Champions League - Round of 16

Jaysus, that overkill in front of goal was like watching Arsenal a few seasons back.

Athletico 4-1 up on aggregate now. Its embarassing to watch a proud Club like Milan come to this, humbled by a Club like Athletico.

Balotelli utterly pathetic tonight.

What is this odd rule that it’s ok for goalkeepers to be beaten on the far post but never on the near post? Do near post goals count double like away goals?

The near post is near while the far post is far away.

5-1, Italian football is in a dark, dark place.

You’d really expect a bit more from Arsenal here. One of their main problems is their work rate, they don’t do nearly enough at times to help out the man in possession, also if a pass isn’t 100% accurate, too many of them aren’t willing to bust a gut to get there and turn it into a good pass.

Contrast this with Bayern, whose work rate and support for each other is excellent, and it’s easy to see why they’re comfortably the better team.

[quote=“Jimmy Mc Nulty, post: 915215, member: 1168”]You’d really expect a bit more from Arsenal here. One of their main problems is their work rate, they don’t do nearly enough at times to help out the man in possession, also if a pass isn’t 100% accurate, too many of them aren’t willing to bust a gut to get there and turn it into a good pass.

Contrast this with Bayern, whose work rate and support for each other is excellent, and it’s easy to see why they’re comfortably the better team.[/quote]
Was thinking the same. ITV are full of praise for their job tonight but they didn’t really do anything with the ball and Bayern were very comfortable.

awful to see that in football, a fella cutting in from the wing at speed then taking a shot, totally off balance with the head way back and skying the fucking thing over the bar, the number 44 for arsenal is at it something awful, terrible waster of a player

Stonewall penalty. Nothing about “you don’t have to ask Robben to hit the floor” that Townsend is going on with.

Bayern might just hang on despite that miss.

Thats impressive core strength from Fabianski to get back to that, nothing easy about it.

[quote=“Jimmy Mc Nulty, post: 915215, member: 1168”]You’d really expect a bit more from Arsenal here. One of their main problems is their work rate, they don’t do nearly enough at times to help out the man in possession, also if a pass isn’t 100% accurate, too many of them aren’t willing to bust a gut to get there and turn it into a good pass.

Contrast this with Bayern, whose work rate and support for each other is excellent, and it’s easy to see why they’re comfortably the better team.[/quote]
You got it in one, they can’t do the hard yards. Surprised this hasn’t improved since the irish lads started training them.

The likes of Balotelli, Taraabt, Robinho, Rami and Emanuelson are a disgrace to the Milan jersey. Spineless and gutless players. Over the years the one thing that has always been brilliant about Milan has been the quality professionals they have playing for their jersey.

Balotelli fucking sickens me.

Seedorf’s record is 11 games - 4 wins, 1 draw and 6 defeats. He’s not up to the job, persisting with the likes of Balotelli, Emanuelson and Robinho in his side is plain daft, when your club is in a crisis you don’t want gutless mercenaries like this.

Yeah, a bunch of alcoholics susceptible to sunstroke would be world leaders in fitness alright.

[quote=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 915223, member: 2533”]The likes of Balotelli, Taraabt, Robinho, Rami and Emanuelson are a disgrace to the Milan jersey. Spineless and gutless players. Over the years the one thing that has always been brilliant about Milan has been the quality professionals they have playing for their jersey.

Seedorf’s record is 11 games - 4 wins, 1 draw and 6 defeats. He’s not up to the job, persisting with the likes of Balotelli, Emanuelson and Robinho in his side is plain daft, when your club is in a crisis you don’t want gutless mercenaries like this.[/quote]
Does he have anyone else? Hard to build a quality team in 6-7 weeks

Yeah, a bunch of alcoholics susceptible to sunstroke would be world leaders in fitness alright.[/quote]

Excuse me, easily ine of the leaders in drug free fitness in the world. And one of those lads is a European champion. I doubt they get much of a say though.
It’s notable Milan’s decline has coincided with a tightening on drug laws, testing and a demand for access to club facilities.

He has players who will show a lot more endeavour and professionalism than Robinho and Balotelli, talent wise they may not be as good but at least they will play for the team. Balotelli does nothing only saunter around getting himself into squabbles with other players. His movement is absolutely pathetic, he doesn’t offer himself, he is extremely lazy and a liability on the pitch, the amount of suspensions he picks up is ridiculous.

The amount of second chances Robinho gets is unbelievable, I couldn’t believe they actually have him a contract extension at the start of the season.

To be fair to Emanuelson he does give it his best but he is just dreadfully bad. He seems to be the first name on the teamsheet for Seedorf which given Milan have Abate and De Sciglio fit is scandalous.

[quote=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 915223, member: 2533”]The likes of Balotelli, Taraabt, Robinho, Rami and Emanuelson are a disgrace to the Milan jersey. Spineless and gutless players. Over the years the one thing that has always been brilliant about Milan has been the quality professionals they have playing for their jersey.

Seedorf’s record is 11 games - 4 wins, 1 draw and 6 defeats. He’s not up to the job, persisting with the likes of Balotelli, Emanuelson and Robinho in his side is plain daft, when your club is in a crisis you don’t want gutless mercenaries like this.[/quote]

Any chance Balotelli will be left at home for the wc mate?
I assume you’ll fall back in love with him if he bangs in a couple for the azzuri.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 915231, member: 273”]Excuse me, easily ine of the leaders in drug free fitness in the world. And one of those lads is a European champion. I doubt they get much of a say though.
It’s notable Milan’s decline has coincided with a tightening on drug laws, testing and a demand for access to club facilities.[/quote]

Italy has always had the strictest drug laws in world football, that’s a fact.

Milan’s decline has came with them having to reduce their running costs and sell off their star players in recent years - Shevchenko, Kaka, Zlatan and Thiago Silva.