Club championships

[quote=“The Puke”]Broadford/Drumcollagher beat Kilmurry on a scoreline of 6 points to 5 to win the munster football title…Kilmacud Crokes beat Rhode of Offaly to win the Leinster title…

Crossmaglen and Ballinderry’s replay was postponed…Anyone know why?[/quote]

Sad end to a great year today. 25 games unbeaten. Was listening to it on the wireless. Commentator, Syl? was surprisingly decent. Thank God Matthew McMahon seems to have gone. Auld lad was at it. Said McMahon, Odran, Callinan and Ian McInerney were the best. When you score 5 points in any game you can’t expect to win. Fair play to Micheal McDermott for his great work.

Syl O Conner is a legend…He is also PRO for the county board and a gentleman to boot…I would like to put him up as a Celebrity Spot but it isn’t worth the abuse…Rumour has it that he is stepping down from the county board and Clare FM and is after being poached by either RTE, TV3 or Setanta for commentry next season…

A fine hurler himself in his day and won a few county medals with the bridge…

Don’t get me started on that useless cunt McMahon…

Fantastic achievement by Drom/Broadford yesterday in bringing to Munster senior football club championship back to Limerick for the first time in 31 years.

This is a great boost to football in the county, and with a very favourable draw in the inter county championship this year, this could be a big year for Limerick football.

Crossaglen beat Ballinderry to win the Ulster football championship…Seemed to be a dirty enough match with a nice bit of niggle going on off the ball…

Hangblaa who won the football final in Waterford…Bit of a joke having the final in December…Fair long season for lads to be playing/training

[quote=“The Puke”]Crossaglen beat Ballinderry to win the Ulster football championship…Seemed to be a dirty enough match with a nice bit of niggle going on off the ball…

Hangblaa who won the football final in Waterford…Bit of a joke having the final in December…Fair long season for lads to be playing/training[/quote]

How did Broadford finish up this year Puke? Heard they won their semi-final and heard nothing after that.

Got to the final and were well beaten by Blarney…Scored three frees in the first 5 minutes and didn’t score again…Think it was something like 2-8 to 3 points for a finish up…Davy brought them on leaps and bounds…A few of the broadford lads I know were telling me back in august that they were going nowhere fast, next thing they got a couple of wins and momentum kicked in…Good year for them, they won a 21s C championship and an amalgamation of themselves and the mills beat the Clon in the minor B final…

Blarney and Cappataggle won their respective semi finals and now play each other in the All Ireland Intermediate club hurlig final…Ballyhale and Portumna is only a matter of weeks away and has the potential to be one of the best club games there has been in a long time, hopefully the get a half decent day weather wise

Blarney and Dripsey in All-Ireland Finals on the same day. Only 2 miles between them. Blarney should be favourites against the Galway team. Not sure about Dripsey, the Killkenny Junior Champs are usually of a very high standard. Dripsey are a fine side though.

Michaels foilmore and Skellig Rangers represent South Kerry in the IFC and JFC respectively. IFC final should be good, St Michaels of Kerry v St Michaels of Galway. Rangers will play an English Club side I believe, Lancs side I think. Ballyroan of Laois lost by a point to Michaels of Galway in the IF, wraps well and truly kept on MJ Tierney of Ballyroan.

Serious footballers in South Kerry in fairness.

I think Cushendall are worth a score at 9/2 to win their semi final. De la Salle are no great shakes. They were well beaten by the WIT intermediate team a few weeks ago. Waterford sides dont have much of a record against Ulster opposition . I remember Mount Sion coming a cropper a few years ago.

Why are people so hung up on DLS, they are a fine team, i have seen them twice in the flesh and another time on tv. They were the best team in Munster by a fair shot in my opinion. And i expect its better they will get, very young team in general. And who gives a monkeys about a challenge game.

I would say they’ll have 3-4 points to spare in the end.
Unfortunately i can’t see them beating whoever wins the other semi.

Very surprised that Cushendall at 9/2 as it will be close. It certainly was not a DLS senior hurling team that were beaten by WIT. Things are going well with a few good challenge matches on the board at this stage. Everybvody is fit and well, and we will give Cushendall a right rattle. Couldnt give a fook who doesn’t rate us though.

C’mon the DLS

don’t know anything about cushendall but DLS are no great shakes…take out Moran and Mullane they would have very little…if they get past cushendall I’d expect another Croke park massacre for Mullane at the hands of kilkenny opposition unfortunately…

True.
It was probably the schools team anyway.
Just alot of clowns judge teams on what stars they have, and usually without seeing them.
DLS remind me alot of the Skibbereen team in '92. Couple of very good county players but not full of stars, backed by a very strong and successful school coming behind them and one man dragging them through from time to time with good scores. Mullane is obviously who i’m talking about for DLS, Mick McCarthy RIP was unreal for Skibb. Both clubs hadn’t won a county title ever before either. Am i right in saying that for DLS Hangblaa?

I remember that Skib Eire g final well. The late Bobby Miller managed that Eire g side, dropped dead on a sideline in Laois a year ago. The years take our heros.

Take out 2 county players from any club team and they will become average. And by not mentioning Brian Phelan it leads me to think you have never seen them, as he has been immense for them. His performance against Sarsfields in Cork was unbelieveable at times.
The Munster Club champions are never “No great shakes”. It just happens there are two kinda freak club teams around at the moment in Portumna and Ballyhale. But this doesn’t mean everyone else is average.

They do indeed MBB. We followed that Skibb team everywhere myself and the old fella. For no particular reason at the time other than they were from Cork, were new and refreshing and had beaten Nemo! One of their players ended up training my club and we won a good bit with him, great days. The replay had some crowd.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]True.
It was probably the schools team anyway.
Just alot of clowns judge teams on what stars they have, and usually without seeing them.
DLS remind me alot of the Skibbereen team in '92. Couple of very good county players but not full of stars, backed by a very strong and successful school coming behind them and one man dragging them through from time to time with good scores. Mullane is obviously who i’m talking about for DLS, Mick McCarthy RIP was unreal for Skibb. Both clubs hadn’t won a county title ever before either. Am i right in saying that for DLS Hangblaa?[/quote]

Thats spot on caoimhaoin…

For cumspot to say take Mullane and Moran out and they are ordinary is just a ridiculous statement. Of course they would be they are a club team, but as you say Phelan has been the outstanding player in the munster championship games.