Champions League - Round of 16

[quote=“Rocko, post: 906498, member: 1”]Wenger had a right moan last night. I don’t really mind his nonsense complaining about the referee and the sending off - he’s completely wrong but that’s just pretty much par for the course now that a losing manager blames defeat on incompetent officials.

He also took the time to have a go at Robben over the penalty as well which is acting the prick. He got clearly caught, with the keeper’s studs, on his shins. It was as clear-cut a penalty as you could ever see and I’d say the challenge actually hurt a bit. If it happened further out the pitch, there’d be no talk of Robben overreacting. He also had a go at Neuer for diving when he was clearly caught too. I’m disappointed in Arsene and am now looking for a new English club to hate least.[/quote]

Gus Poyet Black Cats.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 906308, member: 1”]Agreed. And you’d have more handball on the line and all that sort of stuff - why wouldn’t everyone take a chance?

I’m also a bit taken aback by the talk tonight of Robben’s touch going away from goal and am extremely disappointed to see @Bandage joining in that line of thinking. His touch went away from goal so he could take it around the goalkeeper who was careering off his line. That doesn’t make it any less of a goalscoring opportunity. If the keeper didn’t rush out and foul him then it was a goalscoring opportunity. His touch was sideways to avoid the onrushing keeper. That didn’t make it less of a goalscoring opportunity. And taking it a level further even, if his touch had been backwards or miles away or anything you could still argue it was a goalscoring opportunity because you couldn’t divorce Robben’s touch from the keeper advancing on him and not playing the ball.[/quote]

I can’t understand why this wasn’t a free out.

Robben’s foot was high and clearly dangerous. He had both feet off the ground.
If he lifted his feet in the middle of the field like that it would be a free straight away. Why are players allowed get away with it inside in the box?

[quote=“habanerocat, post: 906823, member: 1513”]I can’t understand why this wasn’t a free out.

Robben’s foot was high and clearly dangerous. He had both feet off the ground.
If he lifted his feet in the middle of the field like that it would be a free straight away. Why are players allowed get away with it inside in the box?[/quote]

Eh no it wouldn’t be a free against him else. He jumped to cushion the ball down for himself.

Put yourself in the position of the goalie and tell me again this isn’t dangerous play!

The rule on dangerous play states, “Determination must be made as to the proximity and danger to an opponent”

[quote=“habanerocat, post: 907059, member: 1513”]

Put yourself in the position of the goalie and tell me again this isn’t dangerous play!

The rule on dangerous play states, “Determination must be made as to the proximity and danger to an opponent”[/quote]

you are genuinely serious here arent you?

Yes, Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, I am very disappointed with that attitude. I can assure you it is much, much more important than that.

[quote=“habanerocat, post: 907059, member: 1513”]http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2014/02/19/article-2563149-1BA6D88100000578-630_634x399.jpg

The rule on dangerous play states, “Determination must be made as to the proximity and danger to an opponent”[/quote]

Do you think this would be similar to the nani one v real last year?

I propose all boggers be banned from posting on football threads, maybe during the downtime over Cheltenham this can be arranged?

Post up a picture. I didn’t think Nani could lift his foot that high.

Why?

their expertise is in the agrisports

Agrisports?

Borussia Dortmund mopping up Zennit Leningrad. 2-0 coming up to half-time, both goals coming in the first five minutes.

United are 1 down!

Good lord utd are absolute dogshit. If that Cleverly lad gets taken to the world cup, Hodgson should be fired.

Royston might actually storm the pitch and hit some of the utd players a slap. He is seething.

this is a very bad game
Olympiakos are poor and they are w/o Javier Saviola who is there main source of goals, but by God united are awful. Watching Ferdinand is car crash stuff, he is all over the gaff there, Vidic is doing well again and is keeping them in it like Arsenal last week.
utd;s midfield is not happening at all, i think this could get worse actually for them

[quote=“mickee321, post: 909215, member: 367”]this is a very bad game
Olympiakos are poor and they are w/o Javier Saviola who is there main source of goals, but by God united are awful. Watching Ferdinand is car crash stuff, he is all over the gaff there, Vidic is doing well again and is keeping them in it like Arsenal last week.
utd;s midfield is not happening at all, i think this could get worse actually for them[/quote]
Can see Olympiakos win this 3-0.

Give our lads some credit here. We’re looking beyond this mid table epl side in any case.

Tuning in now as Bandage is being a possessive little fucker about his match streams in the other thread.