Chorus vs Sky vs Freeview

Going getting channels into the house.
A few questions some of ye learned people might be able to answer

Sky vs Chorus on channels, price, contract etc. Anyone had both? Recommend one over the other?

Going buying a tv with a freeview box built in. What channels would a fella get? Is it just a pile of shit channels or what?

[quote=“Julio Geordio”]Going getting channels into the house.
A few questions some of ye learned people might be able to answer

Sky vs Chorus on channels, price, contract etc. Anyone had both? Recommend one over the other?

Going buying a tv with a freeview box built in. What channels would a fella get? Is it just a pile of shit channels or what?[/quote]

People on here know more about Freeview than I do but we’re on a different digital platform to the UK so a freeview tv for the UK won’t pick up Irish digital broadcasts when they go live - from what I understand it’s just cable at the moment.

If you live near the 6 counties or near Welsh coast you may pick up some of their channels with a digital receiver on the tv but don’t know how likely that is.

I have UPC (NTL/Chorus) and used to have Sky. Prefer UPC because of the lack of the dish and because there’s genuinely far too many channels on Sky in my opinion which makes flicking an absolute chore. Plus their broadband is superb so that’s a big influence for me. Ultimately any channel you’re interested in should be available on UPC but you will miss out on:

• red button services (if you use them, not many do)
  • Sky Sport and Movies HD for now anyway (there is ESPN HD on UPC but no Sky material over HD) Again only relevant if you’d consider paying extra for it on either platform.

The upgrade of the UPC network isn’t universal though and there are areas with shite coverage. If you’re on the modern network with the recorder box available it’s one thing, if you’re stuck with shitty Chorus on an old box with no prospect of improvement then I’d reckon sky is better.

[quote=“Rocko”]People on here know more about Freeview than I do but we’re on a different digital platform to the UK so a freeview tv for the UK won’t pick up Irish digital broadcasts when they go live - from what I understand it’s just cable at the moment.

If you live near the 6 counties or near Welsh coast you may pick up some of their channels with a digital receiver on the tv but don’t know how likely that is.

I have UPC (NTL/Chorus) and used to have Sky. Prefer UPC because of the lack of the dish and because there’s genuinely far too many channels on Sky in my opinion which makes flicking an absolute chore. Plus their broadband is superb so that’s a big influence for me. Ultimately any channel you’re interested in should be available on UPC but you will miss out on:

• red button services (if you use them, not many do)
  • Sky Sport and Movies HD for now anyway (there is ESPN HD on UPC but no Sky material over HD) Again only relevant if you’d consider paying extra for it on either platform.

The upgrade of the UPC network isn’t universal though and there are areas with shite coverage. If you’re on the modern network with the recorder box available it’s one thing, if you’re stuck with shitty Chorus on an old box with no prospect of improvement then I’d reckon sky is better.[/quote]

Cheers Rocko.
I’m in Dublin so should be alright for connection, was looking at the broadband combo alright. Does it hit the speeds it says it will often?

What channels do you get?

[quote=“Julio Geordio”]Cheers Rocko.
I’m in Dublin so should be alright for connection, was looking at the broadband combo alright. Does it hit the speeds it says it will often?

What channels do you get?[/quote]

Yeah it’s more reliable for speed than standard telephone IMO. Think it’s got a very good reputation for the broadband side of things and mine flies along (20Mb connection though). Just ran a speedtest there and gor 18.8Mbps download and 1.45Mbps upload. That’s all I’d ever need but it is a top package.

I have a sports package so channels are:

Basic Irish
3E
City Channel

Basic UK (no 5ive)

Sky 1
More 4
E4
Dave
+1s for those
a few more like Living and shit like that which I never watch

MTV and a load of MTV clones

BBC News24
CNN
some other newsy channels

Comedy
Comedy 2

Setanta
Eursport

then as premium I have
Sky Sports 1, 2, 3, Extra
Sky Sports News (not sure if that’s extra)

sure I’ve left lots out.

Do you have the fancy new box rocko? Been thinking of upgrading for a while now, just havent got around to doing it yet.

Do the dodgy boxes still work on Chorus?

[quote=“Rocko”]Yeah it’s more reliable for speed than standard telephone IMO. Think it’s got a very good reputation for the broadband side of things and mine flies along (20Mb connection though). Just ran a speedtest there and gor 18.8Mbps download and 1.45Mbps upload. That’s all I’d ever need but it is a top package.

I have a sports package so channels are:

Basic Irish
3E
City Channel

Basic UK (no 5ive)

Sky 1
More 4
E4
Dave
+1s for those
a few more like Living and shit like that which I never watch

MTV and a load of MTV clones

BBC News24
CNN
some other newsy channels

Comedy
Comedy 2

Setanta
Eursport

then as premium I have
Sky Sports 1, 2, 3, Extra
Sky Sports News (not sure if that’s extra)

sure I’ve left lots out.[/quote]

How much does that cost Rocko if you don’t mind me asking.
Would you need 20mb’s Rocko? Seems a bit of overkill for me all I’d ever need speed for is streaming. 10 would be more than nough for that?

UPC offering ESPN for €10 a month for those with SKY Sports, anyone think its worth it?

What have ESPN got apart from the American Sports?

Few EPL games, nothing else I’d say. Most liekly not worth it, can stream anything I need I guess.

BTW, anyone know what cables are needed to link lapper to TV?

[quote=“myboyblue”]Few EPL games, nothing else I’d say. Most liekly not worth it, can stream anything I need I guess.

BTW, anyone know what cables are needed to link lapper to TV?[/quote]

http://www.cable-trader.co.uk/computer_to_tv_finder.php

Find your matching connection here and they’ll show your options

I can’t remember the specifics but there was an offer at the time for free multiroom or free DVR or something for a time so took it. I do a fair bit of webbery so like the speed of it and it’s a comfort to know that streaming problems aren’t getting caused at my end.

Each month I pay 33 for the digital TV, 30 for sports, 5 for the DVR and 2 for the multirooms. Broadband is 42. So it’s 110 odd euro (dear enough now that I add it all up)!

MBB - I’ve a DVR box, the equivalent non DVR box, and a couple of the older boxes. I’ve two digiboxes for every person who lives here. A bit of overkill you might say but I like being wired to the max. I don’t have the new HD box though.

Runt - think the dodgy boxes are fucked now. There’ll be a new version of them I expect though.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Few EPL games, nothing else I’d say. Most liekly not worth it, can stream anything I need I guess.

BTW, anyone know what cables are needed to link lapper to TV?[/quote]

Def not worth the tenner for ESPN. You dont even get ESPN classic. Fook all on it that interests me bar top 14 rugby.

Would back up rocko on UPC. Extra fiver a month and you get the recorder as well same as sky plus.

I do miss the red button though for the rugby as there is often v good HEC games on it

EPL, SPL, Bundesliga, Eredivisie, Ligue Un, Serie A, Russian League

[quote=“Julio Geordio”]http://www.cable-trader.co.uk/computer_to_tv_finder.php

Find your matching connection here and they’ll show your options[/quote]

:thumbsup:

[quote=“dancarter”]Def not worth the tenner for ESPN. You dont even get ESPN classic. Fook all on it that interests me bar top 14 rugby.

Would back up rocko on UPC. Extra fiver a month and you get the recorder as well same as sky plus.

I do miss the red button though for the rugby as there is often v good HEC games on it[/quote]

Yea the Top 14, thats what I’d want it for, but not worth it. Will look into the cable for the lapper, have a serious BB connection, highest one UPC have so that should do me.

No worries.

Cheers for that lads was leaning towards the chorus but I think ye’ve made my mind up on it. Might get the broadband aswell.

The internet is a great place :smiley:

Am being told to get the VGA Male to Male, but says that will only work video and would need to do the sound differently. Would only be using it for sport as I have a HD with torrents for movies and TV, would I be able to get away with sound through the lapper or should I look into a cable for the audio also?

You should be able to get a separate audio out but if it’s just sports then speakers in the laptop should suffice.

Spose it would depend how loud your laptop is. My mate has speakers which he just puts beside the TV when hes watching stuff through it and its perfect.

Julio doesn’t like the sound from the laptop coming from a different angle than the tv. It confuses him