Club championships

Dublin hurling:
a few shocks the hurling 1/4 finals last weekend…Up and coming Lucan Sarsfields beat former North Wall Kingpins O’tooles…while in a bigger shock Crumlin beat Croabh Chiarain of Donnycarney…Vincents caused a bit of shock drawing with Champions Ballyboden St. Enda’s in a niggly affair …replay next wednesday under lights in Parnell…Crokes beat Na Fianna to set up a semi final with Crumlin while Lucan await the winners of Vincents and Boden…

Football:
1/4 finals on this weekend…One of the last parish teams left in Dublin Senior football,St. Marys of Saggart will be up against it when they face a star studded St. Oliver Plunketts from the Navan Road, who’s team includes the 3 Brogan Brothers,Jason Sherlock,Ross McConnell, Offaly full back Conor Evans,former Laois footballer David Sweeney and former Cavan defender Michael Brides…Paul Curran managed Thomas Davis from Tallaght take on reigning Dublin and All-Ireland champions St. Vincents from Marino…Vincents have added Mayo forward Austin O’ Malley to last year’s panel…Ballymun kickhams who have former Dubs Paddy Christie and Ian Robertson in their team will play Ballyboden St. Enda’s from the Firhouse Road who have Conal Keaney, Collie Moran along with former Dublin footballer Darren Homan in their team…the last 1/4 final on sunday sees favourites Kilmacud Crokes from Stilorgan take on UCD from Ireland…Crokes will be looking to The Magee brothers, Paul Griffin,Mark Vaughan and new recruits Brian Kavanagh of Longford and Aidan Morrisey Of Wexford…Ray cosgrove is currently suspended I’m informed…UCD will look to… who knows what intercounty footballers they’ll pull out of the hat for the day…

[quote=“scumpot”]Dublin hurling:
former Dublin footballer Darren Homan in their team…[/quote]

more clubs than tiger woods at this stage… played with him in Towers, massive man.

Yeah…hardy boy alright…think he’s played for st. kevins, thomas davis,ballyboden,towers and now back to boden…another former towers man Derek Byrne will be lining out for Ballymun kickhams on saturday…

Very disappointing to see 2 clubs like that in demise. The Lockes have been falling slowly over the last 5/6 years. I can’t figure out how a town with such a big pick can let it slip like that. Glenmore’s fall from grace has been a lot more sudden but they never had anything coming through when I was underage so you could see it coming.

I think Mullinavat won the Senior football and Mooncoin won the intermediate.

Carrickshock will give the shamrocks a good lash next weekend. Don’t be surprised if they come out on top. The village should come through in the other tie

[quote=“scumpot”]Dublin hurling:

Football:
1/4 finals on this weekend…One of the last parish teams left in Dublin Senior football,St. Marys of Saggart will be up against it when they face a star studded St. Oliver Plunketts from the Navan Road, who’s team includes the 3 Brogan Brothers,Jason Sherlock,Ross McConnell, Offaly full back Conor Evans,former Laois footballer David Sweeney and former Cavan defender Michael Brides… St. Enda’s from the Firhouse Road who have Conal Keaney, Collie Moran along with former Dublin footballer Darren Homan in their team…the last 1/4 final on sunday sees favourites Kilmacud Crokes from Stilorgan take on UCD from Ireland…Crokes will be looking to The Magee brothers, Paul Griffin,Mark Vaughan and new recruits Brian Kavanagh of Longford and Aidan Morrisey Of Wexford…Ray cosgrove is currently suspended I’m informed…UCD will look to… who knows what intercounty footballers they’ll pull out of the hat for the day…[/quote]

It seems like a bit of a joke, all this transferring. It’s a bit like the MSL Soccer league down here in Cork. How could you stay loyal to someone like Homan?
Did Sherlock always play with those lads.

crusheen beat clarecastle by a point yesterday to complete the semi-final line up…
the mighty clon v crusheen
newmarket v st josephs

the games are on next saturday and sunday in the park…broadford and sixmilebridge won their respective semi-finals in the intermediate today and they will meet in the final…wolfe tones beat the mills in the junior a final saturday evening…

in the football liscannor qualified for the final and as i type this kilmurrey ilbricane are beating kilkee by 8 points and should get the other finbal spot…

Glencar Manorhamilton won the Leitrim senior football final today beating Bornacoola 2-9 to 0-7.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]It seems like a bit of a joke, all this transferring. It’s a bit like the MSL Soccer league down here in Cork. How could you stay loyal to someone like Homan?
Did Sherlock always play with those lads.[/quote]

Sherlock’s been through a few clubs himself - as far as I recall he was with Sylvester’s before he went to Na Fianna. Not sure if he went straight to Plunketts from Na Fianna or if he had another stop in between.

Sherlock wasn’t with Sylvester’s I don’t think - you confusing him with Keith Galvin, his fellow minor? He went straight from Na Fianna to Plunketts as far as I know.

sherlock was never with Syls - guiden & finnegan from galway would have been the 2 highest profile players - they actually have a wexican bogballer darkening our village these days (roche??)

Have no idea why I thought Sherlock played with Sylvester’s or even who I’m confusing him with. A terribly sloppy error. Might toddle over to Parnell Park on Wednesday evening for that Vincent’s/Ballyboden game.

Cork.

Sarsfields beat Bride Rovers (thank god) in the Senior Hurling Champ and Nemo beat Douglas easy today in the Senior Football Champ, 13 to 5 I think.

Sarsfields also hammered Midleton today in the Hurling U-21 County Championship, which is pretty incredible considering about a third of Midleton’s team played for the Cork minors once upon a time. Either way, Sars and Midleton are the future powerhouses of Cork hurling.

[quote=“Turenne”]Cork.

Sarsfields beat Bride Rovers (thank god) in the Senior Hurling Champ and Nemo beat Douglas easy today in the Senior Football Champ, 13 to 5 I think.

Sarsfields also hammered Midleton today in the Hurling U-21 County Championship, which is pretty incredible considering about a third of Midleton’s team played for the Cork minors once upon a time. Either way, Sars and Midleton are the future powerhouses of Cork hurling.[/quote]

faint praise for sars & middleton

Well the Lockes are finally gone down to Junior after 4 failed attempts in the last 5 years. Got beat by a point by Glenmore after some dodgy goalkeeping that left in 2 goals. I think we’ve found our level. Only thing is that we’re down with the likes of Slieverue, Piltown, Windgap, Kilmacow in the Southern draw. We left this shit behind us 21 years ago, bitch to have to go through with it again…

i know a few from down around slieverue locke…what would there junior team be like…i believe they had a lad on the kilkenny 21’s this year…

They’ve had a few coming through at underage level. Good friend of mine from there too but he was saying that it’s a divided parish as such and will never win anything. Only thing I can think of is that Callan bring on the players they’ve been nurtouring at underage, win the Junior within 2 years and have a craic off the AI series; might bring a bit of pride back into the parish.

U-16 lost also over the weekend, think the auld boy was cut up more with that result as they were supposed to be a good team.

[quote=“The Puke”]

in the football liscannor qualified for the final and as i type this kilmurrey ilbricane are beating kilkee by 8 points and should get the other finbal spot…[/quote]

Kilkee beaten by 15 points. kilmurry look very strong with all the o dwyers back.

yeah heard a few updated on clare fm yesterday evening…hard to look past them, they have had some great underage teams in the past 6/7 years and won a munster senior club in 2005(?)…wasn’t one of the o dwyers playing his fotball up the country somewhere, kildare i think, is he still playing above…

michael may have been, but all four lined out for them yesterday and they owned the game. but for mike o sheas free’s for kilkee they may not have scored 4 points.

West Limerick Kingpins Drom/Broadford and regining champions Ballylanders will contest this years senior football in Limerick.