I haven’t looked yet, but a mate who is very familiar with the club championships mentioned it to me to check.
You forgot to mention that they are the most despised football team in the county, their players are widely considered knackers, and their young women are like shooting practice when they hit nearby Lahinch. So people say anyway.
Ballyhale Shamrocks v Portumna
Handicap Betting
Ballyhale Shamrocks (-3.0) 11 - 10
Handicap Draw (-3.0) 10 - 1
Portumna (+3.0) 5 - 6
De La Salle v Cushendall Handicap Betting
De La Salle (-4.0) 10 - 11
Handicap Draw (-4.0) 10 - 1
Cushendall (+4.0) evens
Even as a DLS man the Cush -4 is outstanding. Port -3 also v good.
From RTE:
De La Salle v Cushendall
De La Salle’s John Mullane insists he and his team-mates will not let complacency stand in their way of a place in the AIB All-Ireland Club Hurling final as they prepare for Sunday’s semi-final against Antrim’s Cushendall at Parnell Park, throw-in 2.30pm.
Speaking to RT Sport, Mullane stressed: ‘No, absolutely not. We probably went down that road in the Munster Club final, but if we are to be beaten on Sunday it won’t be from being complacent. We’re fully focused on this mighty task to beat a very good Cushendall team so hopefully we can.’
The first time Waterford and Munster Club champions booked their place in this weekend’s All-Ireland semi-final with victory over Adare in November, and Mullane paid tribute to the progress made by the club in recent years.
Mullane, one of the outstanding performers for club and county in recent years, said: ‘Over the years we never had the players of the ability of the Mount Sions and the Ballygunners. However, players came through over the course of the last three to five years and we were able to get a team together that could match Mount Sion and Ballygunner.’
Looking back on the Munster final win, he revealed: ‘It was an incredible feeling really, words couldn’t describe the way I was feeling, and you know I suppose when the final whistle went my first thoughts were with the late Sonny Walsh and the late John Barron, who were two incredible figures in our club and it’s when you have days like this that you think of the people who aren’t with us today.’
Ulster kingpins Cushendall also harbour genuine hopes of advancing to the St Patrick’s Day final, and captain Aidan Delargy believes that self-belief holds the key to victory over the Waterford outfit.
Delargy admitted: 'To get this club through to the All-Ireland final it would mean so much to the parish of Cushendall. If we can make it and give this club at least the chance of challenging for the title at Croke Park on St Patrick’s Day, it would be an absolute dream come true for the parish.
‘I don’t think I would be able to find the right words to describe it if we do get over De La Salle. It would be the best feeling ever.’
He added: ‘You just have to believe in yourself, believe that you can beat whoever it is that is in front of you. That is how I see it.’
Can’t fooking wait.
C’mon De La Salle ta fook !
[quote=“HangBlaa”]Can’t fooking wait.
C’mon De La Salle ta fook ![/quote]
If ye could beat them by less than 4 points too that would be nice HB, cheers.
Will let the lads know Kev, I am sure they will oblige.
[quote=“HangBlaa”]Ballyhale Shamrocks v Portumna
Handicap Betting
Ballyhale Shamrocks (-3.0) 11 - 10
Handicap Draw (-3.0) 10 - 1
Portumna (+3.0) 5 - 6
De La Salle v Cushendall Handicap Betting
De La Salle (-4.0) 10 - 11
Handicap Draw (-4.0) 10 - 1
Cushendall (+4.0) evens
Even as a DLS man the Cush -4 is outstanding. Port -3 also v good.[/quote]
Who has put them prices up?
Success generally brings its begrudgers particularly in rural Ireland. The quality of football played by the club is admired all over Clare and further afield.
I’d love to hear you repeat that statement in Cooneys
Where you from WTB?
Copy and pasted from PP y’day evening
Have a sneaking suspicion Corofin will beat Kilmacud. Corofin have lost Mikey Comer who would’ve man-marked either Vaughan or Kavanagh which is a huge blow but still think they’ve the quality to go through.
Their back line even without Comer is probably the best in club football so if they can get the scores up front they could sneak it by a point or two.
Drom +5 @ 10/11 isn’t a bad looking bet either lads. If you look at Droms previous games in this they have stiffled the oppositions attack very well and the games have been low scoring. Obviously Crossmaglen are another step up again but Drom have risen to everything put against them so far this season.
The problem with Drom is they play a possession game of holding the ball for long periods which will play right into Cross`s hands. But at them odds there not a bad price.
http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/crossmaglen%20(2).jpg
Bit of an irony Oisin advertising Bar One Bookmakers.
[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/ImageGallery/crossmaglen%20(2).jpg
Bit of an irony Oisin advertising Bar One Bookmakers.[/quote]
Shur why not, he’s giving something back to a profession that gave him so much enjoyment.
[quote=“Gaillimharais”]Have a sneaking suspicion Corofin will beat Kilmacud. Corofin have lost Mikey Comer who would’ve man-marked either Vaughan or Kavanagh which is a huge blow but still think they’ve the quality to go through.
.[/quote]
what a name…gone bareknuckle boxing for the day instead is he??..
Versatile coach Casey revelling in his De La Salle roots
By Jim O’Sullivan
PROUD Waterford man Mick Casey was part of the remarkable Wexford football odyssey last season, sharing the training and coaching duties with Jason Ryan.
Now, he’s living the real dream of seeing De La Salle embarking on an unexpected journey which they hope will earn them a place in the AIB All-Ireland club hurling final in Croke Park on St Patrick’s Day.
He’s not just the team trainer, but also coaches — “most of the stuff is with the ball and hurley” — and helps out as physio.
“This is what it’s all about. You can dress up the inter-county stuff as much as you like but the club is really where it’s at,” he says. “It’s close to the bone, it is your bones really.”
Players may get caught up in the glamour of inter-county competition they have been fortunate that John Mullane, Kevin Moran and Brian Phelan have provided massive leadership along the way.
There is no question of anybody taking anything for granted — prior to winning their first county championship last October, the club only tasted victory in a minor championship with Casey involved as a 17-year-old.
That was back in 1989 and the team included current manager Owen Dunphy and selector Alan Duggan.
"It’s total fairytale stuff,’’ he adds. “It’s easy for us to be focused and romantic as a group of players because we have won nothing.” Notably, their provincial debut — against the Cork champions Sarsfields, in Pirc U Chaoimh — came just a week after their county championship breakthrough, which meant that celebrations had to be put on told.
"It wasn’t really the management who decided that,’’ he commented. “This was really the players’ call. To a man there wasn’t one crib or gripe about it. The attitude was, ‘look it’s our first time, let’s go for it and try and do something in Munster that no Waterford team has done in a while and really get our heads above it.’”
He has nightmares when he thinks back to the Munster final, how they almost blew their chance of taking the title. “The occasion got to us in the first half. The lads seemed to play the occasion rather than the hurling we have come to expect throughout the year. We lost our shape completely. We badly needed to batten down the hatches until half time and change things around.”
Afterwards they celebrated on the field not just with their own people, but with supporters from all over the county and from rival clubs. And, that goodwill has been matched in recent weeks. "Because of the bad weather we struggled to find venues to train and clubs generously offered the use of their facilities,’’ he added.
It worries him that they have been installed as strong favourites, saying: "I just cannot understand how people can write off Cushendall so easily — especially when they are playing us.
“We have never been there before, we have no experience and we have a lot of players that nobody heard of before. If you look at their team, they have seven players with Antrim who are making good strides and are steeped in hurling tradition.”
Will you be travelling HangBlaa…Hopefully ye beat them with a bit to spare…
Would love to see a proud Clareman like John Mullane captaining De La Salle to an All Ireland title
Club championships are great. The real essence of the GAA.
Fact…would love to go to Thurles sunday but have a match, could well be a classic…