Old brownfield sites could be turned to recreation but that is not a popular option in the property sector.
My club will benefit from nama land.
Good to see kilmallock planning to develop facilities on the pitch they were going to sell. Mind you they do need a second pitch.
A collection of years watching them and their actions. The blame culture that i always hear out of dub hurling people, the coaches i know who have worked with some of these players and the general attitude many people in the hurling and coaching world towards them. Also having been around enough of it and similar blame cultures. You become atuned to the signs.
All this packing in because they didnât like the coach or he wasnât buttering them up with vonstant live-ins shows where hurling for dublin is in their importance. Actions count.
GC may not be Daly or he may never be a top class manager, but you find out and you give his ways a shot. The Dub hurlers (no more than Cork) are typical of many modern sports teams who expect everythibg to be done for them. Its a slightly different issue im cork but along the same lines where players think they are âitâ by just becoming a Cork hurler. They havenât for a long time realised that its only the start. Now good manageme t will enforce that too. And its funny because this was part of GCâs fall out with JBM, it was all yoo nice. Someone on this site who worked with them actually said the same on here.
I believe GC came with that in his head for Dublin. Could he have dealt with a few things differently? Maybe, the nuances are difficult to know from the outside. Its also significant that the CB seem to be backing him and maybe people in there recognized the same.
Notwithstanding the fact that he seems to be making progress and making them competitive.
The fundamental problem in Dublin with management is that they have to manage the club mentality (similar to Galway), the player mentality (similar to what is in Cork as Kev alludes to), the clash of codes and the personality factor (i.e.they need to create atmosphere and hype similar to Dalo).
GC cannot manage all of those elements and not many can. The football bandwagon is booming now when it had its ups and downs while Dalo was there. Dublin hurling will never be able to separate itself enough to get players like Keaney etc. committing when football is so strongly pushed now.
To add to the woes, in trying to transition Dublin towards a younger fresher group of players Cunningham has alienated fellas who were there for a while, are still young enough and thrived under Dalo. Cunningham doesnt stand much of a chance with all of this but he be able to put a foundation in place for a new manager to come in and derive some success in the future if they can manage the football element sufficiently.
While i agree thats a feature of management, the exact situation you describe shows tge weakness in the 1st place. If players are willing to be unduly influenced because 1 or 2 donât kike being challenged then thats a major issue.
In a business environment if I lost a third of the team I manage in two years I would be looking at what I was doing that resulted in that loss of people.
Even if he was challenging them (I donât think that was it) then he needed to do it in a way that people can buy into.
Without going down that rabbit hole but when players left Cork panel you said they were leaving an inferior set up and yet when players leave Dublin it is because players are weak.
To manage 30 lads in their twenties you need to relate to them, respect them, earn their respect and then get them along on the journey you want to go on. You also need to use different tools for different personalities and abilities. It can certainly be learned but usually it is something intrinsic that gets developed.
There are loads of areas out that neck of the woods which are very ordinary and there are a very few working class areas - Ballybrack, most of Shankill, Sallynoggin, Monkstown Farm, Ballyogan etc.
Not if you are given a certain amount of time and the players are so entrenched in their ways.
Its never b&w anyway. No doubt GC vould have been vetter in certain cases i suspect. But that does not deviate from the fact that it appears that Dublin has a poor County Hurling culture.
Answers are usually grey.
You seem to see only one side of the JBM issue yet claim balance but them again take one side here.
GC is an excellent coach, few would argue that (unless they were drill crazy coaches/players who dtruggle to move away from that), and it remains to be seen if he is the right man for the job.
Kev. In the 2.5 years of Cunninghamâs tenure he has either dropped or fallen out with the following people. Players- Danny Sutcliffe, Colm Cronin Joey Boland. Shane Durkin, Johnny McCaffrey, Alan Nolan, Mikey Carton, Conal Keaney, Ross O Caroll, Sean Treacy, Simon Lambert, Paul Ryan, Peter Kelly. Backroom- Tommy Dunne, Shay Boland, Gearoid O Rian, Chris Thompson, Ken Robinson.
Iâm sure I missed a few too but there has been that many rows it can be hard to keep track. I know a lot of these people and they are generally decent people with decent attitudes yet Cunningham has managed to fall out with all of them. We are on the brink of relegation and we have an appalling championship record for the last 2 years. If this is what you call making progress I fucking despair.
Finally saying you âknowâ people who coached these lads or that you âheardâ about some lads having bad attitudes doesnât really wash. Give us some facts or shut up waffling for a change.
Only one point id make there - alot lf the players mentioned were pushing on and / or were part of the team with players and management that had moved on and felt aggrieved for whatever reason.
There is no doubt that Cunningham has handled things poorly in many respects but one thing that needs to be recognised is that Cunninghams main task is to build a younger squad now
Watching the hurling back here. Ballyea are an all-merciful shower, hurleys flying back into lads faces, sneaky punches into faces and waist high pulls. Fair play to the Cuala lads not responding to this thuggish behaviour.
A lot of the players he has fallen out with are not pushing on too. Treacy, Durkin, Ryan, Kelly, Sutcliffe,Mcaffrey, Boland, Cronin are all under 30 and in a lot of cases closer to 20. It would be a lot easier build a team if these lads are still involved. Instead we have Cunningham putting on an 18 year old as a sub to mark Brendan Bugler and taking the young lad back off again after 10 mins.
Building a new team my hole. He is in his third year for fuck sake and we are getting worse every year.
Ah here maroon.
Tommys were awful in the semi.
Congratulations to cuala.
There were one or two sides might be rueing losing games as they might have had a tilt at the final, but Tommys arenât one of them imo. They were destroyed in the semi by an average enough team.