King Henry of Galway (Part 1) 👑

And the relevance to my post is…

That’s true.

Surely his messed up cork team will beat this tip team

Kev is right. This was personal and the spinelessness reflected by the greater squad is something we’re all to used to seeing on the pitch. Bar a handful Cunningham brought most of the current squad through and within inces of the ultimate prize. Maybe a change was needed but he deserved better treatment and the whole episode leaves a sour taste in the mouth with the senior players, the ringleaders,(and those advising them) looking like nothing less than prima donna cunts.

+100. An all Ireland win in 2016 or they can go fuck themselves. Cunningham wasn’t the one hitting 50 yard frees in front of the posts wide.

Agree rating on both counts.

The players have well and truly backed themselves into a corner. Cunningham’s comments after the Leinster Final were what really piqued my interest in the team this year. Granted, Cork were a fucking shambles but previous Galway efforts would have left them hanging in there 'til the death. The turnout and support for the Semi-Final and Final wasn’t just for the players. A lot of the fans had bought in to the direction he was taking the team. Then we get news that there was a revolt and, surprise surprise, the whole thing fell to pieces in the end.

Yup - backed into a corner now and nothing but a gold Celtic Cross medal next year will do.

I thought he was doing a grand job, bar maybe the two second halves of the finals, but he brought a really good team through last year who looked poised to be competitive again, with a chance at least of hurling into September. My only real thought on this is how little has leaked from inside the camp.
Yhe whole thing was badly handled by the board and maybe the players, but without talking to them, it’s impossible to know what to make of it all. Cody will freely admit to making mistakes early in his IC managing career. He has had a generation to adapt and hone.
I was happy AC was staying on, though frustrated especially at the second half performance this year.
I will not lambast any of the players having said that. They gave all they had last year. Not quite enough, but very close.
They could easily lose to any of the top teams any year. Holding a gold cross gun to their head is pointless. Galway inter club hurling culture has been dysfunctional for the ages and is at the root of this again I suspect, but a lot of these lads were just badly led by an element in the team.

This year’s championship has sod all relevance to next year’s.

I’d bet a considerable amount Clare will give Galway a serious clipping next year if they meet.

You reap what you sow. Cunningham seemed like a good guy who did a good job and was hung out to dry by his players for their own failings - much like the Mayo team.

Aidan O’Shea and Joe Canning must be the two biggest cunts in GAA.

I was there too. And Lohan did plenty of sledging that day. He hit Cloonan with the heel of the hurl into the ribs and did a nice bit of damage too. He had a few words of encouragement for Cloonan after he got treatment and ran back into his position. Cloonan didn’t get involved, but the next ball that came in between them he stuck it over the bar from out near the sideline.

When you think about how peerless that Lohan was at that time, and Cloonan was still a kid. Unrale performance. Unrale.

I have seen in a lot of places that the blame for this is being put at Canning but from what I hear down in Galway he was in no way the ringleader for this. He was part of the 4 that went to Cunningham initially but they went as representatives of the entire panel. I don’t even think that all of the 4 who went to see him had voted against him in that first vote. I don’t know what more will come out over the next few weeks and maybe the players should stay silent now and just get on with it.

Dont let the truth get in the way of nembos vendetta against Aidan O Shea and Mayo.

@carryharry and @KinvarasPassion are spot on. Cunningham list the players and after four seasons should have stepped aside. The players wanted rid of him after the league this year, then they told him they wanted rid of him again and he kept actin and went to the county board to be ratified for another turn anyway -what the fuck was he thinking? The statement is bollox too, step aside quietly and with dignity man. He seems to have gotten the principles of the association backwards too. It’s a pity how it ended, I really liked Cunningham, but he dug his own grave.

Seemed tactically naive and unable to influence game once it started (like a lot of GAA managers). Was clueless in trying to stop Callanan in semi final.

Statement was ill advised. Nothing to be gained from it. His book might be interesting now though.

Loughnane and Daly versus Davy and Donal Og is a mouth watering proposition for next years championship though.

I was being facetious

Daly has Tony Keady lined up as his right hand man

So the story goes anyway… along with…

• John Mullholland has stopped taking bets on Micheal Donohue

• Mattie Kenny reckons the job is his

Of course last year has relevance. You’ve been talking about Clare handing out clippings to teams for the last two years and instead they are getting beat by shite teams every year