Club Championships 2024

Any level? Ah cmon now.

I never have. Just in that much space standing beside a fella in the corner and walking round beside the other marker like that. I’ve seen the sweeping in front thing. Maybe it happens a lot I probably haven’t seen a huge amount of club football outside underage in recent years.

But shur he was a young lad told to double up on a dangerous player. Did you really think he’d be sweeping like Colm Cavanagh? He did what he was told, rightly or wrongly. His direct opposite was probably down the other end of the field doing some sort of shite as well, but that wouldnt suit me mans narrative.

Listen, I think its bollocks, but its what you get when you have lads listening to the shite coaching that comes out of lads who appear to know it all.

Therein lies the problem

Yep. But its not that simple, because at no point in that entire clip to we see a corner forward wandering around unoccupied.

I’m going to do a full 180 on this and say that this must have added tremendous razzmatazz to the occasion/spectacle.

The young lads themselves must have been buzzing feeding off the frenzy of the crowd as they watched this unfold.

An update on the current state of affairs in Wexford.

St Anne’s and Naomh Eanna played out a 0-22 apiece draw in the top of the table clash in Group A. The Anne’s keeper Andrew Kennedy converting a late free to level the scores. Ferns leapfrogged Glynn-Barntown into 3rd place in that group with a 0-27 to 1-15 win in Bellfield. While youngster Simon Roche scored a dramatic late goal to secure a 5-15 to 3-19 victory for Oulart against Crossabeg-Ballymurn. Both teams look destined for the relegation semi-finals but Oulart will still have hopes of catching Glynn-Barntown. Of course with the new format you can still technically win the championship from 6th spot in the round robin.

In the other group St Martin’s produced a very impressive performance to dismantle Oylegate. Rory O’ Connor with a kicked goal that will garner attention on social media. 5-20 to 0-15 the final score. Maybe the Martin’s are coming back to their best after a stuttering start to the championship. The Harriers are on to 4 points from 4 games after a 0-18 to 0-15 win against the Rapps. The Enniscorthy men still searching for their first points of the campaign. The big talking point from this game was the aforementioned collision between Richie Kehoe and Oisin Pepper. The performance of the weekend undoubtedly goes to Cloughbawn who ended the Shels 100% record in championship with a resounding 3-22 to 1-18 victory. Connal Flood amongst the goals again for the victors who are more than holding their own on their return to senior. I’d love to see Flood have another run with Wexford.

In the intermediate Bunclody and Rathnure kept their unbeaten records in tact and meet next weekend in the top of the table clash. Bunclody had 4 points to spare against neighbours Askamore while Rathnure were convincing winners against Fethard. The other game in that group saw Horeswood defeat Tara Rocks by 3-19 to 2-21 thanks to a brace of goals from Wexford footballer Sean Nolan. In the other group Blackwater secured a first win of the campaign by beating Gusserane 3-17 to 3-13. Meanwhile Taghmon-Camross turned the tables as they beat the previously unbeaten St James’ by a point. Buffers Alley played out a second successive draw, this time against Craanford.

Davidstown secured a fine win against Liam Mellows in the intermediate A. The latter possibly suffering a slight bit due to the return of “two on, two off” in place of the previous split. Geraldine O’ Hanrahans still leading the way in that group after a resounding 6-14 to 1-16 win against Ballygarrett. A concerning result for Realt Na Mara who have shipped some beatings this season. Oulart’s second team overcame Clongeen by a goal while the top of the table clash in that group saw Monageer edge out Cushinstown by a point. Those two could cross paths again later in the knockout stages. Peter and Ed will be delighted with Monageer’s winning run.

In the Carlow SFC reigning champions Éire Óg got a fright from Intermediate champions Clonmore before eventually pulling away to win 2-9 to 1-7. The Hacketstown men acquitting themselves well in their first senior game in almost 20 years, while Pal beat the bookies championship favourites Rathvilly by 2. A patched up MLR team suffered heartache again as a last gasp Shane Clarke point won the day for Bagenalstown. Old Leighlin could be worth watching after their 2-12 to 1-10 win against 2022/23 finalists Tinryland. St Mullins must’ve been straight out of the pub and minus Mouse/James Doyle for their 3-12 to 0-3 intermediate loss to Fenagh. While Kildavin-Clonegal had the result of the week in intermediate beating Myshall by 3-13 to 0-8.

1995 Leinster finalists An Tóchar are enjoying a renaissance in Wicklow with the Nolan brothers to the fore. They beat reigning champions Blessington yesterday to go 4/4. I’m fairly sure one of them missed THAT chance against Kildare in the long since forgotten Leinster football championship last spring. Kiltegan secured a comeback victory against 1984 Leinster finalists Tinahealy. AGB beat Dunlavin where the score was 0-4 to 0-0 at half-time. Shades of the Maudlintown 0-8 to Ferns 0-3 game in the Wexford intermediate football last week. While the 2022 Champions St Pat’s are under serious pressure after another defeat, this time against Baltinglass of Kevin O’ Brien and All-Ireland club title fame. Wicklow now operating the Wexford SFC and apparently Derry system of 4 from 6 advancing to the quarter-finals. I see Carnew are 4/4 in Intermediate after beating Laragh. Ben Brosnan a serious addition to their hopes.

Round 4 of the Dublin SHC returns this weekend.

Group 1

Cuala vs St Brigids

Two teams currently in the relegation spots and relying on other results to work out for them if they are to get to the knockout stages. Both teams were game in defeat the last day out without really challenging for the win. The return of King Con for Cuala the last day was a big fillup for them. His presence here should see them over the line. If they get ahead they’ll need to kick on as score diff could come into play with the draws already in the group. Brigids will be bouyed by the returning pair of Alan Nolan and Paul Winters from suspension, however it’s Cuala by 6+ for me with the caveat of Con playing. Otherwise they’ll struggle over the line without him.

Lucan vs Kilmacud Crokes

Possibly the game of the weekend. Both teams just need 1 point from their remaining two group games to ensure qualification to the knockout stages. Crokes picked up a good point 4 weeks ago drawing with Na Fianna. They were down a good few bodies that day. If the likes of Ronan Hayes, Alex Considine, Fergal Whitely and Davy Crowe are back then you’d have to fancy them here. Lucan are a strange one. They are a can give every team a rattle on their day but are always capable of only scraping over the line when against inferior opposition. They did catch Crokes last year in their opening group game, but I fancy Crokes to get through here by 4+.

Group 2

Whitehall vs St Vincents.

A win here for Vincents will see them top the group with a 100% record. They have a bye on gameday 5. Like Lucan they can put it up to anyone on their day but struggle to wins when red hot favourites. The last day vs Craobh being a case in point. Shooting efficiency being their achilles heel. Whitehall after a game first half capitulated vs Boden the last day losing by 15 points. They were missing their talisman at FF, Eoghan O Donnell. Him being available really is key to their chances. Whitehall probably have one eye on gameday 5 where their fate awaits. With that in mind I give Vins the nod.

Ballyboden vs St Judes

Boden got back on track the last day and should kick on again on Saturday to ensure qualification to the QFs. They are still trying to settle on a team and an honest but limited Judes outfit should give them a tougher game than what they got vs Whitehall the last day out. Judes will also be looking to gameday 5 where their game vs Whitehall will more than likely determine whether they are in a QF or relegation playoff.

Any lad streaming GAA from the likes of Clubber on a dodgy box should be ashamed of himself

Streaming is now embedded in the association. Counties that aren’t providing any coverage in 2024, like Limerick, are a complete outlier. This development has brought difficulties though. Tyrone GAA showed every club championship match from senior to junior in 2023. A drop in subscriptions was blamed on modified Firesticks and apps to pirate Live Streams. ‘Dodgy boxes,’ basically.

“This is the single biggest issue we are working on right now,” says Doyle.

“We talked about it as a team last week. We are gung-ho on it for the next few months. We will do our best. It is hard, there are a lot of smart people who are basically illegally taking our stream and they could ruin it for everyone. That is the reality.

Oulart can’t get ahead of glynn as g/b have them on head to head. Like you say fabulous result for cloughbawn against a shelmaliers team who don’t seem to have the scoring forwards to win a Co championship.
OisĂ­n foley with 3-9 for crossabeg. Himself and flood will be big additions for wexford next year.

Is there anyone in intermidiate to challenge rathnure? Hwh bunclody possibly? Doubtful though.

You’re correct actually. I’d forgotten that they were on 4 points having beaten Crossabeg and Oulart. They’ll avoid a repeat of last years relegation final.

A full strength Fethard should have the firepower to threaten Rathnure with the likes of Mikey Dwyer, Cian Byrne, Cillian Byrne and Garrett Foley. But it didn’t play out that way in the group game at the weekend. The Alley have a decent group of young lads who were in an U21 final last year but draws with Blackwater and Craanford wouldn’t fill you with optimism. Bunclody not quite the same threat at intermediate since Billy Kelly moved to Australia. You feel like they might have left their chance behind when beaten by Cloughbawn in 2019 and Oylegate on the awful wet day in 2021. There’s always a strong senior team coming down who are better than them. Like Oulart in 2022, Cloughbawn last year or Rathnure this season.

Top scorers from from the weekend:

Lads if you had someone going scouting another match doing opposition analysis, and they were doing a pen and paper job, what kinda things would you be looking for?

A) Did they generally play with a sweeper? (how long in the match did they do it)
B) Did they like to shoot from distance much (even if not scoring them)
C) Game changer players
D) Full belt puckout distance
E) If backs were free did they use the short puckout

Anything else?

What they were at on opposition puck outs

Which corner backs to allow have the puckout.

A big one. Unless they’re a top senior team then chances are that they’re carrying a corner-back who doesn’t want the ball. In either code. Particularly pertinent in football.

Identify any potential weak links in their defence for your match-ups. Put one of your best forwards on them. Even if it takes them 5-10 minutes to make the change then it could be worth it.

Not dissing football but surely any corner back can hand pass the ball off, there’s far more that can go wrong in hurling.

It’s a regular occurrence now that teams will set traps in football where everyone pushes up one and the uncomfortable corner-back has no easy out ball bar a risky crossfield pass to the free man way over on the other side. In club hurling there’s still less of an inclination to play that short pass unless you really trust the corner-back.

If you press up on everyone else and let one corner back who’s not comfortable on the ball have it, without the luxury of going straight back to the goalie, it can lead to tremendous fun.

Depends the level / division you’re talking about.