I eagerly await @The Wild Colonial Bhoy review of this.
Shit speech alert. :rolleyes:
I eagerly await @The Wild Colonial Bhoy review of this.
Shit speech alert. :rolleyes:
This speech is destroying what was a great eveningâs viewing.
But seriously well done to Davy and Clare. He did a great job with them.
The hurling this year was outrageous and they won it in its best year I can remember, thatâs a great trial of a relatively small county.
[quote=âcarryharry, post: 838031, member: 1517â]I donât like cheese.
You might try coming out from behind the rating function and exchange with him?[/quote]
I called him on his views on the ref early. Threw up a few ratings mainly during breaks in play. Iâd prefer watch the game than engage in a debate. And no need to antagonise a supporter too much during the game, he wound himself up enough anyway.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 838129, member: 273â]But seriously well done to Davy and Clare. He did a great job with them.
The hurling this year was outrageous and they won it in its best year I can remember, thatâs a great trial of a relatively small county.[/quote]
Well said you nutter
Ah youâd miss the auld Kilkenny razzmatazz all the same.
cyril now talking about kilkenny for some reason. christ almighty.
and as if we hadnât enough pricks to look at, well known meath man and all round arsehole hector is now celebrating with the clare lads.
Fucking hell that was amazeballs!!!
Congrats Clare, well deserved victory.
congratulations to clare.
the skill levels on show, even late in the game, by collins, mcinerney and kelly were exceptional.
great to see a county getting justly rewarded for putting in the hard work at underage.
thereâs a lesson there for the rest of us, thereâs no shortcuts anymore.
[quote=âcaoimhaoin, post: 838013, member: 273â]Says the man who got all the last 3 games of the football completely wrong.
.[/quote]
I´m on dublin since february mateâŚas @Mac noted I took it upon myself all year to dampen the hype around dublinâŚthe full back line is weak, no midfield etc. all the while they lost one game all year !!..
bump⌠@caoimhaoin you can´t argue Cork are a poor out fit âŚClare got 5 goals from play for fuck sakeâŚas cyril farrell said in a 140 minutes hurling cork led clare for 30 secondsâŚ
Well done Clare. I thought Conor McGrath was the best on the field by a distance. Really classy player. OâDonnell an unreal finisher. Shane OâNeill had all sorts of bother with him. McInerney good at full back. Kelly quiet enough but got good scores. Pat OâConner and Bugler good at times on the wings. Galvin wins a serious amount of loose ball around the field.
Conor OâSullivan is a very tidy corner back. I thought Joyce and Murphy were also good for Cork in the backs I donât think Kearney should have been taken off. In the forwards Harnedy was exceptional almost dragging them back into the game by himself. Horgan also good but never seems to get on enough ball
Another great game to be at. The first half was absolutely tremendous stuff, a bit of a dip in the third quarter before a superb finish again. I think Clare only scored one point during a spell that lasted around 25 minutes either side of half time - Cork outscored them 0-9 to 0-1 during that period when they recovered from being 3-9 to 1-7 down to draw level at 3-10 to 1-16 - so to accumulate 5-16 is fair going all things considered.
No surprise that it was the magnificent OâDonnell who scored a crucial point then to edge Clare back in front and to ensure that Cork never held the lead in the game. An absolutely incredible display by him. Bandage Senior informed that Eddie OâBrien (1970) and Colm Sheehan (1966) of Cork scored All Ireland Final hat-tricks - any others in the more recent past? My great pal @chewy louie had alerted me to this young manâs goal getting/poaching nature earlier in the year but they were three brilliant finishes and I really liked the last one in particular - clever play to ensure he couldnât be hooked.
It was interesting to see Cork change their defensive match-ups with Brian Murphy curbing Podge Collinsâ influence and Stephen McDonnell having a fairly decent game on Tony Kelly too (though Kelly did relatively well and scored a few good points). But other Clare attackers stepped up with John Conlon overwhelming William Egan completely, Conor McGrath posing plenty of problems for Conor OâSullivan and then there was OâDonnellâs brilliance.
Clareâs tackling and team pressing from the front was really good again. Combined with their pace and natural hurling talent and flair and itâs a cracking combination. Theyâre some team. But credit to Cork for sticking in there too and coming back at them on numerous occasions. Cronin playing full forward was successful enough overall - he won a lot of frees (one or two maybe a bit dubious?) and Dillon seemed to be uncomfortable enough. Cian McCarthy actually came into the game and was fairly prominent in that spell either side of half time.
Harnedy was also very good again and Horgan was to a certain extent too but OâFarrell was snuffed out by McInerney for the second time and Lehane mixed some great play with some poor misses - one crucial one after catching a puck-out just after OâDonnell had put Clare in front at 3-11 to 1-16. Midfield didnât go great for Cork either and I mentioned Egan at left half back already. In fact, the Clare half forward line won an awful lot of ball in the first half and seemed to dominate on their own puck out. A couple of poor substitute cameos didnât help matters for Cork in the final quarter too.
Overall, the best team over the two games definitely won. Clare are the real deal and good luck to them. Davy Fitzgerald is a national treasure too. Again, it was great to see the players being able to mingle with each other on the pitch at full time without being swamped by a sea of crazed muldoons. Classy stuff by a lot of the Clare players consoling their Cork counterparts and JBM, as usual, came across as a gentleman too.
Lar
Of course.
That has to be the best hurling match I was ever at. Amazing.
Clare replying every single time Cork came back at them over the two matches was incredibly impressive. Cork led for the grand total of two minutes out of 140. Immense character for Clare. This team is an absolute joy.
Holy fuck, hurling. That is all. Congrats to @chewy louie and the Clare boys, also credit to Cork, thats a great bunch of lads, not once did they lie down when they really could and should have at times.
Sport is fucking great.
Some night ahead in Clon
And Clare didnât play with a roving extra defender either.