as i see some of the wexford discussing their club championship though we could find out what the craic is all over the country
right lads in clare the last of the hurling quarter finals is on this weekend with crusheen playing clarecastle…the winners take on clonlara in the semi’s…newmarket on fergus play st josephs/doora-barefield in the other semi…the county winner will probably come fro nemarket/josephs semi final…
in the football its doonbeg v liscannor and kilkee v kilmurrey ibrickane
famer/dancingaby whats the craic in leitrim
in limerick it is ahane v adare in the hurling final don’t know who is in the football…
Intermediate Relegation final: John Lockes v Glenmore. In 1999 the 'Lockes were intermediate champs and Glenmore were senior champs. How the mighty have fallen.
Football is over and done with. I think Mullinavat won it. Fran would know.
Hurling, yeah Ballyhale are savage strong. Carrickshock have John Leahy over them, doing very well too. James Stephens strong too. They have O’Loughlains in the other semi. Both semi’s are derby’s of sorts, the Village v O’Loughlains there’s no love lost. Same on the other side. Looking at it it’ll probably be Shamrocks v James Stephens but you’d never know. Shock’s are dark horses.
yeah if ballyhale were to get out of kilkenny/leinster and and portumna were to get out of galway/connaught then they would be due to meet in an all ireland semi final…that would a hum dinger of a match…
07 Champions, the mighty Camross (big name Zane Keenan) were downed last weekend by the 06 Champions Rathdowney/Errill (big name Brian Campion) in first semi final.
Portlaoise (big name Cahir Healy) defeated up and coming but injury struck Clough/Ballacolla (big name Willie Hyland) in the other semi final.
Hurling final is Portlaoise v Rathdowney Errill, 06 champs v 05 champs.
Football sees the semi finals this weekend.
Kingpins and overwhelming favourites Portlaoise (big name, take your pick, Colm Parkinson, Zach Tuohy, Peter McNulty) take on up and coming and 06 IFC Champs Mountmellick (big name John O Loughlin) in first game.
Other semi sees up and coming O Dempseys (big name Peter O Leary) take on surprise packets Timahoe (big name Brendan Quigley/Pauric Clancy, some midfield).
I fancy the Town and Timahoe final with nobody to come close to The Town who have bigger fish to fry.
Yea a classy boy, bit of a size and go in him, had a feeling the name woud ring a bell with you, he was plenty tidy for LIT this year. Got a colleges All Star I believe.
he could well have…was superb against ul at wing forward scored 3 or 4 points the same day(was only a fresher) including a beauty with the last puck of the game to level it…
Ya I expect Croom to win it out this year, can’t see any of the other teams stopping them. Phelan is still out injured I think for Pats, either mungret or oola should give them a good game.
The Lockes have a great chance of staying up,Glenmore have been going very poor all Year and were desperate against Graignamanagh(who could go down next year id say) in thier last outing,no forward power whatsoever and a back line thats creaking in one or two places,throw in a 40 plus 4 stone overweight Keeper and your looking at a very beatable outfit from a Callan point of view,i heard your lot were fightin in the pubs after yer last outing, thats a great start for ye imo,nothing like a big row to set you up for the next game,a row in the dressing room before you go out is even better,your lads will hurl like fuck after the row i guarantee you.Callans minors exited the B Minor championship very tamely considering they were favourites to win it out.Rower/Inistioge will win it handy now,they should easily beat Conahy in Saturdays semi final in the Bridge.
In Cork the Hurling champions are known, Sarsfields. Extremely young side who have brought a breath of fresh air to Cork hurling (much needed).
The Intermediate Hurling has two grades, Bandon & Carrigaline meet in the “A” Final. The Premier still has Douglas and Blarney (Semi-Final) with Coursey Rovers in the Final. Douglas strong favourites here, saw them twice this year and they are impressive, should never have been relegated last year. Eoin Cadogan plays for them, and a guy called Mark Harrington, watch out for him.
The Premier Intermediate Football and Senior Football Finals are on Sunday. 4 City teams in it, St. Finbarrs and St. Vincents in the Intermediate, if Ronan Curran is available i think the Barrs will sneak it, this is a replay.
The Senior is a southside derby between Douglas (see mentioned names above) and of course Nemo Rangers. Nemo the hottest of favourites here, and i agree with that, but Douglas are the future. They are using their massive pick and underage success now, and they have even more coming along after it.
The Intermediate “A” in football should be won by Valley Rovers (Eamon Collins, great white hope hurler of few years ago, and Fiacra Lynch).