Van Dijk
Izzy

Johansen
Bitton

McGregor
Commons
Berget

Stokes[/QUOTE]
We were so open against Legia, and in our two league games, that I can’t see us that we need Mulgrew. Bitton has only shown flashes of being good enough for this level so far. I think he’s a promising player but he doesn’t impose himself enough yet and Mulgrew, awful as he was against Legia, is far more suited to covering the centre backs and helping provide defensive solidity. I hope that having Denayer at the back will improve our possession and passing from the back and that should mean that Mulgrew is less exposed to being pressed quickly in possession.

Delia has stated that he will forsake his attacking beliefs in order to get a result

Will he play Denayer, chaps? Big jump from development squad football to Champions League play-off (notwithstanding impressive home league debut).

I wouldn’t be surprised to see a more cautious 4-3-3 with Bitton, Mulgrew and Johansen in midfield.

We were wide open when Mulgrew was in midfield too. Mulgrew is a liability in the middle of the pitch.

Kayal in for Commons.

He’s been more cautious, as I suspected. Thought it would be Bitton rather than Kayal coming into midfield though and I certainly didn’t expect Commons to be left out. Think it’s correct to be more pragmatic after the Warsaw experience where we were incredibly open.

Keep me posted, lads.

McGregor 1-0

Ah thats a lovely ball from Johannsson

Stokes :rolleyes:

1-1.

[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 996724, member: 367”]lads, ye should fucking hammer NK Maribor Teatanic.
i saw both legs of their tie and Maccabi Tel Aviv and i thought they were piss poor
they won the tie 3-2 overall, the first game in Slovenia that Maccabi dominated was won 1-0 by the Slovenes with a fluky 94th minute goal, obviosuly the return couldnt be played in tel aviv so it was an empty stadium in Larnaca.
It was 2-2 on the night, they had 2 chances and 2 goals, Juan Pablo in the Maccabi goal had a mare, Maccabi went with 4 up front at the end but did everything but score…
Look lets give Maribor credit , this was a Maccabi side that almost beast Basil last year and hammered Eintract Frankfurt, they’re gritty , but the fact there is a fucking war going on here, maccabi’s foreign contingent are not training here and the home tie was in a different country needs to be put in perspective… also Sintayehu Sallilech an ethopian / israeli who couldnt get a game for Beitar Jerusalem last year is key player for them… and also, half their ground will be closed for the celtic game due to racist incidents by their fans during the Maccabi game[/QUOTE]

as i stated this crowd are shagging awful
their defense is piss poor, can see celtic coming out of here 3-1 winners

[B]Champions League[/B][/URL] - [URL=‘http://www.livescore.com/soccer/champions-league/qualifying-round/’]QualificationAugust 20
http://cdn3.livescore.com/web/img/flash.gif 27’AaB1 - 0APOEL Nicosia
http://cdn3.livescore.com/web/img/flash.gif 26’Lille0 - 0FC Porto
http://cdn3.livescore.com/web/img/flash.gif 26’Maribor1 - 1Celtic
http://cdn3.livescore.com/web/img/flash.gif 26’Slovan Bratislava0 - 0BATE Borisov
http://cdn3.livescore.com/web/img/flash.gif 26’Standard Liege0 - 1Zenit St. Petersburg

Maribor are fucking shite. Celtic could put this to bed tonight if they had a half decent striker, Stokes is dire.

These guys aren’t great at all.

We played well for most of the half while looking very comfortable. But we’ve been vulnerable at the back throughout and they’ve taken some confidence from that.

McGregor’s movement was excellent for our goal and Johansen played two very nice passes in the build up. They are brutal defending corners, goals in this for us.

But we remain really suspect at the back. Their balls over the top are exposing us in 1v1 situations all the time.

Should still be winning this tonight though.

yeah agreed on poor old stokes, looks like a fella who is totally disinterested and dosent give a fuck
their defense is awful!, Celtic need to get crosses and corners into the box and get the big lads like Virgil up there , they will score… this is very like the maccabi tel aviv match, one team is dominating and cant capitalise, maribor tho are waiting, ride their luck and then when you arent looking will come in your ma’s ass

Stokes has been very good.

that virgil lad is a brutal player tho for celtic in defense, a complete ape, his purpose here now should just be to cause havoc at corners in attack not defense

Berget will be a good player once he settles in a bit

Celtic would be better off getting knocked out here