Central Coast Mariners - 2011 A League season

TFK’s favourite A League team, our beloved Central Coast Mariners, lost their opening game on Saturday evening, an away 1-0 loss to Brisbane Roar, a repeat of last years A League grand final. Alex Wilkinson was injured, so that may have had a bearing.

It was probably our most difficult match of the season, so good to have it out of the way. We commence hostilities at home in fortress Blue Tongue on the shores of Gosford on Saturday against Gold Coast on Saturday. I have the season tickets, so will be able to provide match analysis for all the home games.

Graham Arnold is trying to keep the expectations low this season, precdicting a top 6 finish, but we all know thats bollocks and we look forward to a chance for revenge against Brisbane in the final again.

Roll on mucking up Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory, wiping the smug grin off Harry Kewells face.

http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/centralcoastmariners/

How did the Kewell v Emerton battle go recently?

Not great apparently, Emerton missed a penalty but Kewell’s hair looked great. 0-0 draw, the least we would expect from both sides, who are crap.

any sign of good young players coming through and heading to Europe?

Watch out Mustafa Amini - 19 year old wunderkid from the Mariners - attacking midfielder with great vision, passes the ball beautifully and runs at defences when he wants, he had a great season for us last year and this will be his final year at the Mariners as he goes to Borussia Dortmund next season. He plays for the Olyroos as well.

The other one to watch out for is Bernie Ibini Isei - striker with the Mariners, could be the goalscoring sensation of the A League this year.

dungeon for the thread

withdrawal of posting rights for the 2 half wits that are tittle tattling about this shit

I have to say I am very surprised at the double standard you apply here TASE, I would have thought you of all people would support a thread supporting a team from a working class area, in a league beset by financial problems, battling competition from sports that have much more interest from the public (in your case the GAA, in my case rugby league and AFL). You disappoint me enormously. I have to question your qualifications as a true Shamrock Rovers supporter. Sham supporter more like.

Not a great result against Gold Coast United on Saturday evening, a 1-1 draw. 60% possession and we went 1-0 down and didn’t equalise until the imperious Dutchman headed home in the 87th minute. The midfield need to start talking to each other. Approach play was average enough, but the final ball was no where to be seen. Didn’t look at all good until Bernie Ibini Isei came on the second half and he scared the shit out of the 6 defenders Gold Coast put behind the ball.

Serious improvement needed from the boys, Gold Coast are muck and a better team would have punished us.

Next up is the F3 Derby against Newcastle just up the road, we should beat the shit out them as we usually do.

Then I get to watch us against Robbie Fowler’s Perth Glory the following Staurday, looking forward to seeing Robbie playing. Except that I won’t as the stupid cunt has buggered off to play in of all places, Thailand. FFS.

Fair fucks to you Fitzy. Great to see something new on TFK, keep up the good work.

twat

I knew a genuine sporting supporter like yourself would appreciate this Locke.

As opposed to SHAM supporters like this yoke.

After three opening games where we scored 1 goal and lost two games, finally, finally on Saturday evening at fortress Blue Tongue, a victory! I’m sure my fellow Mariners supporters on TFK will rejoice in this.

Wilko was back (I got a nice message from his father in law who used to be my boss this morning) and it did make a difference, though they seem to be playing a zonal defensive set up that’s very stationary and allowing unmarked forwards to make runs. But the midfielf linked up well this time with the forwards and we scored two good goals from sustained pressure and passing football.

Matt Simons had a very good game, first goal in 9 games. Daniel McBreen, a player I’ve never been fully convinced about, had a stormer, kept looking for it, passed superbly and got back and tackled when it counted. Pedj Bojic another who had a super game. I thought Bozanic and McGlinchy especially were pedestrian and lacking confidence in themselves and Rostyn Griffiths, for a player just called into the Socceroos squad, was anonymous, which was disappointing.

But the real star was of course Bernie Ibini Isei. Is there nothing the young man originally from Nigeria can’t do? Dropped back deep to pick up the ball and then ran at shit scared Perth Glory defenders all night. Got out wide and crossed, made runs up the centre and got on the end of things, scored a great goal, ran himself into the ground. He’s a star, remember his name now boys, he’s going to be HUGE.

Mustapha Amini came on as a sub, the boy winder looks good, hopefully he’ll complete a game soon, we need a big season from him before he departs to the bright lights of the Bundesliga.

Great night at the Blue Tongue stadium, Arnie will be happy. Especially against one of the form teams of the competition. Next up is a trip to the land of the long white cloud to beta the shit out of Wellington Phownix and then in 2 weeks, I’ll get to watch Harry Kewell making a fool of himself against the imperious Dutchman.

Speaking of whom, Patrick was actually booked by the ref on Saturday. How dare he book someone who has played over 400 games in the Dutch league and is the reigning Foxtel / A League player of the year? The ref was utter shite, 7 yellows and 4 mins injury time in a half with no injuries. It would have been 3-1 if him and his moron linesmen had bothered to learn the offside rule.

Brisbane Roar beat Adelaide 7-1 on Friday. Oh shit.

That hypocrite TASE put in his box here. :clap:

In other news, Graham Arnold has denied he is considering an offer from St Johnstone to fill the vacant manager’s role there, saying that he much prefers living in sunny Terrigal, NSW Central Coast Australia, to rainy Perth, Scotland. :clap: :clap:

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/a-league/spurs-owner-shows-interest-in-mariners-20111031-1ms97.html

One thing you have to understand about the Mariners is that we are a club on the breadline with serious financial worries. So it comes as some hopeful news this morning that we are in talks with the owners of Spurs for a takeover and injection of much needed capital.

After a hugley significant away win at the Phoenix in Wellington (Matt Simon and Bernie scoring again), we welcome back the boys to Blue Tongue again tomorrow night. We do not welcome Melbourne Victory, a team we despise, after last years New Years eve debacle, where that uber cunt Kevin Muscat got Kwazy sent off and we lost. Harry Kewell is away with the Socceroos, so we won’t get to see him, but as Muscat is assistant coach thingy, we get to boo these arseholes all night. Hopefully we’ll kick these no marks off the field, looking forward to a 3-1 victory and consolidating our spot in the top three of the league.

After a difficult Euro 2012 qualifying campaign, which they did not qualify for, Maltese international John Hutchinson returns after a loan spell in China with Chengdu Blades. Whether or not he plays is a moot point, but I’d happily play him, given the lacklustre nature of our midfield at the moment.

Go Mariners!

After a very very frustrating 0-0 home draw against bleeding Melbourne Victory, where we did absolutely everything but put the ball in the net, a famous away 3-2 win over Sydney FC on Saturday. The Dutch master scored an unstoppable free kick, and the boys by all accounts dominated a game whose 3-2 scoreline was not indicative of the possession they enjoyed. Brett Emerton scored an equally good free, but not enough to beat our Mariners. Arnie’s additional striking training paid dividends and we scored goals. Second in a very tight league now on goal difference, we are realisitcally the only team who can catch Brisbane Roar, who are now on a 35 (!) match unbeaten streak. I don’t think there is another professional sports team in the world on that kind of streak at the moment, fair play to them.

Back to the Blue Tongue stadium on Saturday evening for the visit of Melbourne Heart, who we should beat 2 or 3 nil. Looking forward to that.

What I am not looking forward to is sitting in front of Rostyn Griffith’s girlfriend again. Our much vaunted midfielders bird sat behind us at the Melbourne Victory game with some other chick and proceeded to talk very loudly for the entire fucking game and half time. About shopping, make up, shoes, dresses, how to get free cocktails in some club. She did not stop talking once. The other chick just sat there and said “yeah” every so often. Then she’d look up at the game and shout “go Rosty, love you babe”. During the second half she shouts out at the top of her voice “give it to Matty”. Matt Simon had been subbed 5 minutes earlier.

I’m going to have to talk to management at the club about the WAGS. I know one or two of them, and very nice, intelligent, well dressed, hot birds they are, but this girl gives them a very bad name. I would have thought Rostyn would have had more influence, he needs to bring her into line. If not , one of a large number of women sitting around us will belt her one. You could see the obvious annoyance in everyone’s face.

Onwards and upwards for the Mariners.

http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/news-display/Mariners-deny-Sydney/42804

good stuff Fitzy. Was flicking through the channels yesterday evening and who did I see but former Parkhead hero Liam Miller getting sent off. Looked a bit harsh to me as there was another defender next to him but he did deny a goalscoring opportunity I suppose. How is he getting on aside from that in Perth?