Runt would struggle with the high ball.
Rintintin is a keeper. Complete with the eccentricity required for said position.
Runt would struggle with the high ball.
Rintintin is a keeper. Complete with the eccentricity required for said position.
[quote=“Watch The Break”]I can see Clonlara going down to intermediate this year. Their bench is useless!
The blues for munster!![/QUOTE]
Tis Smith O’Briens to lose I am told, with Keith Wood doing the training they will be hard bet
You serious?
Can he do it, or is it some some kinda self obsessed guy trying to win back some old mates he lost, or indeed just get to hear the sound of his own voice alot?
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]You serious?
Can he do it, or is it some some kinda self obsessed guy trying to win back some old mates he lost, or indeed just get to hear the sound of his own voice alot?[/QUOTE]
He is doing it anyway, think Smith O’Briens approached him as he is back living in the town, sure they are full of fucking notions…Their changing rooms are falling away to shite but they have no problem paying through the nose year on year for outside coaches and managers
Ya, he’s a little false with his gaa/ irishness, i’ve seen it before in a few of the rugby lads. They love telling the stories to the D4 crowd or the brits, but in reality some of them know f-all about it. The GAA world is a different place from when these lads were U-16 hurling for whoever.
Now maybe he’s not like that, but i have my suspicions.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I’m going to try a prediction for the Cork Championships this year.
Senior Hurling - Sarsfields
Prem. Intermediate Hurling - Ballymartle
Intermediate Hurling - Bandon
Junior A Hurling - Clough Duv
Senior Football - Ballincollig
Prem. Intermediate Football - Newcestown (but literally, anyone in this could win it)
Intermediate Football - Killdorrery
Junior Football - Ballygarvan[/QUOTE]
No doubt Cloughduv will win the Junior Hurling this year, but that’s mainly because they have a shit division, it’s them, Grenagh and a half a dozen (shit) second teams. As bad as East Cork is, its still far more competitive.
Your right about Muskerry, but i don’t think thats why they will win the county. They should win it because they have the best Junior team hurling left in it.
Grenagh are average at best these days as well. They have nothing at all coming through.
East Cork is competitive like Muskerry and Carbery are in football, its because of the tradition, and every single team no matter how small or big takes it seriously.
Can we get some predictions for the Limerick Senior Football and Senior Hurling competitions so please. I’ll go with…
Senior Football
Champions - Ballylanders
Relegation - Askeaton
Senior Hurling
Champions - Adare
Relegation - Garryspillane
Fitzgibbon fixtures here in full
ULSTER BANK FITZGIBBON CUP 2010
All matches at 2.00pm unless otherwise stated - [E.T. if necessary]
Round Robin 11 Teams
2 groups of 4 teams top three in each group qualify for quarter finals
1 group of 3 teams top 2 to qualify for quarter finals.
Group A
Round 1 - Thursday, 4th February 2010
All Groups
Team 1 v Team 2
Groups A & B
Team 4 v Team 3
Round 2 - Wednesday, 10th February 2010
All Groups
Team 3 v Team 1
Groups A & B
Team 2 v Team 4
Round 3 - Tuesday, 16th February 2010
All Groups
Team 2 v Team 3
Groups A & B
Team 1 v Team 4
Quarter Finals 24.02.10 First team at home
K Winner A V Third B
L Winner B V Runner Up C
M Winner C V Third A
N Runner Up A V Runner Up B
05.03.10 - Semi-Finals in Galway
K v L
M v N
Final 06.03.10 (Sat) in Galway
Galway should be good for the weekend
Fitzgibbon and Sigorson action on this week
Football tomorrow
St. Mary’s Belfast v Cork IT 15/8 7/1 1/2
14:00 Garda College v Sligo I.T 4/6 7/1 11/8
14:00 UCC v NUI Galway evens 13/2 evens
14:00 Queens University Belfast v U.U.Jordanstown 2/1 13/2 1/2
14:00 Galway/Mayo I.T v DKIT 1/4 8/1 10/3
14:00 D.C.U v U.C.D Dublin 2/5 15/2 9/4
14:00 University of Limeick v Athlone IT 5/4 7/1 8/11
Thursdays hurling action
4th Feb 2010
14:00 UCC v Limerick I.T 8/13 9/1 11/8
14:00 Waterford IT v Galway/Mayo I.T 4/11 9/1 9/4
14:00 Cork IT v U.C.D Dublin evens 9/1 5/6
14:00 NUI Galway v D.I.T 8/11 9/1 6/5
14:00 UL v St Pat’s College 1/8 12/1 5/1
Anyone see any value there lads…A UCC/WIT/NUIG/UL acca is just shy of 100/30 and seems a decent bet
the east cork board adapt the kilkenny model when it comes to organising football championships from my experience of playing u-21 / junior championship football at home when i was a lad, most of the clubs couldnt give a shite about it either ,
i usually played 2 football matches on a sunday for the month of feburary, ( junr B in the morning and jnr A in the afternoon, oddly we always ffielded 2 games even tho only ~20 lads played football at adult level) ), after that the league had taken shape, we were usually out of contention and i might play another 4 between 1st march and november including the championship games
Sligo IT aside looks as though Powers were fairly spot on
A Joe Canning inspired LIT beat UCC, Wit and UL won with a bit to sparw while UCD and NUIG won tight games
Scores for you Pukey
Ulster Bank Fitzgibbon Cup Round 1
Waterford IT 2-15 GMIT 1-5
Limerick IT 3-14 UCC 1-6
NUIG 0-12 Dublin IT 1-8
UL 3-8 St Pats TC 0-11
UCD 0-10 Cork IT 0-8
Sigerson
Results - round 2
Cork IT 0-11 St Mary’s Belfast 0-5
IT Sligo 1-15 Garda College 0-11
UCC 0-9 NUI Galway 1-5
UUJ 1-13 QUB 2-9
GMIT 1-17 Dundalk IT 0-9
DCU 2-6 UCD 0-9
Athlone IT 1-15 UL 1-8
NCC will be interested to hear Maynooth play UUJ next, its a decent Maynooth team to be fair but they’ll be no match for the Jordie boys.
Joe Canning got about 3-10 or so of that scoreline, destroyed poor Foley at full-back who got no help from the UCC center back line. I also don’t think Honan started the game, only came on for the last ten for some reason.
3-10 is some scutching for a full back to take, wonder how much of it was from play?
Looking at pictures there on sportsfile, Joe show is looking good and lean.
A shitty wet day on a soft pitch is no place for Honan…Doubt UCC will be too worried by the result, they have the WC final the weekend and 3 out of 4 come out of the group, they should beat WIT and GMIT
LIT will struggle the day Canning is bottled up…How did Nickey O’Connell hurl for LIT
Close call for NUIG today in a scrappy enough affair in Dangan. Despite having the wind to come, DIT didn’t look capable of mounting a serious challenge for the first thirty minutes. Galway were coasting pretty much everywhere and DIT weren’t even putting over the odd scoreable free they were getting. Domhnaill O’Donovan, John Lee, and Pa Kelly in particular were lording it over their opponents with Willie O’Dwyer hardly involved for DIT. The biggest surprise for me was the damage Finian Coone was doing on Tomas Brady at full forward. Today’s showing wouldn’t give Anthony Daly anymore evidence that Brady is capable of cutting it at number three for the year ahead. That aside, DIT rose manfully to the challenge in the second half and were hard done by not to get a draw in the end. Their forwards forced errors from the NUIG defenders throughout the half with a relentless work ethic. Galway’s forwards by contrast made little or no impact facing the breeze and it took a Domhnaill O’Donovan charge from midfield to win the free that put them ahead. DIT had both a free and a '65 to level the game in the final minute but failed to convert either.
Difficult to pass too much judgement on either side given the horrible conditions but Galway will have to be worried about a lacklustre showing in the second half. Superior opposition would have made the dominance enjoyed by DIT in the second half pay much greater dividend on the scoreboard. At this stage of the competition a win is a win however and a scare does no harm at all.
Final score: NUIG 0-12 : DIT 1-08
(HT) :(NUIG 0-09 : DIT 0-04)
Was Nihill at full back??
Yeah. Diarmuid Nash was in one corner and Noel Casey in the other. Nihill hurled fairly well, got caught hanging on to possession too long a few times but a good solid performance overall. John Lee actually put in a good performance today, one of those things I’d heard a lot about but hadn’t actually witnessed.