Yea I figured that might do the job alright, cheers so.
[quote=âJulio Geordioâ]Spose it would depend how loud your laptop is. My mate has speakers which he just puts beside the TV when hes watching stuff through it and its perfect.
Julio doesnât like the sound from the laptop coming from a different angle than the tv. It confuses him[/quote]
While weâre at it lads anyone recommend a place to pick a TV for cheap enough. Donât need it massive 21" would do like. Would like a flat screen though. Iâm fancy like that
Find your matching connection here and theyâll show your options[/quote]
Bought the cable, have it set up from laptop to TV, but is there anything else I need to do? Have scrolled through all channels and canât find it? Anyone know what Iâm doing wrong?
Currently with Eircom for broadband and phone and Sky digital for TV but am probably going to switch to the three in one package from UPC. Gaining ESPN and having Setanta Ireland on the digital platform as opposed to a shitty signal out of the wall is a bonus but then you lose Fox News and the red button on the downside.
Does UPC broadband have a download limit and does streaming matches count as a download? If so how many gigabytes does that use up? Is it much hassle to get the multi-room thing set up say for an upstairs bedroom? Do they have to dig the floorboards up or what?
Feedback elsewhere doesnât seem to be overly positive about UPC digital service. Iâm not overly impressed with their website either, some of the information is quite vague. Can you record stuff like Sky Plus does and if so what kind of capacity is there ie what is the total number of hours storage? Is there (George Hook voice) laaaaaive pause? Hook is the main reason Iâd like to move away from Sky although from what I have seen Sky definitely offer a superior digital service. I think I am prepared to forego that however, as long a it saves money.
Word of caution at the start: I hate Sky for whatever reason and am a firm advocate of UPC>
To answer the questions:
The red button is a small loss. Thereâs been talk about getting it for ages but not sure if itâs realistic or not. It probably would account for 0.1% of my viewing if I had Sky but itâs a loss nonethelss. I think ESPN and Setanta Ireland is a far bigger bonus than the red button.
They have a fiar use policy. I would describe myself as a heavy intenet user. Lots of matches streaming and lots of downloads. Iâd stream maybe 2 or 3 matches at weekends, download a few movies (legally obviously) and tv episodes. Theyâve never been in contact. They were also the biggest resistors to the IRMA proposed 3 strikes policy. Theyâre more liberal than eircom anyway.
I have multiroom installed. No hassle in the installation but I wasnât there when they did it. My gaff was already rewired with coaxial in every room so he only needed to put in decoders. Itâs contractors who do it (same as Sky) so youâll probably get a variety of work standards but multiroom should be painless usually.
You can get UPC + and it is the same as Skyâs service in all material aspects. Live pause works. Recording works. Series link works (i.e. when you record an episode of something you have the option of recording just that episode or all episodes in the series). The last one wasnât available at the start and was definitely a disadvantage to Sky but thatâs been on UPC for a year or so Iâd say now and it works perfectly.
Not sure on exact hours of capacity but itâs probably similar to Sky. Certainly room for multiple movies, matches and tv series but as time passes you do need to delete some stuff.
There was also one other small disadvantage back in the day I think. With UPCâs DVR service you can record one thing and watch another but maybe not record two things at the same time or record two and watch a third. One of those things anyway and I believe you can with Sky. Might be wrong on that. Itâs not an issue for me anyway. Recording one show and watching another is plenty for me, wouldnât expect to record two things simultaneously.
Is it stupid to continue to receive an analogue signal if you have digital? Weâre paying âŹ380 a year to UPC for the priveilege. Only have one digital equipped TV at the moment (itâs a Sky box that is 10 years old and doesnât have Sky plus features or anything) and one traditional TV I plug into a box coming from the wall which picks up the analogue signal ie RTE, BBC, UTV etc. If you have multi-room digital I presume the normal analogue cable signal can be cut off and thus save the âŹ380?
You get a cable coming into your house. That gets connected to points in various rooms. Wherever you put a digibox and a digital point you will have digital tv. You will also have analogue at those locations (though analogue will be shut off in time). If you have a location where you currently get analogue and itâs still connected you wonât lose the analogue.
So if you want âmultiroomâ but donât need digital in one of the rooms then you donât tell UPC. Theyâll give you digital where you pay for it and where you donât want digital any analogue signal you had will be retained. You wonât be paying separately for it though.
In your example above you will still have the RTE, BBC, UTV tv but you wonât be paying for it separately - what you pay for the digital connection (presumably going to the tv with the Skybox) will cover it.
I have Chorus because it was already installed in the house. Tis grand.
few problems with it imo.
The pause, rewind, record etc isnât as sleek as skys. If for example your rewinding it and you hit pause, the screen shot it shows you wonât be the exact point it starts from if you know what I mean. Only a few seconds either way but can be very frustrating if your trying to catch some moment in particular.
The functionality isnât as good either pulling up menuâs and stuff like that is a lot slower.
It does this thing aswell when your flicking through channels which drives me spastic. If your pressing the down button on a sky mote flicking through the channels once you take your finger off it stops going down straight away. On chorus itâll go down as many times as youâve pressed the button which generally means youâve gone past it and have to go back.
You get E4 but no E4+1, same with Film 4. Sky seem to have more channels but Iâm not sure really because weâve a better package in the home place where as Iâve just the pure basic now.
Its the simple things.
Getting it setup was grand and Iâve never really had a problem that needed customer service. I think to get the multiroom theyâll have to run a line to bedroom from the entry point so depending on how your gaff is setup they might need to make a few holes or run it up the skirting or something.
I thought NTL and Chorus would be aligned by now but evidently not. I certainly have Film4+1 and 99% sure I have E4+1 too.
One advantage that the UPC interface has over Sky is the back button I think. Maybe Iâm inept but on Sky Iâve never been able to find a âchange back to the last channel you were watchingâ button. That exists on UPC and I use it an awful lot to flick between two matches rather than keying everything in again. It may well be on Sky (because I only use Sky in other peopleâs houses) but I canât find it.