Celtic v Rangers, Sunday - 12.30pm, Sky Sports Football 🍀

You know the footix are rattled when they use the term globally

I havent mentioned Liverpool … they’re no where near a super club and dont have the spending power of the other giants. Liverpool are a selling club.

Being good commercially doesn’t make you a super club ffs. Being backed by billionaire owners with a blank cheque is what defines a super club like Liverpool and Man City. Barcelona is extremely connected to its city.

Clubs inflated with oil money such as Chelski, City and PSG are excluded

Sure what does it matter a fuck where any of them are from and how much money they’ve spent. You’re not from there and it isn’t your money.

It’s a bit of craic. Something to have a bit of interest in.

Borderline — but they’ve a ridiculously high profile over the last few years.

Huh? Man Utd are one of the biggest buying clubs on the planet … they’ve spent a billion pound over the last few years. Liverpool have to sell to buy.

It’s way more special for me watching greenwood and Rashford play than falcao and do Maria. There is a romance to it. Watching teams like Liverpool and man city with teams of foreigners and coaches with no connection to their clubs does nothing for me personally.

You’re from Limerick you ham.

You’re from the back arse of Limerick somewhere, you’d swear you were from Gorton.

Sure haven’t Liverpool got Trent and Joe Baresi. Home grown.

This is what I was talking about — impressionable Irish lads thinking EPL clubs form part of their identity. It’s bizarre … no sooner had I posted it and lads were coming out of the wood work to defend their tribalism.

Watching at home singing the songs.

I was in the still house for the Manchester derby a few weeks ago.

Few lads up the top started singing u-n-i-t-e-d United are the team for me. :joy:

Saying United with an English accent

I key moment in my relationship with football happened a few months into my first year in UCD. In secondary school I’d been a good football fan and I’d even gone to see Villa play in Birmingham, they’re my team.

I went to the old UCD Sports Bar to watch Man Utd vs Liverpool game. The crowd was all lads, mostly talking and drinking pints and half-watching the game (it seemed to me). Nearly everyone was Irish.

There came a moment in the game where a Liverpool player took a dive but didn’t win the free kick. There was a slow-motion replay of the dive. Suddenly half the bar just spontaneously started pointing and chanting in unison and in a perfect Manchester accent, “Same old Liverpool, always cheating, same old Liverpool, always cheating.” Then they just carried on chatting and laughing again like normal in their Irish accents, like nothing had happened.

I tried not to let any emotion show but that Manchester accent chilled me to the bone. I realised I was surrounded by braindead wankers, a very dangerous situation. It took me some months to properly comprehend the sick cult that I had seen and I had too much self respect to really care about the EPL again after that because I was scared of ending up line those lads in the Sports Bar.

Joe Gomez is from Charlton

He is … transferred when 16 I think.

Would Irish lads following French club soccer be footix or hipster soccer type behaviour?

Be Jaysus.

This feels like a trap but hipster

Actually, in fairness to Irish Liverpool fans, no matter how bad they might be, at least they don’t put on a scouser accent because they don’t want to sound fucking ridiculous.

Good post. Like seeing a lad who has just discovered how to make butter chicken in a pot cream himself all over the internet.