How did he rise to such a lofty position? Who appointed him? What is his salary? (as the GAA are paying his salary it should be in the public domain) What is his GAA backround? Who ultimately calls the shots - him, Padraic Duffy (another company man, the smug cunt) or Liam OâNeill?
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 837259, member: 1552â]Cooney was a disaster as President and the GAA has slowly descended into a nanny state type institution since his reign.
The fence on Hill 16
Banning pitch invasions
Tacky post match All-Ireland celebrations
Banning the winning minor captain from saying a few words.
Had hoped OâNeill would come in and restore some common sense to the position but he is merely another company man. For a lot of young kids going to matches these days, getting onto the pitch at half time and having a puck around with their dad, grandfather, brother or friends is the highlight of their night.
Would be ridiculous to ban it across the board but then again all these committees and their delegates have expense claims that need funding. Iâve never seen anyone killed or hurt after a post match pitch invasion despite the scaremongering. Likewise Iâve never seen anyone hurt during any half hearted puck around or kick about.
Bring back Sean Kelly or even Jack Boothman to fuck, not perfect but at least they seemed to have a genuine passion for the game and were not intent on sterilising the GAA into a dull, bland organisation. Hector the star of the entertainment show on the day of the hurling semi final was the last straw for me. Fuck off to rugby football for that tacky shite.[/quote]
You reckon the president has that much influence? Iâve seen lads get split open in half hearted puck arounds.
Itâs the cunts making the claims Iâd take issue with. People are utter cunts at the end of the day. If you let your kids out on the pitch thereâs a chance theyâll get a clatter. Get over it.
[quote=âAppendage, post: 837276, member: 11â]You reckon the president has that much influence? Iâve seen lads get split open in half hearted puck arounds.
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 837270, member: 1552â]Whatâs the story with Peter McKenna?
How did he rise to such a lofty position? Who appointed him? What is his salary? (as the GAA are paying his salary it should be in the public domain) What is his GAA backround? Who ultimately calls the shots - him, Padraic Duffy (another company man, the smug cunt) or Liam OâNeill?[/quote]
Reason? That stupid fucking fence. You canât see through it properly, so nobody wants to go down near the front. That results in a crush at the entrances as everybody wants to go up rather than down the steps and a crush on the walkways results. The entrances are chaos as people mass around them and latecomers try to pile in. Then you have some people trying to get out to go to a different entrance to see of if they can get a better vantage point, and then finding the situation is as bad at the other entrances. The Hill is divided into A and B sections which are fenced off with a gate. The A section is always more crowded. The obvious solution is to open the gate to allow some of the crowd into the less full B section, but the hired goons wonât allow that. Fools.
[quote=âSidney, post: 837341, member: 183â]It was very uncomfortable on the Hill on Sunday.
Reason? That stupid fucking fence. You canât see through it properly, so nobody wants to go down near the front. That results in a crush at the entrances as everybody wants to go up rather than down the steps and a crush on the walkways results. The entrances are chaos as people mass around them and latecomers try to pile in. Then you have some people trying to get out to go to a different entrance to see of if they can get a better vantage point, and then finding the situation is as bad at the other entrances. The Hill is divided into A and B sections which are fenced off with a gate. The A section is always more crowded. The obvious solution is to open the gate to allow some of the crowd into the less full B section, but the hired goons wonât allow that. Fools.[/quote]
Iâm convinced there are people paying cash to get into the hill. Appeared full at end of minor match the last day and that was before the Dubs arrived! Was also completely jammed 45 mins before throw in of hurling. Stewards stopping people going past 1/3rd of way up
Iâd be very surprised if that was happening, to be honest. There are too many barriers to get through. I had to my show my ticket four times on Sunday - at the top of Clonliffe Road, at the entrance to St. Josephâs Avenue which leads onto the Hill, then I had had to have it scanned, before showing it at the turnstile again.
For the Dublin-Cork NFL match back in in February, I was getting a bus in from Dunshaughlin but missed the one I was supposed to get, meaning I had to wait half an hour for the next one. I hadnât bothered to buy a ticket in advance and by the time I got to the ticket office in Dorset Street it was closed. I headed down to the stadium anyway thinking I would probably be able to blag my way in. By the time I got down to the stadium it was almost half-time. The stewards outside the Hill had no tickets left so I asked if I could pay cash instead and was firmly told ânoâ.
I decided to head around to the Cusack and was told the same thing, before asking at the Hill again and once again being refused. So I had to watch the second half in the handball alley.
If you canât blag your way in for a league match in February Iâd be astonished if it happened at an All-Ireland.
It would actually be easier to blag your way into the stands.
[quote=âBandage, post: 837260, member: 9â]Did you see those Clare animals
encroaching onto the pitch in Thurles during injury time of the Under 21 final? The players didnât even get a moment to savour victory with their team-mates before they were swamped by a sea of inbreds. The ban on pitch invasions needs to be rolled out to provincial grounds too.[/quote]
Being swamped under a sea of inbreds is a good night out in many parts of the country.
spot on Julio. Its small beans for the fun kids get out of a puck around at half time in places like Parnell Park and Wexford Park plus the promotional value of such fun. These are two venues where such puck, kick arounds are commonplace.
[quote=âdodgy-keeper, post: 837259, member: 1552â]Cooney was a disaster as President and the GAA has slowly descended into a nanny state type institution since his reign.
The fence on Hill 16
Banning pitch invasions
Tacky post match All-Ireland celebrations
Banning the winning minor captain from saying a few words.
Had hoped OâNeill would come in and restore some common sense to the position but he is merely another company man. For a lot of young kids going to matches these days, getting onto the pitch at half time and having a puck around with their dad, grandfather, brother or friends is the highlight of their night.
Would be ridiculous to ban it across the board but then again all these committees and their delegates have expense claims that need funding. Iâve never seen anyone killed or hurt after a post match pitch invasion despite the scaremongering. Likewise Iâve never seen anyone hurt during any half hearted puck around or kick about.
Bring back Sean Kelly or even Jack Boothman to fuck, not perfect but at least they seemed to have a genuine passion for the game and were not intent on sterilising the GAA into a dull, bland organisation. Hector the star of the entertainment show on the day of the hurling semi final was the last straw for me. Fuck off to rugby football for that tacky shite.[/quote]
dodgy - if you thought Hector was bad at the semi well count yourself lucky that you didnât have to sit through his jack assery at the hurling final. People were happy to watch the baby deise on their lap of honour and applaud them and then Hector upstaged them half way through blaring some form of not even funny jack assery out of the microphone
I know a lad who blagged his way in at half time last Sunday. Well, when I say blagged, he approached a steward who was smoking a cigarette at the entrance and yer man let him in and showed him to a seat which had been vacated by a Tyrone minor supporter.
[quote=âSidney, post: 837341, member: 183â]It was very uncomfortable on the Hill on Sunday.
Reason? That stupid fucking fence. You canât see through it properly, so nobody wants to go down near the front. That results in a crush at the entrances as everybody wants to go up rather than down the steps and a crush on the walkways results. The entrances are chaos as people mass around them and latecomers try to pile in. Then you have some people trying to get out to go to a different entrance to see of if they can get a better vantage point, and then finding the situation is as bad at the other entrances. The Hill is divided into A and B sections which are fenced off with a gate. The A section is always more crowded. The obvious solution is to open the gate to allow some of the crowd into the less full B section, but the hired goons wonât allow that. Fools.[/quote]
Thatâs unfortunate, but the alternative is a mass slaughter of grannies in a post-match stampede. Thatâs a scientific fact.
[quote=âSidney, post: 837353, member: 183â]Iâd be very surprised if that was happening, to be honest. There are too many barriers to get through. I had to my show my ticket four times on Sunday - at the top of Clonliffe Road, at the entrance to St. Josephâs Avenue which leads onto the Hill, then I had had to have it scanned, before showing it at the turnstile again.
[B]For the Dublin-Cork NFL match back in in February, I was getting a bus in from Dunshaughlin but missed the one I was supposed to get, meaning I had to wait half an hour for the next one. I hadnât bothered to buy a ticket in advance and by the time I got to the ticket office in Dorset Street it was closed. I headed down to the stadium anyway thinking I would probably be able to blag my way in. By the time I got down to the stadium it was almost half-time. The stewards outside the Hill had no tickets left so I asked if I could pay cash instead and was firmly told ânoâ.
I decided to head around to the Cusack and was told the same thing, before asking at the Hill again and once again being refused. So I had to watch the second half in the handball alley.
If you canât blag your way in for a league match in February Iâd be astonished if it happened at an All-Ireland.
It would actually be easier to blag your way into the stands[/B].[/quote]