Cill Chainnigh v Tiobraid Árann - 2010 All Ireland Hurling Final

Eh, your the tard, only thing that matters is the person who plays the ball. Also it came back off a Offaly player, its open season then.

Sick to the knacker ball, less rules, easier to understand.

think it came back off the crossbar actually

are you trying to tell me that if you are standing inside the square when the ball comes in that it isnt a square ball?

It did hit the crossbar alright. Afaik it doesn’t matter if you play the ball or not either. I never thought it was a square ball though. I always thought Cyril Lyons turned on the edge of the square as the ball drifted in.

Ta mate…

He definitely saw him and surrounded by 4 KK backs at the time, to change the direction of play, send a pass like that, perfectly weighted for a great run from Lar was sublime. It was intelligent, gifted play at its best. Absolutely brilliant to watch. And then 2 minutes later he makes a 50 yard run to score the third.

He’s a special talent Noel McGrath, he’d be ahead of Richie or Joe Canning IMHO. He adds more to Tipp than the other two do for their counties, he sets things up and provides Tipp with options. What he does is actually very similar to Marty Clarke with Down, drifting in from the full forward line, facing his own goal to take a pass, or do a 1-2 with someone under pressure. He gives them time and space, and then when he thinks its good to go, he scores some beautiful points himself.

It helps of course when he has a player like Lar Corbett always making runs into space.

Tennyson throwing the hurl was despicable behaviour and not befitting a Kilkenny hurler, but hardly the end of the world. It smacked of panic though, and a realisation that the game was steadily going out of their reach.

There was a noticable increase in the intensity of the Tipp tackling this time, they out Kilkenny’d Kilkenny at their own game, double and triple ganging up on KK players in possession all the time. Fair play to them, deserving champions.

The few replays I saw on Monday morning showed him inside. Would have been a pretty tight call regardless. If Offaly were to blame anyone it should have been their keeper letting the ball bounce of a crossbar is a cardinal sin he should have batted it clear. Did Hughes ever play again actually? The Clare minor keeper got away with one similar the last day. Of course it doesnt matter if you play the ball or not. You would think a referee (Kev) would know the rules though… he is probably is a ‘knacker ball’ referee now that I think about, Must be handball he is on about, less rules in it too so it makes sense.

Were you and Puke not running down oul Lar a year or so ago? :unsure:

Re the sly dig somewhere above about referees from smaller counties, one only has to remember that Diarmuid Kirwan is attached to Cork and Seamus Roche to Tipperary, to realise that the level of controversy generated by a referee is directly proportional to the size of the county he represents - that’s why Aodhan MacSuibhne was retired from the whistle, and there has never been a Dublin referee since.

Regarding Wadding’s performance the paper of record, the Irish Times, records that there were only 21 frees 13 to Tipp and 8 to Kilkenny. A very low total and not the work of a whistle happy ref. However on the same page the Times records that Richie Power scored 8 points from frees, and Shefflin scored one. And I distinctly remember Kilkenny missing 5 scoreable frees. So what gives. Well the Indo records that the free total was 31 - which seems more like it, 19 to Kilkenny and 12 to Tipp. That would suggest that not alone was Wadding more whistle happy than you would imagine reading the Irish Times, but that Tipp inverted the free count from last year (which I think was 19-9 in their favour) which in turn suggests that they did really increase the physicality and intensity on last year. Increased physicality and intensity inevitably means more frees. And it suggests that KK’s intensity had dropped off a bit too. At least two of Tipp’s frees were for throws and one of Kilkenny’s was so the real tally of “physical” frees was more like 17-11 to Kilkenny, still a big turn around from last year.

A couple of other points on the frees. Tipp scored 8 of their twelve and three more were lobbed in around the house by Cummins and I think goals came from two of these. They were reallky efficient with any free from 50 yards out from their goal on. Kilkenny onb the other hand missed 5 scoreable frees. All at key points in the game - ie not in trash time. Four in the first half. It would have been a vastly different game if these scores ahd gone over and Tipp had gone in 3 points behind, or if all five had been scored and the teams were level going down the home stretch.

In a short spell, with about 5 minutes to go and only 4 points in the game, Kilkenny missed 3 very scoreable chances.
They made a lot of un-kilkenny like mistakes during the course of the granted, some were due to the intensity of Tipperarys tackling but others just seemed downright sloppy.

Good point Runt. Two years ago after the Waterford final, Cody dismissed as “stupid talk” the idea that if Waterford could have stayed in the game to the end, querstions might be asked of Kilkenny that they couldn’t answer, because they had no experience of closing out tight games. But the doubt remained. In their 20 game run they had only played one game that had a remotely close finish and in that one they got a very large helping hand indeed.

So when it came down the home straight on Sunday they had no experience in the way that Tipp have this year, or Waterford have had for a couple of years, of doing the right thing and chipping away the points and seeing what happens. Of course it should be said that in that scenario having Shefflin as a go to man to stick the ball over the bar would have been invaluable and he was indeed a very big loss to them.

No, if you are in the square before the ball its a free out, coming off the crossbar means its in open play and anyone can go in and play it. Thats what happened in this instance.

When the ball deflects from defending team or a post then anyone can be in the square, thats what i’m saying.

Anyway, KIB, anyone trying to devalue their own counties most famous goal is a complete idiot.

[quote=“Fagan O, post: 506247”]

Fagan, it was me who said that. I was hoping to rile up one poster here. Anyway, it wasn’t the amount of frees for me was the problem, in fact if he was being consistent he should have given more, especially for the handpass, or lack of from both teams. I felt he was very much given KK the benefit of the doubt on bunching and travelling. I think its in Refs heads that KK put teams under so much pressure that it must be the guy with the ball over carrying, but in fact they foul usually on the 2nd impact (2nd guy in usually). Not giving Tyrell a card was a joke, and a cop out.

He wasn’t a disaster, and did improve as the game went on, but he was caught out by the pace at the start.

In the cold light of day and with hindsight I thought he was grand. I reallly feared for him before hand but I thought he did an acceptable job. He was a bit lucky because there were no obviously huge calls like a sending off or a penalty to bottle/ get wrong but as Some ome who was as a neutral for Tipp I couldn’t say that he did them in any way

[quote=“Fagan O, post: 506253”]

For first 15-20 he kept KK in it IMO. After that he improved steadily.

Its hard to blame any ref for struggling to stay with that pace though at the start.

I thought I was flustered over him not getting a yellow for it, I don’t recall it being a red card offence. Infact I remember a current Sunday Game panelist throwing his hurl at an opponent one day, pre 2009 and he only got a yellow card. Depends on the ref, that’s a gas comment.

Is Fagan O’Dowd the lad that does those silly statistics with good play points or whatever the f*ck they are.

Skippy’s is the only thrown hurl incident that I’ve seen work. Hooked Hayes lovely so he did.

No Appendage

[quote=“Fagan O, post: 506247”]

One article in the examiner had it at 15 for Kilkenny to 16 for Tipp, another at 17 for Kilkenny - 14 for Tipp. The latter states that Kilkenny had 15 scoreable frees of which 10 were scored - Tipperary 9 scoreable frees of which 8 were scored.

I was dreading Wadding myself but thought he did ok in the end. Thought he was a bit harsh on Tipp at times but the free count more reflects the playing styles of both teams. Kilkenny were constantly looking to take on the man and run at Tipp, whereas Tipp’s support game meant they were probably trying to break less tackles over the course of the game.

As was suggested earlier it was fortunate that he didn’t have any crucial decisions to make, which reminds me, should the penalty have been given in the minor game? Looked to be outside the square at the time.

Another interesting stat in the examiner was the puckout and scoring breakdown. Kilkenny qon 68 percent of the puckouts, beating Tipp 7-1 on clean catches and 25-15 on broken ball. Incredible stat for a team beaten by eight points.