Club championships

i couldn’t keep up with this thread and jumped out 2 pages ago, but was there any conclusion reached to the reason why Wexicans seem more eager than most to abandon their home clubs in favour of bigger mostly city clubs?

Denis Byrne moved to Mullinahone. Shinner Brennan and Eamonn Morrisey both moved to Dublin clubs.

Locke

I lost the will to live on this topic a long time ago. And I think I kicked it all off in fact!

Typical Limerick man really HBV - when the going gets tough you’re nowhere to be found :stuck_out_tongue:

Denis Byrne was a falling out, right?
Actually remember Morrisey now, but didn’t he actually play for the Dubs as well? I think that would make it a different situation.
Who’s Shinner?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Now its clearer.
Look i think its wrong, you don’t, and you have explained your natural bias now.

No matter what a county player does, playing is the most important thing. If he spends time doing stuff for the club then he has the time to play with them. He’s obviously in Wexford a fair bit, and isn’t a million miles away.
He’s glory hunting, end of.[/quote]

I wasnt talking about Travers. and as I have tried point out before, the commute from inner city Dublin to south Wexford is not half an hour, or an hour, or even 2 hours.

how can you justify someone being on a club team who doesnt turn up to training or league games and is only there for a couple of championship games in a year. its bad enough with county players being around fook all as it is, its worse when they are never around. you need a panel of committed players in a club. cant have county players living miles away turning up when it comes to championship. ‘ah sure, just because he’s on the county team he thinks he doesnt have to bother training with us or turning up to games’.

as you say, playing is the important bit. so what good is it when the player cant play. and you dont know whats going on with someones personal life to make accusations like that.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Denis Byrne was a falling out, right?
Actually remember Morrisey now, but didn’t he actually play for the Dubs as well? I think that would make it a different situation.
Who’s Shinner?[/quote]

Ooh, embarrassing Kev. Get out the nitpicker when it suits.

way too rowdy for me mac

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Denis Byrne was a falling out, right?
Who’s Shinner?[/quote]

Sweet divine Jesus. Are you a hurling man at all?

wannabe dubs HBV.

as I said earlier, its a massive problem in Wexford that 2 players have left their clubs to play with the club they are currently living in. the county board is up in arms over it all, and the county is completely divided on these 2 players decisions to play in Dublin.

Thanks Gman. I had a couple of trials for the minors but that was about it really

g’way outta dat DJ, we all know you better than that.

[quote=“Gman”]I wasnt talking about Travers. and as I have tried point out before, the commute from inner city Dublin to south Wexford is not half an hour, or an hour, or even 2 hours.

how can you justify someone being on a club team who doesnt turn up to training or league games and is only there for a couple of championship games in a year. its bad enough with county players being around fook all as it is, its worse when they are never around. you need a panel of committed players in a club. cant have county players living miles away turning up when it comes to championship. ‘ah sure, just because he’s on the county team he thinks he doesnt have to bother training with us or turning up to games’.

as you say, playing is the important bit. so what good is it when the player cant play. and you dont know whats going on with someones personal life to make accusations like that.[/quote]

Ah come on, what about all the other county players who make the effort, literally 100’s of them.

I don’t know his personal issues, but you have just told us all on the internet that he has some.

Look maybe its the urban lifestyle ye seem to live in Wexford, but i know of county players making extrodinary efforts to play with their club. One litte example. Noel O’ Leary (who live and works over an hour from Cork, comes and plays a challenge game against my club last year after being at Cork training, as they were tight on numbers. There are many more examples from around the country.

Gorey is about an hours drive from Dublin. Maybe hour and a half tops. Ye lads must have punnets of strawberries in the boot slowing ye down.

I’m not sure the issue has been dealt with. Some Wexford inter county players travel down to play for their county from Dublin on a weekly basis. But they cant be arsed playing for their clubs which would need minimum commitment anyway. Some clubs in Dublin are widely known for paying their blow ins though. 2+2 =?

Some here are praising Travers for coming down to Gorey and training young lads once in a blue moon. Jesus ya he is great, when the club that brought him through the ranks are struggling he fucks off and hour (and a half maybe) up the road. Some clubman and a great example to the young players at the club.:wink:

No wonder Wexford struggle with characters like these in their ranks.

Because i don’t know a parochial nickname of a hurler from another county? Ye are really stretching it now lads.
Do you know Tom Kennys nickname?
I’m guessing Eddie? Fran?

They all transferred counties too which is fair enough.

We have a club player who travels from Galway to Limerick at least once a week for training and another lad who travelled up from Cork for a while last year. WhenI lived in Dublin I stayed playing at home, granted I didn’t make mid week training (did a bit with a club in Dublin) but we had training on Saturdays as well so I used to come down for that.

Ah here, its a half an hour I thought

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Because i don’t know a parochial nickname of a hurler from another county? Ye are really stretching it now lads.
Do you know Tom Kennys nickname?
I’m guessing Eddie? Fran?[/quote]

Shiner Brennan Kev, Shiner Brennan.

He was known by his nickname and not his name. Similar to Cha Fitzpatrick. I’ve never heard a single commentator use Tom Kennys nickname unless his nickname is “the man from Granagh”.