It’s not really its a pretty good indicator to championship form. Galway the only ones really bucking the trend. 5/6 remaining teams made the league q/fs. The 3 worst teams in the league quarter finals were - Limerick, Dublin and offally. All dumped out of the championship before the business end. Only Galway have really bucked league form so far.
Not sure I agree. Ye took Kilkenny apart. Are you saying if you were to meet them tomorrow, the same would happen. Also while ye were absolutely deserving winners tonight, Limerick were so fucking naive tactically it was shameful. A more astute tactician would have had ye sussed a lot earlier. Either way I think ye have been less then convincing this year and to beat Tipp/Galway will need a performance which ye have not delivered for awhile
I think we could beat them particularly in croke park. The second part of your comment is pretty silly. Team A wins by a few points. If team B improved immeasurably and didn’t have as many stupid wides etc they would have won. You could easily say if Clare improved all aspects of their game they’d have won by 25 points and sent out a statement of intent. When Limerick ever looked like getting back into the game Clare upped and picked off the points needed. Clare won a tricky contest in second gear. We’ve plenty to work on and will be underdogs from here on in.
A tricky contest
Yes it was there was a lot of pressure on Clare. They hadn’t won a meaningful championship game in two years and were heavy favourites In a derby game against a written off Limerick.
Limerick were absolutely shite. It’s about as easy a contest as you could get
Can we win tuseday night
Missed a few frees alright, but no way he did on purpose. He’s an excellent free taker off the ground, conditions didn’t suit that today though.
Wasn’t at it but one of the Clare lads said this evening he had a free after coming in to pretty much kill the game and all the Laois lads were telling him to go short. Not Psycho - missed and Clare broke up the field and that was that
But he did it twice against Armagh and it’s his thing. Wouldn’t mind that. If they wanted to go short Kingston who had it in his hands would have done it. He called Gary to kick it.
Sligo next week a chance
Conor McGrath still on panel?
Yea
Clare 1-9 Sligo 0-10 with twenty left - Podge black carded again in the first half
Sounds like a him dinger
1-11 to 0-11 come on Clare.
Gary Brennan Goal got Clare