Club Championships 2009

[quote=“Mullach Ide”]Major shock in the Tipperary Football Championship Quarter Final this evening as Killenaule defeated reigning champions Galtee Rovers by 2 points in a fiery enough encounter that finished 13 a-side.
Killenaule led almost all through the match and led by 8 points 10 minutes into the 2nd half. Declan Fanning was then sent off along with 2 Galtee Rovers players, this seemed to unsettle Killenaule who were reduced to 13 men shortly after, they clung on in the end to record a 2 point victory and qualify for the semis along with Loughmore,Aherlow and Moyle Rovers.[/quote]

apparently galtee were pure dirt

According to the Sindo, Kevin Martin the tullamore player/manager and former great from the offaly side of the 1990’s was the best player on the field

I can confirm this is in fact true.

That’s some shock, Birr must have won most if not all of the Offaly Senior Hurling championsips of the last 10 years…

Coolderry beat them a few of years ago but i think they have won 9 out of the last 10…

Laois SFC Semi Finals

Arles Killeen 0-8 Arlse Kilcruise 2-8

Kilcruise on top in a derby that lived up to the hype. Not that it was a great game or anything. To be fair to it, it was shaking up to be a real contest, until the first sending off. The first man to walk in this was the man that makes Killeen tick, Donie Brennan. A fine little footballer Donie, but his temperment lets him down time and time again, and it was the case last Saturday too. Chris Conway can take some credit for it, he riled Donie up delightfully, getting both of them yellow cards, and then leaving Donie to implode all on his own, which he did only minutes later when he spat into an opponents face. After that Killeen lost shape, and the game. Disgusting act, the lad shold be ashamed of himself. Ross Munnelly and Steven Miller grabbed the goals for Kilcruise and Killeen had another player sent off in the last few minutes to put the lid on the battle of the village.

This picture sums up the Arles situation better than I possibly could

Portlaoise 3-18 St. Josephs 0-9

Portlaoise lead by 7 points after 5 minutes, and the game was over as a contest that early. A few of you Celtic boys may be familiar with a young Laois lad who was on Celtics books as a teenager, Paul Cahillane. He came back late last year, scored 3-8 yesterday, he’ll play for Laois next season. But Portlaoise are truly head and shoulders above anything else on the Laois club scene at the moment, they just have so many stars that can stand up on any given day, last time out it was Tuohy scoring 1-10, then Cahillane scores 3-8 this time out, scary really. They’ll make up the bulk of the Laois outfit next season imo, for what its worth.

So its an Arles and Portlaoise final, just not the Arles side many thought would get to it. It doesn’t matter anyway, it would take a collapse of Bandage diving proportions for Portlaoise not to win this final by 8 or more points. Its a Portlaoise side with a lot of changes from previous years, but they just keep rolling on and over teams. They’ll be a handful in Leinster when they get there if they keep playing like this.

Kilkenny Senior Quarter Final

Erins Own(Ccomer) 0-14 Clara 0-12

Intermediate Semi Final
St Lachtains(Frshfrd) 2-11 Mooncoin 1-07

Intermediate Quarter Finals
Dicksboro 2-17 Tullagher/Rosbrcn 2-09(REPLAY)
Rower/Inistioge 1-15 COnahy Shamrocks 0-10 Cmon ta fuck…

SoutherN Junior Final
JOhn Lockes 0-16 Kilmacow 1-10

Northern Junior Semi Final
Bennetsbrdge 2-13 O Loughlin Gaels 2-12

Are Conahy Shamrocks the lot who lost to some Westmeath side recently? Shur they must be shite…

On a point of Order.

I merely suggested that 3/1 would be a price worth looking at. My own opinion was that Toome would have too much for Drom physically but seemingly Callinan had an animal of a game.

Even the Greats can be wrong at times Runt.

Conahy are terrible to be honest,our lads were poor on the day,our keeper had to make 3 or 4 good saves at different stages but we were always winning fairly well and amassed a big wides tally aswell,if we hurl as poorly again we will be beaten for sure as Dicksboro are a good outfi but we are now just two wins from heaven,our lads are every bit as good a team as the other two still in it,if we win it i could die any time after that and id be happy,cmon the Rower be fucked.:thumbsup:

:guns:

[quote=“tipptops*”]On a point of Order.

I merely suggested that 3/1 would be a price worth looking at. My own opinion was that Toome would have too much for Drom physically but seemingly Callinan had an animal of a game.

Even the Greats can be wrong at times Runt.[/quote]

Seemingly???,surely to christ you went to the Tipperary Senior Semi Finals??

He was up at the rugby on Saturday night Link, and didnt make it back down for them.

Saturday night morphed into Sunday morning for me Link.

Ill let you off with it,these things can easily happen.

They won the Junior All-Ireland, and beat the Westmeath Intermediate champions along the way. I don’t see how they could have lost to a Westmeath team in anything else.

Kilmacud and Ballyboden drew again tonight in the Dublin Football Semi Final Replay. 1-10 each after extra time.

:rolleyes::mad::mad::mad: boden a point up and gave the ball away again for crokes to score…

Draw for Senior Football Semi-Finals in Tipp

Moyle Rovers v Killenaule
Aherlow v Loughmore-Castleiney

Double header in Semple Stadium on Sunday

Moyle Rovers will win the 1st one handy and I reckon Aherlow will beat Loughmore but it will be close.