seem to even be actively pursuing players despite badly needing to.
I am not as adept a voyeur than others on this thread but the most impressive aspect of Celtic sec has benn their astute signings of players from abroad that have turned to ÂŁ.
From diCannio, Viduka, Van Hoidunck? Wanyama Van Dijk etc.
There is fuck all looking like theyâll add to that list.
The drive for 10 might end this year
Some of those didnât make much money for Celtic because they left in a huff. But they were all excellent players who contributed way above their purchase price. And those are the signings Celtic need to be pursuing.
But if you donât sign anyone you wonât make any more of those. Edouard is our next one but we already paid big money for him anyway. As @Bandage said above Ntcham will leave soon too. So we needed his replacement now. Not on 31st August 2019.
Selling Dembele isnât the problem. Itâs not replacing him.
Moravcek, petrov and larsson.