Not much to update in Cork, alot of Junior Finals were played and Kanturk, Glanworth, Whites Cross, Blarney, Cloyne are through to County section. Noteable rise in standard in this grade after a drop off with the promotion of so many teams 4 years ago. Noteable also for strong Hurling clubs Blarney, Cloyne and Kanturk going well. Ballygarvan (Ger Spillane) should join them all this evening and i think St. Colums (Alan O’ Connor) will make it from the West. Picking a winner is a lottery, but Ballygarvan were in final last year, and i expect them to have that vital experience to win it, they have also picked up former Kerry All-Star Aodhan MacGearilt this year, he’s scoring freely for them.
Valley Rovers surprised everyone by beating Glanmire in Premier Intermediate semi-final. They ended up without 5 starters, i would rate the 5 of them as 5 of their best 6 players. It was some win. The fall out from their star player Eamon Collins has been spectacular, with the ref getting beaten up by his own club members because they lost money on it, then resigning as Chairman of his own club, Gardai involved now. As well as that in a seperate incident a number of Valleys players are been questioned by Gardai about beating up an off duty Garda after a match they won a few months ago, apparently they were caught on CCTV.
In the 1/4 final of same competition a Paudie Kissane and Ray Carey inspired Clyda rovers beat Bantry. Clyda bate 7 types of shite out of Graham Canty by all accounts and near the end he was wrecked and let Kissane score 2 points to win.
I expect Clyda to beat St. Vincents in the semi-final and then get beaten by Valleys in the final.
The Senior and Premier Intermediate hurling finals are on Sunday. I think Sars will beat Newtown, while the Ballymartle and Douglas final is hard to call.
Thanks,Dicksboro will certainly be hard bet and will be slight favourites id reckon considering how shite our lads hurled against Conahy last Weekend,we need a huge improvement on that performance to win but i think we will get it,the run out in Nowlan Park will have done our lads lots of good and id reckon they will be more focused this weekend,our backs need to tighten up a bit but we definitely have the forwards to trouble the Boro backs who conceded 2-15 and 2-09 in the last 2 Weeks against a very average Tullagher attack,i reckon we’ll win by 3 or 4 points,we need this badly,we’ve never been in a final after 21 Years at this level and havent won an adult title since 1968,we have the hurlers to win this game im hoping.
Its not Club, but i think it will be of some interest to the lads who generally post on here. The Harty Cup started yesterday and these were the results.
De La Salle 4-08 Waterford Colleges 2-13
St Colmans, Fermoy 1-23 Cashel CBS 3-05
Charleville 1-11 Nenagh CBS 2-15
St Caimins, Shannon 4-25 Doon CBS 1-06 (Maybe Doon shouldn’t be in Harty Puke)
St. Flannans, Ennis 3-17 Kerry Colleges 0-11
Midleton CBS 2-12 Ard Scoil Ris 1-15
Thurles CBS 3-13 CSN, Bishopstown 0-07
A general look at the results would tell me that the Clare, Tipp and possibly Waterford Colleges will be strong as they have been last couple of years.
CSN Bishopstown were very disapointing i believe, but a number of club players didn’t play due to County semi finals at the weekend. What muppet of a club coach did this really can’t see the bigger picture at all. They are young fellas and they will be exposed to excellent player against Thurler, it beggars belief.
Just from reading the paper it seems Kerry done well for most of the game against Flannans, but missed alot and ran out of steam. This is supposed to be a good Flannans side, Puke may know more about that.
From a Cork point of view it was very mixed, Colmans look our strongest again.
Looking at results it seems the grading is a bit off to be honest.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Its not Club, but i think it will be of some interest to the lads who generally post on here. The Harty Cup started yesterday and these were the results.
De La Salle 4-08 Waterford Colleges 2-13
St Colmans, Fermoy 1-23 Cashel CBS 3-05
Charleville 1-11 Nenagh CBS 2-15 St Caimins, Shannon 4-25 Doon CBS 1-06 (Maybe Doon shouldn’t be in Harty Puke)St. Flannans, Ennis 3-17 Kerry Colleges 0-11
Midleton CBS 2-12 Ard Scoil Ris 1-15
Thurles CBS 3-13 CSN, Bishopstown 0-07
.[/quote]
Bit harsh on Doon kev, Caimans were in the final last year and have a huge pick from Sixmilebridge, Newmarket and Wolfe Tones players.
Will there be though? most of the younger lads would have hurler underage together and would know each other well, also both sides are fairly soft…Would they be as well of amalgamate at senior?
What’s your reading of the intermediate this year WTB…
[quote=“The Puke”]Will there be though? most of the younger lads would have hurler underage together and would know each other well, also both sides are fairly soft…Would they be as well of amalgamate at senior?
What’s your reading of the intermediate this year WTB…[/quote]
Probably a bit more open than people think. It’s still Whitegates to lose, but you can’t be too dismissive with a side like Killanena. They’ve been at the business end a few times, they have a strong, athletic team, a top notch freetaker, and an excellent coach in Fergie. If they somehow pull out a win, then Feakle and Ruan might fancy their chances. If Whitegate brush them aside, the final will be no more than a procession.
I had got the impression that there was still a lot of bad blood between Meelick and Parteen, to do with the graduation of underage players. I’d be surprised if there wasn’t a serious edge considering what’s at stake. No guarantees that either of them would beat Kilmaley, even though Kilamley have lost Dara Keane to the seniors. They might be better off amalgamating but there’s two problems with that as I see it.
Firstly, it’s the lazy and easy option and it’s far too widespread. Just how much more of it is the County Board going to allow? There won’t be twenty hurling clubs in Clare if it keeps up. Secondly, amalgamations are fine when success covers over the cracks (eg. I/K) but if you’re not winning then all the old grudges come out. They are still seperate clubs with their own traditions.
Firstly, it’s the lazy and easy option and it’s far too widespread. Just how much more of it is the County Board going to allow? There won’t be twenty hurling clubs in Clare if it keeps up. Secondly, amalgamations are fine when success covers over the cracks (eg. I/K) but if you’re not winning then all the old grudges come out. They are still seperate clubs with their own traditions.[/quote]
Yeah that is all very true but i know that meelick were struggling badly for numbers at adult level this year, they bearly have 20 these days
I hear they lost a load this year alright. Every club has a rough patch though. I’m sure things weren’t even all that glorious for Clonlara once upon a time :guns:. What could kill them is their location of course, Parteen the same. Clubs a lot further out the road are saying that rugby is really hurting them so I imagine it’s fierce tough there.
Killanena win the Intermediate hands down. They have been unlucky the last few years and are a side that could make a splash at Senior level. I tipped them from the start and see no reason to change my mind. A good proper physical side.
I dont know what the odds are and i honestly couldnt give a shit either,its going to make no difference to anything anyway,the better team will win tomorrow and the better team will win the final aswell,that could be any one of the three teams left.
O Loughlin Gaels v Ballyhale Shamrocks
Erins Own(Ccomer) v James Stephens
Intermediate Semi Final
Dicksboro v Rower/Inistioge(cmon ta fuck)
Northern Junior Final
Blacks & Whites v Bennettsbridge
This fucking joke is also taking place after our game on Saturday…
Senior Football Final
Glenmore v Muckalee
If the cunts try to charge €15 in to the Park tomorrow on the pretense of a double header theres going to be war id say,it should just €8 into the Intermediate semi but i could see them charging €15 cos the other joke is on after it,nobody will pay it if they have any sense,outside of the subs there will only be a handful of people interested in watching the football.Glenmore got a walkover in one of thier championship games to date,its far from high profile stuff here in Kilkenny.