Club Championships 2009

not havin it pukey…you didn’t seem to get much action in senior championship last year so why didn’t you regrade?..happy to be there and get the free gear and a bang off the odd groupie the night ye won the county final??..:stuck_out_tongue:

[quote=“The Puke”]Wouldn’t see the point in dropping down a few levels for the sake of it and take the place of a young lad…Would be fairly pissed off if the roles were reversed…

The juniors have around 25 at msot training session so they ain’t stuck for numbers[/quote]

Hate playing Junior B. It makes good players bad imo.

never played junior before this year and have to say i enjoy it more than senior and inter…its more about football…the other two in Dublin are all just hitting and meat heads who can’t kick a ball but can run all day…junior you get a bit of time to play football…

sure if all the lads barring the starting 15 had that mentality then you wouldn’t have much of a panel

Did you ever play second or third division soccer KIB…myself and a couple of other lads played a few games on the sly for our B team a couple years thinking we would tear it up…by fuck were we dragged down to the level

fair point…but where do you get the game time then?..were you saying clonlara don’t have many on clare senior team?..that would make a full squad available for club league games?..

Junior league is fine as you have a mixture of first and second team players. Fitness counts for a lot here.

But Junior championship is awful. All I can think of is Bank Holiday monday’s in Ballyline playing some other shower of disinterested hungover players. Pitch waterlogged and no showers working. The stuff nightmares are made of.

No thankfully. I remember starting out playing junior b gaelic tho when I was 16 or 17. Thought I would burn it up…:popcorn: Some of the best laughs tho were playing it.

We had a good few injuries at the start of the year, were missing four or five foor the first couple rounds of the championship, we would always be missing a couple of lads for league matches between county, injuries, lads away etc…would get a few runs in the clare cup alright…and normally tear it up in challenge matches, we have four lads on the panel who are on the junior panel as well but they are only filler…Our juniors is made up of lads who are 22 or younger or lads who are over the hill for senior hurling, the 4 lads aside

For Junior league why dont you get regraded? I think you can regrade 5 every year.

no interest to be honest…like I said, dropping down when it suits me to take the place of a young lad who is training hard all year…

don’t agree pukey…its not like your not training yourself…you’re more than likely doing the harder training so you shouldn’t fall between two stools when it comes to match day…thats just the way it is…

Big difference between Junior A & B though Scum, which do you play. Some Junior clubs down here would be very very good, particulary in football. You’d see every now and then a Junior A team go all the way to senior in 3 years. But Junior B would be purely 2nd and 3rd teams.
Alot of big towns in Cork are Junior.

I understand what you are saying and if the juniors were struggling for numbers or lacking a bit of quality then i might be some bit inclined to drop and help them but they have some very good young hurlers and are the red hot favourites to win the junior b championship, so in that regard I feel that i would only be stopping the progression of one of the younger lads…

Depends on what your using the Juniors for. If they are building a young team then Puke might be better off staying away. If they are going out to win something then they should have their best 15.

Haven’t had the pleasure of playing Junior football yet, but will definitly play when my light is quenched with the seniors. Went to watch our juniors at the weekend and they fooked the game away but are still through to the quarter final. Our senior panel is fairly settled now as well so there shouldn’t be too many more of them “burnt”. Between the seniors and juniors we had nearly 40 players togged at the weekend which is massive for a club of our size. Great to see.

KIB mentioned about how a good footballer can look bad in the Junior grade when tehy go back, I’d agree with that. Not sure I’ll go back, might do when the day comes, cant say for sure yet.

A good footballer will look good in Junior, if he’s a good footballer, and not someone who’s on a senior team, but looks good with a load of very good players. Its not that a player gets dragged down, its that they weren’t too hot as an individual in the first place.
I’ve played centre forward the last few years, both Senior and Junior, and found the Senior easier. I was getting much better ball from the backs (thus running for it less) and the runs from the other forwards were better (thus kicking it was easier). I wouldn’t ever have been a stand out player, but i had to work alot harder at Junior to show my value. The one major difference though was scoring, you’d have more time to shoot at Junior, and would rarely if ever get blocked down.

Junior is hell

WTB knows the score.