Club Championships 2009

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Bella ya, gas fucking ticket altogether. Played in college with him. And done a fair bit of drinking with him too:pint:. Last time i met him he was talking about Oz alright, he was with Bulmers then i think. Sound.
Better hurler i thought.[/QUOTE]

Ya, he was a better hurler alright.
Would you know Brian Quirke as well so? I would have played county minor football with the two of them.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Kilkenny 2nd Round league/Championship

SENIOR

Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-16 O Loughlin Gaels 1-13
Dunnamaggin 1-14 St Martins 0-11
James Stephens 0-25 Graigue/Ballycallan 0-11
Erins Own(Ccomer) 0-18 Clara 1-13
YoungIrelands(Gwrn) 3-14 Tullaroan 1-09
Fenians 1-12 Carrickshock 0-12

Intermediate

Tullogher/Rsbrcn 1-12 St Lachtains 0-14
Rower/Inistioge 1-16 Conahy Shamrocks 1-10
Mullinavat 1-16 Graignamanagh 1-08
Danesfort 3-18 Mooncoin 0-12
Dicksboro 4-16 Emeralds 3-09
Glenmore 2-10 Thomastown 1-06[/QUOTE]

Few shocks in there Link. Would have thought that Carrickshock would have been comfortable against Fenians. Thought Young Irelands wouldn’t trouble Tullaroan.

Whats the story with St Martins? THought they were going to go hell for leather this year. Is Nicky Cashin involved with them this year?

[quote=“The Runt”]Ya, he was a better hurler alright.
Would you know Brian Quirke as well so? I would have played county minor football with the two of them.[/QUOTE]

Met him on the beer i think, i met a Brian up in Cork anyway with Bella. He was seeing Stokes sister back then i think.
It should be noted that Bella, was only in College for administration purposes:rolleyes:

That was a handy Limerick team if i remember correctly.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Met him on the beer i think, i met a Brian up in Cork anyway with Bella. He was seeing Stokes sister back then i think.
It should be noted that Bella, was only in College for administration purposes:rolleyes:

That was a handy Limerick team if i remember correctly.[/QUOTE]

Not really, the boys were on it for two years, it was the previous years team that was a bit better I think. We certainly didn’t set the world alight anyways.

[quote=“hannibal”]Few shocks in there Link. Would have thought that Carrickshock would have been comfortable against Fenians. Thought Young Irelands wouldn’t trouble Tullaroan.

Whats the story with St Martins? THought they were going to go hell for leather this year. Is Nicky Cashin involved with them this year?[/QUOTE]

Nicky Cashin is training St Martins,1 point from 2 games leaves them in relegation trouble things arent going well nobody expected them to lose to no forwards Dunnamaggin but they went down badly,wasnt at it,Carrickshock got horsed out of it by Fenians according to all accounts,JJ Delaney excellent for Fenians,Franks and Rice poor for Carrickshock.Tullaroan are the worst team in Kilkenny senior hurling by a distance after last nights performance imo,Gowran had a good goal not given(blind umpires),another disallowed and they missed 2 handy ones aswell, they should have racked up about 5-20,Tullaroan were lucky to score 1-09.Tommy Walsh hurled midfield in the 1st half and apart from one good point he did nothing,in an amazingly delusional move by Tullaroans selectors they deployed him at full forward for the entire 2nd half where he scored 1 point and won a few frees but had little impact really,all this while the 6 backs at the other end of the field were getting the shite hurled out of them,you would turn some of these lads in a wheelchair and thats no joke,Kildare senior player Davy Carter hurled well at half forward scoring around 0-5 and corner forwards Dick Carroll(2 goals) and Paul Kehoe(1-6) went to town also,Charlie hurled well did a lot of work scoring 2 points aswell,Gowran wont meet a worse side next Year if they go intermediate,id expect them to beat Tullaroan if they met again,a joke of a team really.

Cheers for that Link. Who would be your biggest rival at intermediate this year? Danefort? Do they have anyone apart from the Hogan brothers?

D’forts centre back, Paul Murphy looks like a class act aswell.

Dicksboro will go close as well.

We have a fair bit to do to win it in reality,Danesfort are flying at the moment but they have a few weak links around the field,Dicksboro would be favourites in my view,any one of us,Mooncoin,Freshford and Mullinavat are capable of winning it either.

[quote=“HangBlaa”]D’forts centre back, Paul Murphy looks like a class act aswell.

Was that Murphy guy on the county U-21 team last year? If so, he’s some player.
Dicksboro will go close as well.[/QUOTE]

Is Brian Barry still playing for Dicksboro? I presume he’s gone from the county panel at this stage?

Neither himself or his brother Alan(another doctor) have struck a ball for the Boro in around 3 Years id say,hard to know why we would have to ask a Boro man,both are only in thier late 20s now and were brilliant club hurlers to be fair,wouldnt mind having them on our ship.

Results from Tipp

Senior Football Championship Round (1)
Moyle Rovers 3-08 Loughmore Castleiney 1-06
Clonmel Commercials 1-08 Aherlow 0-06
Ardfinnan 1-13 Cahir 2-06
Fethard 0-11 Clonmel g 0-09

MID TIPPERARY
Senior Hurling Championship
Drom & Inch 3-15 Moycarkey-Borris 0-7

NORTH TIPPERARY (Updated May 10th - 10:15pm)
Senior Hurling Championship
Group 1; Round 1: Portroe 0-17, Roscrea 1-13.
Group 1; Round 2: Roscrea 2-12, Kildangan 2-10;
Templederry Kenyons 0-19, Lorrha/Dorrha 1-11;
Portroe 0-22, Kilruane MacDonaghs 0-20.
Group 2; Round 2: Nenagh Eire g 2-17, Borris-Ileigh 2-12;
Toomevara W/O, Moneygall Scr.

WEST TIPPERARY
SHC.
Cappawhite 2-18 Golden/Kilfeacle 2-8,
ire g 2-15 Kickham 1-15.
Clonoulty/R 2-24 Cashel. 0-11.

Fixtures
MID
16-May
Senior Hurling Championship Gp 1 Rd 2
Upperchurch-Drombane Thurles Sarsfields 7-00PM Boherlahan
17-May
Senior Hurling Championship Gp 2 Rd 2
Loughmore - Castleiney Holycross-Ballycahill 7-15PM The Ragg

SOUTH
15/05/09
SH
Carrick Swan v Mullinahone Kilsheelan7.15pm

16/05/09
SH
Killenaule v Ballybacon/Grange Clonmel 7.15pm

WEST
Wednesday 13th May

Tipperary Co-Op Super Valu West SHC.
In Dundrum @7.30, ire g v Golden/K.

Saturday 16th.May
SHC.
In Golden @7.30, Kickhams v Cashel

Sunday May 17th
SHC.
In Cashel @ 3.00, Cappawhite v Clonoulty/R.Ref: J.Ryan C

Are they the South Semi’s Mullach?
Killenaule should win it this year should they?
I was told one of the Carrick teams are handy theses days, presume its Swans ya?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Are they the South Semi’s Mullach?
Killenaule should win it this year should they?
I was told one of the Carrick teams are handy theses days, presume its Swans ya?[/QUOTE]

Not the Semis yet Kev, this round 3 of a round-robin between 5 teams to eliminate one of them. The team that’s eliminated play in the B championship. Then there is a draw for the Semi-Finals.
Killenaule should win the South, Carrick Swan are a team that would be handy enough, they had a few good underage teams over the last few years.
Looks like it will be Balingarry that will be knocked out at this stage as they surprisingly lost to Ballybacon-Grange.

[quote=“Mullach Ide”]Not the Semis yet Kev, this round 3 of a round-robin between 5 teams to eliminate one of them. The team that’s eliminated play in the B championship. Then there is a draw for the Semi-Finals.

3 rounds to get rid of one team !!

Think they need restructure the dividsions in Tipp.

[quote=“Mullach Ide”]Not the Semis yet Kev, this round 3 of a round-robin between 5 teams to eliminate one of them. The team that’s eliminated play in the B championship. Then there is a draw for the Semi-Finals.

So there’s an open draw for the semi? Where is the sense in that, surely there should be some motivation for teams to finish top of the group?

It’s a total joke really.

Results from last weekend:

South Tipp

SH
Killenaule 3-18 Ballybacongrange 2-10
Mullinahone 1-16 Carrick Swans 1-13

Mid Tipp

SH
Holycross-Ballycahill 2-10 Loughmore-Castleiney 0-14
Thurles Sarsfields 1-18 Upperchurch-Drombane 0-16

North Tipp

SH
Lorrha/Dorrha 2-19, Kilruane MacDonaghs 2-19;
Roscrea 1-8, Templederry Kenyons 0-8;
Kildangan 3-11, Portroe 1-10;
Moneygall 1-11, Burgess 0-11;
Borris-Ileigh 1-13, Toomevara 2-10;

West Tipp

SH
Knockavilla Kickhams 4-10 Cashel 2-14,
Clonoulty/Rossmore 1-15 Cappawhite 1-12.

Fixtures for the next week, i’d say the next Senior matches after these will be some time in July, with the intercounty starting weekend after next.

Mid Tipp
26/05/09
JK Brackens v Boherlahan-Dualla 7-30pm The Ragg

The divisions are starting to take a bit of shape now.
South -
Killenaule pl3 w3 d- l- pt6
Carrick Swan pl3 w1 d- l2 pt2
Mullinahone pl2 w1 d- l1 pt2
Ballybacon Grange pl2 w1 d- l1 pt2
Ballingarry pl2 w- d- l2 pt0

Top 3 to proceed with Ballingarry in trouble.

West

Clonoulty 6pts 2 games left
Cappa 6pts 1 game left
Kickhams 4pts 1 game left
Eire Og 2pts 3 games left
Golden 2pts 2 games left
Cashel 0pts 1 game left

Top 4 to go through here i’d say, Cashel’s decline is shocking.

Mid

group 1
drom inch played 2 have 3 points +17
holycross played 2 have 2 points -1
moycarkey played 2 have 2 points -14
loughmore/castleiney played 2 have 1 point -2
to play - Loughmore v Moycarkey
Drom Inch v Holycross
group 2
Sarsfields: played 2 points 4 +10
Upperchurch: played 2 points 2 -2
Boherlahan: played 1 points 0 -4
JK Brackens: played 1 points 0 -4

Looks like score difference will be very important in both groups! Loughmore could be knocked out here, which would be a big shock.

North Tipp
bit more flaking to be done there yet to be predicting the Semi-Finalists

The state of play in Cork. Alot of games this weekend being played, so the picture for many will be far clearer after this weekend. Some intertesting games in both codes. Predictions in bold.
[SIZE=“6”]Hurling[/SIZE]
Second Round - (Losers Round)

Ballinhassig 2-19 Midleton 2-11
Glen Rovers 0-16 Blarney 0-09
Cloyne 4-17 Carrigtwohill 1-16
Bride Rovers 3-10 Castlelyons 0-03

Third Round

(1)Blackrock vs Bride Rovers Blackrock
(2)Carrigdhoun vs C.I.T. Carrigdhoun
(3)Sarsfields vs Ballinhassig Sars by a whisker, could need a replay
(4)Na Piarsaigh 1-12 Bishopstown 0-11
(5)Glen Rovers 1-18 Killeagh 0-11
(6)Newtownshandrum 1-20 U.C.C. 0-07
(7)Erins Own vs Imokilly Erins Own
(8)St.Finbarrs 1-12 Cloyne 0-12

Quarter-Finals

1 vs 2
3 vs Na Piarsaigh
Glen Rovers vs Newtownshandrum
7 vs St.Finbarrs

[SIZE=“6”]Football[/SIZE]

Second Round - (Losers Round)

Ballincollig 0-07 Carbery Rangers 0-07
St.Nicks 1-09 O Donovan Rossa 0-10
Na Piarsaigh 2-04 Ilen Rovers 0-06
Naomh Aban 2-11 Mallow 0-07

Third Round

(1) Na Piarsaigh vs St.Finbarrs Na Piarsaigh

(2) Castlehaven vs Carbery Rangers / Ballincollig Ballincollig

(3) Nemo Rangers vs Seandun Nemo

(4) Carbery vs St.Nicks Carbery

(5) Douglas vs Dohenys Douglas

(6) Bishopstown vs Imokilly Bishopstown

(7) Duhallow vs Naomh Aban Duhallow

(8) Clonakilty vs Aghada Aghada

Quarter-Finals

1 vs 2

3 vs 4

5 vs 6

7 vs 8

2nd round of the Limerick Senior Championship has had to be postponed because some of the Limerick lads have to go batter some loopy leprechaun and his band of show ponies.