Clare GAA Thread 🐐

God only knows what the six backs will be come June. McInerney, Dillon and to a lesser extent Patch are all assured their spot while Conor Ryan will also be there but could well be midfield. The other two spots are very much up for grabs, you would hope that two can nail down spots rather than lads making the team due to other lads lack of form like we had last year.

Dunno who else there is in term of new names really, I haven’t seen how Eoin O’Brien has been going, he was warmed up to come on last night but then went back to the bench. The oul lad has seen a few games and says he’s doing alright. I think it’ll be more about what kind of structure they have, corner-backs getting skinned one-on-one or giving away frees has been a recurring feature of defeats in the last couple of years.

Tots hit a smashing point from over on the sideline when the game was tight. He’s a real fan favourite amongst the Clare crowd who were yellering and hollering when he got the ball.

Clare team to play Offaly on Sunday in Cusack Park @2pm is:

1. Pa Kelly
  2. Pat O’Connor
  3. Cian Dillon
  4. Paul Flanagan
  5. Conor Cleary
  6. David McInerney
  7. Conor Ryan
  8. David Reidy
  9. Colm Galvin
  10. Peter Duggan
  11. Colin Ryan
  12. John Conlon
  13. Shane O’Donnell
  14. Darach Honan
  15. Conor McGrath

Decent team.

Should Peter Duggan not be Bobby?

Shows how little you know about hurling. For a lad of 20 in what way is he limited

From what I’ve seen of him, every fella I know from Clare rants and raves about him.

By the way you have his first name wrong in that team??

I wouldn’t go into bullet points on a young lad starting out, but it’s way over the top imo the expectation the Clare public have on his shoulders.

There’s too duggans. Peter is just back from a long lay off. A fine player.

In what way is he limited?

By the way that is Peter Duggan from Clooney/Quin who is starting not Bobby. But continue to bullshit away we are well used to it from you

Thanks @ballboucing

I did’nt know that, but @Big_Dan_Campbell knows what I’m saying.

Alright Jesus christ.

No correlation between the roman catholic thread been popular on here now and your avator switch I’d imagine.

Pure coincidence.

He is far from limited, he is an extremely skillful hurler and an excellent finisher. His performances at under 21 and Fitzgibbon level would have him stand out against most of his peers.
He is young and lacking experience at I/C level which will come in time. Not every lad who plays I/C is to the manner born and he needs time to find his feet at senior, once he gets used to the cut and thrust required there will be little fear of him. Feel free to call him overrated but he is far from a limited hurler

I hear a lot about people giving out about Clare people ranting and raving over Bobby but I have yet to hear the ranting and raving bit myself.

He has put in some big performances at various levels but at every step has taken a couple of games to find his feet properly.
Peter is 6’5, you won’t mistake him for anyone else

Fair response, I was merely pointing out that I’ve been hearing about this young lad for the last 3/4 years from Clare people.

It’s something we’ve been guilty of in Limerick before obviously as well, I just don’t think he has it personally from seeing him play last year in the 21’s munster final, senior Q/F against us when he came on as a sub and the last day in the GG when ye won the Munster League.

Conor McGrath/Conor Ryan with the frees are ye’re marquee forward followed by Tony Kelly and Podge once their fit.

Duggan could well come good, but his very young.

I dont think anyone had noticed that Kelly,McGrath and Podge were good, astute analysis

I should start charging for it.

Decent says he :joy:

This year a clare year