Did she have a cock as well?
It wouldn’t have surprised me.
There’s no town in Shannon but a lot of them could be classed as townies alright.
They joined at underage first, and they had serious success pretty quickly, so the idea to join at senior came out of that. They beat the most hyped Newmarket team in decades in the u21 final in 2007 when Newmarket were going for four in a row. They won minor and u16 A championships as well. Inagh wouldn’t have ever struggled numbers wise but Kilnamona would have. Kilnamona would have produced small numbers of serious leaders like the Hegartys where Inagh would have produced spice boys like Carmody. Between the two of them they started putting out serious underage teams every year.
Problem is though, half the clubs in Clare started trying to copy the success through amalgamating so you’ve a situation now where two or three senior clubs are amalgamating to compete in B championships. It’s gotten massively out of hand and the county board don’t seem to have anything to say about it.
I was talking about this to turfcutter on here before. These are a few examples of what’s happening now.
This is widespread.
oh right
what other clubs have combined together??
If it was part of some wider strategy it wouldn’t be as bad, but this is just being done ad hoc. No plan in the world.
It’s also widespread in Limerick. Askeaton/Ballysteen had to join with St Kierans this year for minors.
Those two parishes probably cover 1/5 of West limerick.
jaysus, they must be badly struggling for numbers in east clare.
there were talks there a while back about Newport and Ballinahinch combining to make a senior team. nothing came out of it. tbh thed be fairly shite anyway.
Annacarthy and Golden were a combo in tipp senior there a few years back, lost the county final to Toome. Sean Treacys and Galtee Rovers combined for a senior team in the west this year, there going fairly shite
It all depends on the reasoning behind it. If a small club is struggling for numbers then it has to permitted. But if the number of Clare clubs engaging in amalgamations is a reflection of their playing numbers then something catastrophic is happening. It’s a massive cop out for the board. Rather than tackle the real problem they let these ludicrous amalgamations happen and let the underlying problem go unaddressed.
There are definitely advantages to clubs training together at underage as part of a regular schedule, and competing together if it means they can play A championship as opposed to B or C. But not at the cost of these clubs being able to field their own teams. Fewer young lads getting game time is a bad thing no matter how you spin it.
<_<
How do you mean “tipped”?
Like cow tipping
Here is a video i found on cow tipping. This must be something they practice out around Askeaton and these places…
Here is an attempted cow tipping exercise gone wrong from out in Clonlara…
Couple of serious results in Cork last night, massive weekend of games.
A massively depleted Ballincollig side (5 gone for summer, including 3 Cork U-21’s) hammered a very fancied Carbery Rangers 3-09 to 0-09.
Bantry Blues hammered Glenville similarly 3-07 to 0-07 in the Premier Intermediate Football.
A Noel O’ Leary inspired Cill Na Matra beat Kinsale 0-12 to 2-04 in the Intermediate “A” Football.
Other results;
Premier Intermediate Hurling
Carrigaline 1-16 Fr. O’ Neills 0-16
Intermediate “A” Hurling
Bandon 3-13 Aghada 0-20
Ballygarvan 2-14 Cobh 3-10 (Hard Luck Mickee)
And i get accussed of going off topic. :rolleyes:
Great weekend gets even better, C’Martyr win and the biggest knacker teams in East Cork get beaten.
Who may they be Turenne?
Cobh, biggest knacker town in Cork and Fr. O’Neills, scum of the earth. Aghada aren’t much better, but I did go to school with some decent sorts from around there.
mind youself of them crowd, you brave in fairness to you