It was a terrible decision alright and the Perth manager was none too happy. After a bright start, they’re stuttering. The former Man Utd Corkman has played all games so far this season, I think. Early days yet, have to say I didn’t even notice him when they played at Blue Tongue a few weeks ago.
A 3-1 win over the Melbourne Heart on Saturday night at fortress Bluetongue. In reality, the scoreline flattered us, two very dodgy decisions leading to Mariners goals (a handball that wasn’t a handball leading to a Daniel McBreen converted penalty and an bicycle kick goal from Matty Simon from a corner that was never a corner). Still though, a win is a win etc etc, and given some of the frankly appalling decisions against us this season, it was like positive karma for us. Patrick sailed over everyone else for the third, a great header from the peerless Dutchman, who now has 3 goals to his name this season so far, not bad for a central defender.
But again, despite plenty of posession, the Mariners didn’t look threatening for long periods. Mustafa Amini started, but still doesn’t look 100% fit. John Hutchinson was terrible. McBreen changed the game when he came on, he’s turning into a very aggressive, attacking midfielder who scares defences. Matt Simon spent the second half running up the left wing, looking at crosses coming into the box from the right, with no one near them. Why? Why is he playing out wide when he’s the centre forward? Heart are a terrible team and we should have beaten this rabble 5-0. We need to be more aggressive. Drop Griffiths and Hutchinson, who were awful, I saw Griffiths do a forward pass once in the second half. Start McBreen. Amini needs to get fit. Bozanic needs to stop fucking around with the Olyroos and come back to the club. Pellegrino and Hearfield are options as well.
Adelaide away next Friday is a difficult one, but we should be able to come away from there with at least a draw. Then the F3 derby against Newcastle, which we will not accept anything less than a convincing win.
Second on the table (Sydney lost again yesterday, ha fucking ha), but we won’t be for long if we don’t start converting the posession we work so hard for.
Brisbane Roar set a new Australian professional sports record at the weekend, 36 games unbeaten. Fair play to them, doubt if there’s many professional sports clubs in the world with a current record like that.
So Adelaide away wasn’t all that hard after all, a thumping 4-0 win, the highest margin we have ever won away. Then on Saturday we entertained the club footed, bogan, knuckle dragging, skanger novocastrians in the F3 derby (Newcastle is a hour’s drive up the F3). After the Marinators (die hard supporters on the terraces) unveiled a highly insulting and very amusing banner, the boys dominated the game, goals from Matty Simon and of all people, Rostyn bloody Griffiths, giving us a valuable 2-0 win, 7 games unbeaten now. Should have been 4 or 5 nil, Bernie Ibini Isei hit the cross bar, put a sitter wide and was accidentally ruled offside after a sublime ball from Mustafa Amini. I’m assuming the lineswoman accidentally raised her flag, as he was clearly a metre onside when the sublime ball was played. Nonetheless, for once the game was refereed very well.
So at this point of the season, where do the Mariners, the poorest team in the league with the lowest population supporting it sit? Second on goal difference to Brisbane Roar, thats where we fucking sit. 5 points ahead of the third placed and highly likeable Melbourne Heart and the laughable Sydney FC.
And who do we play this weekend? Brisbane fucking Roar, thats who we play. It is going to be the game of the season. At $3.35 to win, I’ll be having a piece of the Mariners action too. We’re in form, they’re not (Roar have lost their last two games). We have Patrick Zwaanswijk and Mustafa Amini, we can do this.
I’m still a bit concerned about the 4-3-3 formation, in that Mustafa plays behind the front two, but they both go very wide. We’d be better served I think if we went 4-4-2 and stopped Matt Simon and Bernie running so much, and so wide. We have two of the best full backs in the league, let them do the wide work, and cross to two players in the box, who are currently getting pulled out of position a lot.
Arnie giving it loads to the press after the game, its wonderful to see out leader so fired up :guns:
Brisbane don’t scare us.
Forgot to mention, former England and Everton, Arsenal, Motherwell, Rangers and pretty much any club you can think of, player, Francis Jeffers, came on as a sub for Newcastle on Saturday. He wasn’t very good.
It was epic, it was traumatising, it was not fun, it was a decent game, it was bloody hard work. BUT, we beat them. Probably more importantly, we beat our own demons as well.
After last season’s heartbreaking grand final, where we were 2-0 up with 10 minutes left and lost on penalties, we revisited the scene of the crime and beat Brisbane Roar. A brilliantly taken goal from Mutafa after a brain explosion by the hapless Roar keeper. Pedj Bojic in his 100th game then scored his third ever goal and we’re 2-0 up at half time. And then all the doubt sets in. Roar threw everything at us in the second half and scored a jammy goal off a deflection. And it was nail biting time for the last 10 minutes, but the boys did their job and we now sit top of the league by 3 points.
An outstanding performance. Patrick, our captain Alex Wilkinson, Mustafa Amini and the peerless Matt Ryan (remember that name, he’ll be Soccerros goalkeeper soon and I would expect him to be playing in Europe in the next few years) all brilliant.
8 games unbeaten now. Still we don’t get the plaudits we deserve from the media. But fuck them, we’re going to win the league this year. :guns:
http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/news-display/Mariners-stun-Roar/43697
dungeon
Again you show your hypocracy TASE. Or is it because you’re a Roar supporter?
We’ll have to go to a game together when you arrive in Australia mate, so I’m sending you a standing invitation to join me at the beautiful Blue Tongue stadium, I’ll even pay for the beer.
Its been a while, so where to start? As you all are aware, The Central Coast Mariners sit proudly at the top of the Hyundai A League, 6 points ahead of Brisbane Roar with a game in hand and on Saturday we went 13 games unbeaten after a dull 1-1 draw with fucking Newcastle, who always drag us down to their level. Not the greatest performance but I think a lot of that had to do with Pedj Bojic’s suspension and the fact that the not very good Brad Porter deputised in his absence. But I spoke to Pedj at a member function after the game and he assured me he is rearing to go against third placed Melbourne Heart away on Wednesday.
Its been a pretty remarkable few months for the Mariners. Playing the best football in the league, the wins against Harry Kewell’s Melbourne Victory and away against the muck that is Brett Emerton’s Sydney FC both particular highlights. The Roar are really the only team that can stay with us and I’m predicting a re-run of last years final, which this time we will win.
We lost Matt Simon along the way, he was transferred to Korea’s Chunnam Dragons after the Melbourne Victory game, leaving us with 2 stunning goals in his final appearance after 114 games and 36 goals, the clubs leading goalscorer. We will miss the young man who learned his trade at my own local club, Wyoming FC, but we wish him well, he’ll be a huge success in Korea.
Plenty there to pick up the slack though and having watched a national youth league game last Tuesday, I can see a few young players easily giving support to our strikers.
Graham Arnold continues to do a remarkable job. Matt had to leave as his contract was up and we couldn’t afford him anymore, as we are the poorest club in the league. It was made very clear straight away that we would be filling the gap internally.
This is the big problem now for the Mariners, whether we can keep the current squad together. The transfer window opened at the weekend and pretty much every player we have is sought after. But the noises being heard are that while the players can all earn more elsewhere, they all want to stay at the Mariners this season to work under Arnie and win the league. I reckon that’s how it will pan out and after this season we will lose a lot of players.
The other big thing is that we start out Asian Champions League campaign in March, facing home and away games against Chinese, Korean and Japanese opposition, including the big Jap team , Nagoya Grampus. This will be a huge test of the club, management and squad as we hope to maintain our lead at the top of the league while playing some of the best sides in Asia.
In February we lose three of our best players in Oliver Bozanic, Bernie Ibini Isei and Matt Ryan as they go on Olyroos’s (Australian U23 team) duty. Huge gaps to fill there, especially Matt Ryan in goal, but we should be good.
Crowds are up, Mariners fans have smiles on their faces. Hopefully we will have news this week of a major investment in the club from the same people who own Spartak Moscow. This really is a community based club and it never ceases to amaze me how much time the management and players are willing to give to meet the fans and talk to them. Good blokes all, I’m sure everyone on TFK will join me in wishing the boys the best on this remarkable journey.
In other news that tool Jim Magilton was appointed Melbourne Victory coach. Should be funny to see how that goes.
Jesus, nobody cares on here, nobody.
The second biggest contributor to this thread is TASE telling him to FOAD :lol:
No issues with someone going on a forum for a discussion (obviously), but why here. Absolutely nobody has an interest. I’m sure there are CCM forums to discuss it. Just looks like attention seeking to me, jesus he really has become an Aussie.
So why are you posting on this thread?
Because i saw it near the top and felt you needed reminding of what a waste of space this thread is.
You aussie cunt.
Thanks for putting it back up top again Kev, you Cark cunt.
Its not like I’m posting this thread every day of the week, its an occasional thing and hardly surprising that a forum member on a sports board would post about a club they are a member of and involved in.
What is surprising is that you are still in Australia, given you seem to hate the place so much. Why don’t you do us all a favour and fuck off Kev?
You’re mistaken again fitzy. I hate a large majority of the population, mostly male. I think its a great “place”. Its just got that Longshank’s feel to it. Some of the people here are the most disgustingly untrustworthy, stealing, moaning cunts i’ve ever come across. I’m learning to avoid them though and also making the best of WA . I’ll try another place in a few months and then i’ll probably be off fitz, you can have the place and the cunts all to yourself. Reading between the lines its obvious you have become one of them.They don’t appreciate what they have, thats what i really dislike about them. Plenty Irish, English & Scots to get aloong with here though.Although it must be said some of the longer term Irish are mophing into Aussies. Its the (WA) worst place i’ve seen for Irish or UK people to look out for each other.
Maybe they just don’t like you Kev.
Have you been to any Perth Glory matches? They’re coming good at the moment, they should win handily enough against Sydney tomorrow.
They don’t possibly, thats true, but its mostly because of where i’m from. Quite alot of anti-Irish feeling creeping in over here. Its like their little world is being invaded. Thing is they wouldn’t have an economy only for foreingers.
There are loads of cars going around now with this bumper sticker (i must take a photo) “fuck off, we’re full” in an aussie shape… They are ridiculously xenophobic, but ultimately they are very insecure.
I would compare their methods of doing business to Ireland circa 1990.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 627156”]
They don’t possibly, thats true, but its mostly because of where i’m from. Quite alot of anti-Irish feeling creeping in over here. Its like their little world is being invaded. Thing is they wouldn’t have an economy only for foreingers.
There are loads of cars going around now with this bumper sticker (i must take a photo) “fuck off, we’re full” in an aussie shape… They are ridiculously xenophobic, but ultimately they are very insecure.
I would compare their methods of doing business to Ireland circa 1990.[/quote]
Their method of doing business (insert laughing smiley here). As an illegal immigrant the only business you should be doing is fucking off home. Not sure why Aus should be seeking to emulate business practices of a bankrupt isle. But I’m sure you have some personal anecdotes in relation to Irish business practice in 1990 that will amuse the forum. Handing in milk money in primary school no doubt.
Once again Kev you are talking through your hole about Aus. If you hate the place so much why can’t you go back to his budding S&M, take away flyers, junior football
career in the backarse of Cork? Don’t tell me you are one of these retards that has to hang on for the full year so you won’t be seen as a failure back home? I can assure you your failure status is already a given so probably best to cut your losses if you are let.
Irish people generally are more than welcomed. Yes there are some xenophobic people out here but noone on here should be young enough to remember the shit a lot of the Polish people put up with in the Island of Welcomes not too long ago.
It’s fairly clear that pretty much anyone with an ounce of intelligence and initiative can make a good living for themselves here. It doesn’t suit everyone and its fair to say the man who hates a majority of 22m odd people is doing it tough. So cut your losses and head off to a place where the majority of the population will accept you for who you are.
[quote=“Fitzy, post: 627155”]Maybe they just don’t like you Kev.
Have you been to any Perth Glory matches? They’re coming good at the moment, they should win handily enough against Sydney tomorrow.[/quote]
Fellow Corkonian playing with them and all. Maybe Kev could get a game with them? Think I read on the forum here before how good of a player he is.