About 3-4.
Anyone know who the number 15 for LIT was? The fattest corner forward I’ve seen in my life.
Not sure about Nicky O’Connell, what number would have had? Didn’t have a programme.
Iwould say Bernard “The GAFF” Gaffney was the corner forward, probably one of the softest ssacks of shit you could come across…Would say O’Conell was wing back
I thought this was club championships…
Anyway, on the subject of colleges teams, who’d be favourite for the Fitzgibbon this year? LIT i presume? They’ve had some fine teams going back the last few years, they were arguably stronger in the pre-Canning days…
Limerick Football Championship News:
The draw was made last night for the Senior & Intermediate Football Championships in Limerick and are as follows:
Limericks Live 95FM County Senior Football Championship
Group 1 - St Kierans, Claughaun, St Patricks, Ballysteen, Dromcollogher/Broadford, Monaleen
Group 2 - Fr Caseys, Adare, St Senans, Pallasgreen, Newcastlewest, Ballylanders
Griffin Coaches County Intermediate Football Championship
Group 1- Na Piarsaigh, Athea, Hospital/Herbertstown, Mungret, Mountcollins, Cappamore
Group 2 - Galtee Gaels, Bruff, Croom, Galbally, Oola, Gerald Griffins
The senior draw is a lot more balanced than last year and should result in very tight groups.
Who’d be favourites to win out or at least challenge in the respective divisions, Runt?
Group 1 - Drom/Broadford would obviously be favourites to top the group with St Pats, Ballysteen and Monaleen expected to fight it out for the other two spots. St Kierans will probably be in the mix as well but it would be a surprise if they got through.
Group 2 - Obviously Abbeyfeale would be favourites for this one but I expect St Senans to have a big say in things this year and anyone of the other 4 teams could take the 3rd spot, depending on the type of preparation they have put in.
Outside of Drom/Broadford there isn’t much to seperate any of the other teams in the county. Should be a cracker of a championship.
I’d expect St. Pats to cause a few upsets and make the knock-out stages at least.
Is Kiely still involved with St. Senans?
What about the Intermediate division?
Not sure if he is or not.
The intermediate Championship is a strange fish. The form of teams can vary greatly from year to year. As beaten finalists last year I suppose you’d have to be putting Na Piarsaig in as favourites, then Galbally, and anyone from Mungret, Croom or Athea. But again it’s all dependant on how interested the teams are, either of those last 3 named above could put in a shit year.
Prob should be a thread for the Fitzgibbon but anyway.
Wit 1-16 GMIT 1-5
The tashtey set-up down in Ballygunner played host to a decent game considering the weather conditions. WIT even played a nice brand of ground hurling at times, a refreshing sight in this day and age.
They supplied good ball into the forwards and full foward line of Grehan (KK) and the Tipp duo of Hammersley and McLoughney were out in front each time picking off scores at their ease. An early goal from GMIT kept them in it till half time but they faded badly after.
Interestingly Adrian Cullinane, Ger Mahon (Gal) and Wayne McNamara (LK) were named on the program for GMIT but never appeared. What are their respective stories I wonder?
Ger Mahon was sent off for GMIT in the Walsh cup and I presume he was suspended, they were appealing it according to the indo during the week
What’s Wayne Mac up to now? Apart from eating snack boxes.
I believe he is full time hurling spuds to ducks
Sean Tobin was the fast corner forward that you were on about!
FAO Pukey: you talk some serious amount of shite!
cullinane is still out with his Cruciate i believe. Who Hurled well for WIT? judging by the paper they are a bit light weight in the midfield. I wouldnt be overally convinced of Fives Full Back.
Tomorrows fitz fixtures
GROUP A
GMIT v UCC
LIT v WIT
GROUP B
DIT v CIT
UCD v NUIG
GROUP C
St Pats v UUJ
UCD V NUIG looks the pick of them…
First team is at home kafka
Just saw this now. Not a bad draw for ye Runt. As good as any of them bar Drum. Depends which Monaleen shows up on the various days. They’re sure to lose to someone shit while running Drum close. The rematch between yourselves and Pa’s will be the key I think.
Think the other group is much tougher overall. Impossible to pick anyone to follow Fr.Caseys out of it. There’ll be playoffs in that one I’d say.
Lot of fallen giants in intermediate.Good teams will be stuck in there for years
I have a feeling this could be the most competitive Limerick senior football championship in years. Our loss of two keys forwards will seriously hamper our ambitions though considering our forwards are fairly toothless at the best of times.