Cheltenham 2012

Heading to the Café en Seine one tomo so won’t make leopardstown

Good panel there tonight though

Won’t be there but it’s a great preview. Will post up notes if I come across them online. BF forum and Boards usually good for them.

[quote=“dancarter, post: 650760”]Anyone heading to the Leop preview night tonight? Russell, Tom Segal and Willie Mullins on the panel

Looks decent[/quote]

The Leop? FFS Dan you’re as bad as MBB now and his games at the 'nell.

It’s widely known as Leop for the purposes of typing you galoot.

Gold Cup Day now sold out for any of you going who don’t have tickets for it. 65,000 tickets sold.

[quote=“Mac, post: 650764”]

Gold Cup Day now sold out for any of you going who don’t have tickets for it. 65,000 tickets sold.[/quote]

Oh sorry I had forgotten how mongish Ye inbred horsey crowd were , continue on.

[quote=“Mac, post: 650764”]

Gold Cup Day now sold out for any of you going who don’t have tickets for it. 65,000 tickets sold.[/quote]
It’ll be some craic trying to get a pint. Anyone else going GC day?

I’m going to embark on some form of €0.50 e/w Lucky 15 for the festival on 4 horses priced 20/1 or greater and would like to get forumites thoughts.

The first horse I’ve identified is Distant Memories at 50/1 in the Supreme. Was 3rd behind Midnight Game lto but made a complete hash of the last 2 hurdles. Strikes me as a horse who will act much better on the better ground and run a big race at a massive price. That leaves me looking for 3 others as the 6 day entries close over the next couple of days. The floor is open so all suggestions welcome here.

vino griego - novice handicap day 1
Cotton mill - neptune
gauvain- champion chase

Opinions on Distant Memories fenway beyond ‘can’t have him’?!

rated 100+ on flat so has more ability than most in race. Impressive in weak race first time out but disappointing last time in better race.

Better ground will help but lack of experience a concern.

Ebayzian had similar profile prior to winning supreme. In what appears an open renewal it looks a fair shout at price.

I’ve also come to the conclusion that Sizing Europes biggest opposition will come from Somersby if he runs in the CC. He was roughly 12 lengths behind last year but with the headgear I’m estimating he’s making up between 0.5L to 1L per fence and looks much more appealing at a double digit price. Finians Rainbow will shit himself again and while I love Big Zeb I think he’s had his day in the sun but should still be placed.

He’s made a hash of the 2nd last and last in his only 2 races so you would have to imagine that he’s better than what he’s shown. Not sure I’d trust the trainer to get that out of him though.

will run ryanair id say. Looks poor race outside sizing. Gauvain has run well this year and has run well at track. Could see him running into place at a decent price.

sommersby is racing equivalent of the limerick hurlers

What are people’s opinion of Burton Point for the GC. Think he could well be in the shake up. May well be a very solid betting w/o favourite bet

get NRNB on:

Kalahari King in the Ryan Air
Dare Me Coral Cup
JLT Mossley
Lambro RSA

finished ahead of long run in his RSA, obvious liking for track,but as fp pointed out above, i you like him, you really should be looking at diamond harry at the price

He pipped Long Run on the line by battling on when Long Run was being eased down. No value in his price at the moment as there’s a huge danger he’ll bounce. He’d strike me as a great Grand National horse but don’t know if he’d carry top weight around. Hemmings would never run him against Ballabriggs anyway I assume.

Long Run gave him 10lbs and a beating last time, how could he possibly turn that around?

Anyone hear anything about Jetson? been chipping away at him at 20s and downwards, have any bulletins been posted from Harrington’s yard?

Another one that has my eye is Idarah in the Grand Annual if he gets in. Would have liked more than the 20/1 currently available though. If he gets into this it’ll be off a complete featherweight.