Club championships

:D:D:D:D:D:D
I’m surprised you bit at that, i thought it would have been one of the wexicans.

The Barrs in Cork are the worst actually, they are just a joke and uashamidly go after hurlers. Their footballers are 100% home grown. Nemo tend to intice players at around U-12, and they are usually a relation of a Nemo person or something. Most of their outsiders are from a good distance away.
Douglas, despite being the biggest population area in Cork won the County League yesterday with 28 guys on the panel that played from u-6 upwards. An unusual stat for such a huge urban area that is still growing.

Kerry would be the most loyal county in my experience. You could pick about 3 senior teams alone out of all the Kerry players living in Cork that go home every weekend to play for their club. The fact that the league is so competitive and they play mostly on saturdays helps that fact.

I’m surprised you bit at that, i thought it would have been one of the wexicans.

The Barrs in Cork are the worst actually, they are just a joke and uashamidly go after hurlers. Their footballers are 100% home grown. Nemo tend to intice players at around U-12, and they are usually a relation of a Nemo person or something. Most of their outsiders are from a good distance away.
Douglas, despite being the biggest population area in Cork won the County League yesterday with 28 guys on the panel that played from u-6 upwards. An unusual stat for such a huge urban area that is still growing.

Kerry would be the most loyal county in my experience. You could pick about 3 senior teams alone out of all the Kerry players living in Cork that go home every weekend to play for their club. The fact that the league is so competitive and they play mostly on saturdays helps that fact.[/quote]

Shouldnt have bit but am fucked if I’m going to be lumped into the same category as the likes of Fianna and Crokes…

Yea Kerry was the county that came to mind to me for loyalty. I know lads in Dublin and Laois who travel to South Kerry to play still.

Think Morrissey is a teacher around the Kilmacud / Stillorgan area. His club at home is Taghmon / Camross who Ivan Yates managed in the Celebrity Bainisteoir last year. They’re either Intermediate or Junior. They’ve a few handy players including Aindres Doyle who’s been on the Wexford senior panel the last couple of years but playing at a higher standard with Kilmacud has had obvious benefits for Morrissey so I think he’s better off with them.

McGeeney is another one who played with Na Fianna I think.[/quote]

Taghmon-Camross won the Intermediate last year by beating their near neighbours, Glynn-Barntown, in the final.

Think Morrissey is a teacher around the Kilmacud / Stillorgan area. His club at home is Taghmon / Camross who Ivan Yates managed in the Celebrity Bainisteoir last year. They’re either Intermediate or Junior. They’ve a few handy players including Aindres Doyle who’s been on the Wexford senior panel the last couple of years but playing at a higher standard with Kilmacud has had obvious benefits for Morrissey so I think he’s better off with them.

McGeeney is another one who played with Na Fianna I think.[/quote]

Tagmon won the IFC this year in Wford, lost to laois reps in the Leinster IFC.

[quote=“Bandage”]Morrissey’s a primarly school teacher in Kilmacud as far as I know. He could definitely drive 2 hours down to Wexford to play with his club, if he wanted to. But he’s well within his rights to play for Crokes and that’s what he’s decided to do.

Kev, do either stones or glass houses spring to mind?![/quote]

Ye are a very touchy lot ye wexford folk.
My club has got 2 players in about 10 years, both moved into our parish. A couple of years ago a guy won an underage county with us and he was the first guy ever to win a medal that didn’t go to our primary school.
i am not in a glass house and i don’t have any stones. I hate the fact that the Barrs and others do what they do. But it has fuck all to do with me. I got the rise i expected anyway, ye have some cheek to be onto me about being easily wound up.:smiley:

Thats very true, completely forgot about that. On that basis, Morrissey the cunt should return home.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Fianna had a fair amount of blow ins too, O Se and two fellas from Mayo if memory serves me correctly?

Crokes are very very very well off, the 7’s alone is a little goldmine. Like I said earlier, does anyone know what Brian Kavanagh is driving now?
.[/quote]

as much as I hate the c*nts I doubt very much they ever paid anyone…they don’t need to…they have so much coming through for the last 7 to 8 years…intercounty lads will normally
go to the biggest club and the most successful team…In Dublin thats crokes…BTW They aren’t half as well off as people think…

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ye are a very touchy lot ye wexford folk.
My club has got 2 players in about 10 years, both moved into our parish. A couple of years ago a guy won an underage county with us and he was the first guy ever to win a medal that didn’t go to our primary school.
i am not in a glass house and i don’t have any stones. I hate the fact that the Barrs and others do what they do. But it has fuck all to do with me. I got the rise i expected anyway, ye have some cheek to be onto me about being easily wound up.:D[/quote]

Christ Kev, is your default mode to get angry?!

Note, the exclamation mark above, and in my other post that you quoted above.

I wasn’t wound up. I gathered you were making a quip and I delivered a cheeky one liner back and now you’re getting a bit aggressive.

Breathe!

No fear of DLS making the mistakes that were made in september. Its not as if there will be 6k turning up for DLS training sessions.

We are masive underdogs, but we have more than a fair shout.

I totally fogot about Bishopstown.
Players were paid for sure, they got at least 5 or 6 Kerry players to join them a few years ago. I’m totally convinced, as are many B’town people, that they got money. It nearly killed football in the club and is one of the reasons they are now more or less a hurling club. The locals didn’t like it, and especially when it failed to win a county. I’d say most are gone back to their own club now. James O’ Se won All-Ireland Intermediate last week with Foilmore, he was one of them, along with Johnny Crowley and Hussey from Sneem. In Kerry you can get really left out in the cold back home if you transfer.

B’town were backed heavily back then by Paul Montgomery, from Clare who owns a few pubs in Cork, and is disgustingly rich.

Brendan Fennelly is a selector / advisor.

He was involved about 4 years ago, and had to pack it in during the year due to personal health reasons. This year th eclub decided not to get in an outside manager, so Dumbo, Alan Dillon, Jack Duggan took the reins but they knew they were a little short of experience, so they asked Brendan to give a hand, and he has done just that. Great hurling man.

And yes, Mt.Sion are the only other WD club to contest a final, loosing in 1982.

We have a chance to amke history.

[quote=“Bandage”]Christ Kev, is your default mode to get angry?!

Note, the exclamation mark above, and in my other post that you quoted above.

I wasn’t wound up. I gathered you were making a quip and I delivered a cheeky one liner back and now you’re getting a bit aggressive.

Breathe![/quote]

Get off thestage Bandage, where is the anger?
You took the bait, just accept and move on.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Get off thestage Bandage, where is the anger?
You took the bait, just accept and move on.[/quote]

You’re nuts sometimes Kev, but I wouldn’t change you for the world.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I totally fogot about Bishopstown.
Players were paid for sure, they got at least 5 or 6 Kerry players to join them a few years ago. I’m totally convinced, as are many B’town people, that they got money. It nearly killed football in the club and is one of the reasons they are now more or less a hurling club. The locals didn’t like it, and especially when it failed to win a county. I’d say most are gone back to their own club now. James O’ Se won All-Ireland Intermediate last week with Foilmore, he was one of them, along with Johnny Crowley and Hussey from Sneem. In Kerry you can get really left out in the cold back home if you transfer.

B’town were backed heavily back then by Paul Montgomery, from Clare who owns a few pubs in Cork, and is disgustingly rich.[/quote]

Monty is an entrepeneurial legend. Local legend has it that his old lad remortgaged the home place so he could take over Reardons. The rest is history.

Crowley was never the same player after moving to Cork.

[quote=“KIB man”]
Crowley was never the same player after moving to Cork.[/quote]

Not many are.

Malachy Travers plays for them aswell I think in hurling and he is from Gorey. At most a half hour drive. Is Wexford now part of the pale where noone knows their neighbours and community spirit is heading to an out of town shopping centre at the weekends?

Plays for Ballyboden. Lives up around there.
What was the name of that Clare senior footballer that transferred to Wexford and was brought onto the Senior Panel. Philip Smyth or something no? Was brought on against Laois and he was embarrassingly shite for supposedly Clare’s best player. Transferred back to Clare then.

Peter O Dwyer I think was the lad, from the same club as KIB man

That’s him alright.
God he was awful-brought on as a sub and taken off again as he was so bad.

[quote=“Pikeman”]That’s him alright.
God he was awful-brought on as a sub and taken off again as he was so bad.[/quote]

Sure the only lads that play football in clare are failed hurlers or red necks from the west…