When all is said and done these last two All Irelands were better games than any of the Cork Waterford clashes of the noughties
The final has been the making of the last two championships. Last year was dire but the final was one of the best games in living memory. This year was better, with a good spread of exciting and competitive games and again a great final. The semi-finals were shocking but up to that there had been a few crackers. Quality wasn’t always the greatest, but given how poor last year was competitiveness is progress.
Callinans 2nd point after coming on was pure class as well. He got a lot of stick over the year (most of it justified) but still ended up producing vital scores.
Also, I thought I posted this already, I noticed a couple of times Paudric Maher came down the sideline but seemed very afraid to hit the ball off his left side, ended up losing the ball twice by trying to strike it on his right when it clearly wasn’t on.
Numbers say Tipp will win it again next year. They’ve only lost one match in a year ending in 1 in the last 70 years.
1941: Munster Champions, unbeaten in the championship - not allowed compete for the All-Ireland due to foot and mouth disease outbreak in Tipp
All-Ireland Champions 1951, 1961, 1971, 1991, 2001
Kilkenny have won the last four times in years ending in 2 and the last three times in years ending in 3.
I’d totally agree, any games that make Pa Cronin look like a half way decent IC hurler can’t be within an arses roar of the last 2 finals.
Thanks Lockey Boy, I will need another day or 2 to sober up, compose myself and write to you all about the past weekend, but 1 of the highlights was Kilkenny’s supporter’s grace in defeat.
I am also slightly miffed. Peeved even. Though seething would be pushing it.
Apart the sloppy goal conceded afte HT v Galway, Curran was very good in that game. Canning scoreless from play. He was awesome against Waterford, brilliant in final. Nailed on All Star.
JJ was very good. Best no 7 I’ve ever seen, 1 of my favourite hurlers. But he clearly wasn’t motm. I thought it was Padraig Maher, an absolute of a beast of a hurler. Giving it to Lar for his hat trick was okay by me too. Fagan, you need to tidy up your thoughts about last Sunday’s game.
Sid Waddell is an alright sort. Babs is a fat Kunt with a capital K.
Ah come off it. That’s rubbish. The nature of the game was such that he was being dragged all over the place and he just hit Maher because he got the chance. He didn’t think to himself, Brendan Maher is having a stormer so I’ll clock him. Ditto with Kieran Murphy in the semi final. Sometimes people read too much into these things. I forsee John Tyrell being afforded a lot more attention by referees in 2011.
[quote=“mick jones, post: 506289”]
JJ was very good. Best no 7 I’ve ever seen, 1 of my favourite hurlers. But he clearly wasn’t motm. I thought it was Padraig Maher, an absolute of a beast of a hurler. Giving it to Lar for his hat trick was okay by me too. Fagan, you need to tidy up your thoughts about last Sunday’s game.[/quote]
+1 I’m still waiting for an apology for his sneering at my predicting Tipp to score 4-16.
I’d have to have a look at a recording of the match before I’d comment on it.
Unreal atmosphere though…
Axe me bollix
JJ Delaney was mopping up in the first half but his direct opponent Gearoid Ryan was crucial for Tipp in the second half, did a huge amount of donkey work. Padraic Maher had an outstanding second half in particular, started the move that led to the second goal with a backhand stroke Roger Federer would have been proud of. As you say it’s hard not to give Man of the Match to Corbett but I would have given it to Brendan Maher, just about. He’s been superb all year even going back to the Cork match when he was Tipp’s best player. He’s strongly challenging Corbett for Player of the Year for me.
All Stars are a bit of banter and should be left at that. Paul Curran for example, was pretty awful against Cork and was exactly outstanding against Galway either but he’s had a couple of good games and he’s a shoe in.
As will Jackie Tennyson.
That’s a good point re Brendan Maher. A truly outstanding midfielder. I thought he’s been there most consistent player all year including the Cork game. Made a ridiculous mix up between him at Michael Cahill at one stage though, telling Bandage to back Cahill for MOTM v Galway when I meant Maher.
Presume Larry Corbett will get HOTY, particularly as he gave 2 feature interviews to journalists in All Ireland week which is bound to have big effect on the decision that is made. Not that he would’ve been thinking that way but All Stars et al have been dished out for less.
This leaves Brendan Maher stuck with the YHOTY award.
I’d say these interviews and the endorsing of lidl hurleys ahve more to do with the fact that he is out of work rather than looking for HOTY
Would probably be almost more of a soccer fan than a hurling fan due to having played slightly more of it and there being far more of it to watch but the last few pages with lads discussing multiple incidents and the like from Sunday’s match really tell a tale.
You would be very hard pushed to have such a specific fairly interesting discussion about any given soccer match. Just wouldn’t be the same amount of things happening. It would be all fairly general shite about systems etc and the game just doesn’t have the one on one battles and volume of incidents that make hurling.
Often found that even though I love watching top class soccer live or on telly it is nigh on impossible to watch a game again. Even gaelic football is far better for a repeated viewing.