Club championships

I was very near the sideline where he was operating Yesterday and i didnt see anyone instructing him to drop back at any stage.
it looked like he did it himself,it wasnt as if his selectors were ultra sharp on the line on any other occasion Yesterday.
Id say Maurice Aylward has managed Ballyhale for the last time,the locals had the knives out for him after the match.

The only thing you Blaas own in Ferrybank is that train station as far as us South Kilkenny folk are concerned,Ferrybank is ours boy:eek:

[quote=“HangBlaa”]After he spends and hour in Ian Flynns pocket on Paddy’s day it will be Joe who… hup hup !!

We were blessed to win yesterday, and it was superior fitness that got us over the line in extratime. Cushendall are very good, some levely hurlers, and tough as nails.

Nobody will give us a prayer now, but I think we have a right chance. Holding Damien Hayes is the key and winning midfield is the way to do that. We have a chance.

(As regards the ball hopping above.

Waterford people who have won stuff include Carrickbeg’s Sean Kelly, Villierstowns John Treacy, Ferrybank’s John O’Shea. So Fook off.)[/quote]

I’ll let you sort out of those lads are really from Waterford or not with The Link Walsh Hangblaa. Congrats on yesterday, some acheivement to get to a final after winning your first county title. It’ll be a tough one on Paddys Day but if your lads can play with the same heart as they’ve done all year and can contain Canning and Hayes then you’ve a decent chance. Its 15 against 15 and your lads have nothing to lose. I’d say DLS will be a fair price as well.

What was the deal with the goal yez got - Mullane was running in front of your wing forward and looked like he was about to take the ball off his hurl. Does he not trust the forwards around him?!

[quote=“Mac”]I’ll let you sort out of those lads are really from Waterford or not with The Link Walsh Hangblaa. Congrats on yesterday, some acheivement to get to a final after winning your first county title. It’ll be a tough one on Paddys Day but if your lads can play with the same heart as they’ve done all year and can contain Canning and Hayes then you’ve a decent chance. Its 15 against 15 and your lads have nothing to lose. I’d say DLS will be a fair price as well.

What was the deal with the goal yez got - Mullane was running in front of your wing forward and looked like he was about to take the ball off his hurl. Does he not trust the forwards around him?![/quote]

Mullane scored 0-5 from play Yesterday,good shooting in fairness,
i think this is only the 2nd Waterford team ever to reach an AI club Final the other being Mount Sion in 82,anyone confirm that?
its a brilliant achievement for a club seen as lesser lights in Waterford up to very recently.Whats Brendan Fennelly got to do with DLS?,i read somewhere that he was involved.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]I was very near the sideline where he was operating Yesterday and i didnt see anyone instructing him to drop back at any stage.
it looked like he did it himself,it wasnt as if his selectors were ultra sharp on the line on any other occasion Yesterday.
Id say Maurice Aylward has managed Ballyhale for the last time,the locals had the knives out for him after the match.[/quote]
Ridiculous considering what he has achieved already, people are such idiots sometimes. The players didn’t play to potential, there is only so much you can do. If TJ Reid done it on his own i thnk it was rather stupid, as he made a MOTM out of Ollie. Reminded me of Galway against Cork in 1986.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]I was very near the sideline where he was operating Yesterday and i didnt see anyone instructing him to drop back at any stage.
Id say Maurice Aylward has managed Ballyhale for the last time,the locals had the knives out for him after the match.[/quote]

What I mean though Link is that it was a pre-planned tactic not necessarily something they just decided on during the game.

I get ya,one tactic of Portumnas that i thought very strange was that they had Ollie Canning following Patrick Ried everywhere,the poor oul Ballyhale lads tried to switch P Ried off Canning because he was being destroyed but Canning followed him to the right corner with the other corner man switching across,it worked anyway Ollie had a stormer but i couldnt figure why they thought P Ried was a bigger treat than his brother Eoin who is a senior panellist.

yup, would agree with that completely. If he had a helmet on, he wouldnt have noticed what was a little tap, but obviously without it on, its going to hurt like fook. Its an odd one alright. and as you say, cant condone hitting in the head, but in such a game, sometimes knocks to the head happen, and more often than not, those wearing a helmet dont get a free, whereas those without do.

Fair play to DLS on getting to the final, but already its sounding like the preparation for the intercounty senior final. Mullane saying this more than makes up for losing with Waterford. It’d be a consolation, no doubt, but nothing should ever make up for losing a final than coming back and winning it. Might just be the mentality down there to be happy to get to finals or something. Portumna should win handy, but you never know.

Someone asked about Crokes bringing on subs, Ray Cosgrove was another ex inter county player brought on. Some bench they have in fairness. Should be a good final too.

Aye that was it, Cossie was the other one.

Still its easy to have that sort of bench when you have three inter county footballers from other county’s playing with you I guess.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Aye that was it, Cossie was the other one.

Still its easy to have that sort of bench when you have three inter county footballers from other county’s playing with you I guess.[/quote]

yup, thats the other side of it alright. From a Wexford POV Adrian Morrisey seemed to play well anyway, did very well setting up the first goal.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Aye that was it, Cossie was the other one.

Still its easy to have that sort of bench when you have three inter county footballers from other county’s playing with you I guess.[/quote]

Especially when you see Crossmaglen with 15 guys from that town who have all played for Armagh, at some level.

I didn’t have a problem with Vincents winning last year as most were originally Dubs, and most urban clubs will pick up players every now and then. But what is the story with Kilmacud, they seem to have a good few outsiders, and guys from other Dublin clubs, anyone know the exact numbers. The Dublin GAA scene seems a bit silly sometimes with players moving all over the place. Ballyboden and Oliver Plunketts come to mind.

Fianna had a fair amount of blow ins too, O Se and two fellas from Mayo if memory serves me correctly?

Crokes are very very very well off, the 7’s alone is a little goldmine. Like I said earlier, does anyone know what Brian Kavanagh is driving now?

With regards to Cross, I believe they have some issues up there of their own regarding some aggressive recruiting of younger players. Still, considering the success they have I guess its easier to entice youngsters their way.

I wonder how his home club feels about him playing in Dublin. How long of a drive is it from Kilmacud to Wexford? He could always train with Kilmacud and play the games with his home club. As an inter county player he could probably have got away with not playing much in the local league and concentrated mainly on championship.

Glory hunting, there was a couple of guys from Wicklow joined them as well a few years ago. I mean for fuck sake Wicklow is only out the road.
But this would be pretty standard for the Leinster GAA folk.:smiley:

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]
But this would be pretty standard for the Leinster GAA folk.:D[/quote]

Bullshit. SHould we begin to talk about the likes of Nemo?

It’s not uncommon for Wexford people to go to Dublin, lose their sense of identity and then abandon their rural roots.

Brilliant. :smiley:

Morrissey’s a primarly school teacher in Kilmacud as far as I know. He could definitely drive 2 hours down to Wexford to play with his club, if he wanted to. But he’s well within his rights to play for Crokes and that’s what he’s decided to do.

Kev, do either stones or glass houses spring to mind?!

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Glory hunting, there was a couple of guys from Wicklow joined them as well a few years ago. I mean for fuck sake Wicklow is only out the road.
But this would be pretty standard for the Leinster GAA folk.:D[/quote]

:smiley: look closer to home…start with the great Christy Ring…

Think Morrissey is a teacher around the Kilmacud / Stillorgan area. His club at home is Taghmon / Camross who Ivan Yates managed in the Celebrity Bainisteoir last year. They’re either Intermediate or Junior. They’ve a few handy players including Aindres Doyle who’s been on the Wexford senior panel the last couple of years but playing at a higher standard with Kilmacud has had obvious benefits for Morrissey so I think he’s better off with them.

McGeeney is another one who played with Na Fianna I think.