Champions League - Round of 16

[QUOTE=“Horsebox, post: 919091, member: 1537”]I had to turn it off but Kenny took the stance that United had the nucleus of a decent young squad there and just needed to add some quality players which is a very optimistic but not entirely left field stance. Dunphy scoffed at this and more or less said they were all shit. They then had a laughable conversation about the transfer market where Dunphy said that there were only less than 5 players available in the summer that could improve United (despite saying that the entire squad were brutal 2 minutes before that) and that City or Chelsea or Real would buy them instead anyway.

Tony Kroos came up and Kenny said he would add to United’s midfield-Dunphy said that Kroos wasn’t good enough to play regularly for Bayern and that he wasn’t a midfielder anyway and that he was a 10. At this stage, Kenny was smiling away to himself and kept winding Dunphy up although it must be said that Eamon looked particularly shook last night and may well have been very, very drunk. I must watch it back myself as I was distracted myself and was trying to watch more of it but couldn’t due to a nagging, whiny sound in my ear.[/QUOTE]
Thanks Horse. I don’t understand why Dunphy feels the need to have strong opinions on topics he clearly doesn’t know anything about. Pity Giles wasn’t there to explain how Mata isn’t a #10 and should be playing in the centre of the pitch. He’s a real midfielder, not like Kroos.

When Kenny said Raphael and Smalling were good players he lost all credibility, which is quite a feat when debating with Dunphy.

Shur look the man is just a freak show at this stage-roll him out, wind him up and let him off. It was funny to watch Kenny swat him like a fly last night with a smirk on his face though-Eamon really did not take kindly to it.

Don’t think Dunphy was drunk cos he was quite restrained rather than his usual ranting. Looked shook alright and too tired to argue. Looked half asleep at times and that he’d drank a bottle of night nurse.

Yeah Kenny was talking shite himself but I think he was more making the point that they were decent squad players but United needed some world class starters. I just thought it was funny that he was pulling Dunphy up and smirking at some of his dumber statements the same way anyone who knew anything about football would do.

This has more or less been covered but I will add my view of it.

The debate started with the question as to how many United players are good enough to be in a Champions League winning team/squad.

Kenny was extremely positive about Man Utd (which is incredible given their form this season). He listed De Gea, Jones, Smalling, Rafael, Evans. I lost track after this due to my disbelief but I also recall him mentioning Janzuai.

Eamonn was there shaking his head at the mention of Evans, Smalling and Rafael and pulled Kenny up on it. Kenny said in a dismissive tone that Rafael was the ‘best right back in the league’, Smalling was an ‘excellent young player’, and that Jonny Evans was ‘the stand out defender in the league last season bar none’.

Eamonn then asked if Kenny saw any problems with United - for instance their midfield. Kenny said that that is a huge problem area and that they need two new midfielders. He seemed to suggest it was simply a matter of them splashing the cash (big fees and big wages) and they would get Tony Kroos (which is laughable), or Gundagon from Dortmund.

The already farcical discussion got worse as Dunphy said that United shouldn’t go after Tony Kroos as he was not a regular in the Bayern team (hinting that he wasn’t good enough for United). He also said that Kroos wasn’t a cental midfielder and was a ‘number 10’ at which moment again Kenny dismissed him said that he played ‘centre midfield loads of times’.

We all know Dunphy is a fool but the opinions of Cunningham really shocked me, particularly his assessment of the quality of the United squad. I also seem to recall him strongly arguing that Arsenal should buy Shane Long as he would be the answer to their problems.

A cracking defender for Ireland but the holder of some strange views.

All the boozing the Irish lads did must’ve addled their brains. Houghton, Whelan, Moran, Cascarino…they’re all as bad.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 919126, member: 24”]This has more or less been covered but I will add my view of it.

The debate started with the question as to how many United players are good enough to be in a Champions League winning team/squad.

Kenny was extremely positive about Man Utd (which is incredible given their form this season). He listed De Gea, Jones, Smalling, Rafael, Evans. I lost track after this due to my disbelief but I also recall him mentioning Janzuai.

Eamonn was there shaking his head at the mention of Evans, Smalling and Rafael and pulled Kenny up on it. Kenny said in a dismissive tone that Rafael was the ‘best right back in the league’, Smalling was an ‘excellent young player’, and that Jonny Evans was ‘the stand out defender in the league last season bar none’.

Eamonn then asked if Kenny saw any problems with United - for instance their midfield. Kenny said that that is a huge problem area and that they need two new midfielders. He seemed to suggest it was simply a matter of them splashing the cash (big fees and big wages) and they would get Tony Kroos (which is laughable), or Gundagon from Dortmund.

The already farcical discussion got worse as Dunphy said that United shouldn’t go after Tony Kroos as he was not a regular in the Bayern team (hinting that he wasn’t good enough for United). He also said that Kroos wasn’t a cental midfielder and was a ‘number 10’ at which moment again Kenny dismissed him said that he played ‘centre midfield loads of times’.

We all know Dunphy is a fool but the opinions of Cunningham really shocked me, particularly his assessment of the quality of the United squad. I also seem to recall him strongly arguing that Arsenal should buy Shane Long as he would be the answer to their problems.

A cracking defender for Ireland but the holder of some strange views.[/QUOTE]
Yeah Cunningham comes out with some awful shite too. Jonny Evans FFS sake.

I suppose neither of them pointed out that Gundogan has played only once this season and is now highly likely to miss the World Cup. As an aside, it will be interesting to see how this affects Gundogan’s transfer status this summer. Dortmund have said they will sell him in the summer if he doesn’t sign a new deal. He may find his options have dwindled, but Dortmund themselves may be reluctant to pay him much if his back injury looks career-thretening which has been persistently rumoured.

Houghton is awful to listen to. Last week he rabbitted on for about 5 minutes about off side getting it completely wrong and last night he was painful again not understanding football which is quite extraordinary. I really hope RTE leave him at home for the World Cup.

@farmerinthecity[/USER] with a more detailed and probably more accurate view of the conversation there [USER=1]@Rocko . Kenny’s assertion that United had 9 or 10 players capable of being on a CL winning team was a bit laughable but I thought he rowed back a small bit then and said they would be good squad players but I might be wrong there. However, Rafael, De Gea, Januzaj, Rooney and RVP are all good players of the ones he listed but he was way off with some of the others. I do think he was just enjoying winding Dunphy up though with half the stuff he was saying.

Correction: Kenny said Evans was Manchester United’s best defender in the league last season bar none.

@Rocko[/USER] - Snippet here of what [USER=24]@farmerinthecity says.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkm2LCnjzkw

I laughed at some of these. Most are related to the Man Utd match last night so I posted the link here.

http://www.football365.com/mediawatch/9222807/The-Page-That-Will-Buy-Them-All-A-Train-Set

He also said Rafael was one of the best right backs not the best. I thought kenny made a pure bred cunt of eamon.

And how is the wife?