Charlie (containing yet another tfk exclusive)

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1073226, member: 332”]I think it could have global appeal if done properly.
Power, corruption, sex, a fascinating time in world politics, etc.[/QUOTE]
House of Cards does that already.

Ya but this is true

Primetime from 1997 on the Haughey money trail. The bit with Donal Kenny at the end is priceless.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJzkMKd70Kc

I suspect he thinks House of Cards might be true also.

I watched the first two episodes of this over the last couple of days.

A few observations:

• Aidan Gillen is very good as Charlie.
  • It is a bit daft.
  • If you didn’t know your history you would be lost.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1074097, member: 24”]I watched the first two episodes of this over the last couple of days.

A few observations:

• Aidan Gillen is very good as Charlie.
  • It is a bit daft.
  • If you didn’t know your history you would be lost.[/QUOTE]

that’s it in a nutshell

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1074097, member: 24”]I watched the first two episodes of this over the last couple of days.

• It is a bit daft.

Do you think that might be purposely hammed up. Just to show how farcical things were at the time?

Apart from Des O’Malley swinging a sword around Leinster House.

That was based on a true story as well though. It just wasn’t Dessie

I don’t think a lot of thought would have gone into trying mirror the farcical nature of the show with the farcical time.

I think it is much too amateurish of a production.

If you weren’t Irish, you would laugh at how poor it is. A well acted lead character but clichéd shite around it.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1074170, member: 24”]I don’t think a lot of thought would have gone into trying mirror the farcical nature of the show with the farcical time.

I think it is much too amateurish of a production.

If you weren’t Irish, you would laugh at how poor it is. A well acted lead character but clichéd shite around it.[/QUOTE]

What do you mean by cliched?

They really play up the Keane element. The troubled mistress wanting more from the relationship than just riding. Also the character of Mara being his muse. The spineless Lenihan and Bertie. The gombeen Doherty with the pint of Guinness in his hand.

What was that Donogh O’Malley fathering Keane’s baby shite?

Who was your man trying to get out of the office ? Cowen ?

Not watching, but sounds like the Don Lydon story.

Who was the junior minister he appointed after firing Reynolds and Flynn?

Cowen ?

Patrick the pipe bomb maker.

Nearly all the Love/Hate lads getting a run out.

"I have done the state some service "…

Very disappointing final episode

Now what have RTE to offer of the Sunday night entertainment variety ?