Club championships

Anyone else see this shite? Surely this can’t happen.

Could ire g yet stay up senior

TWO years ago ire g were relegated from the Senior A championship when they lost a relegation tie to Ogonnelloe. However, they didnt go down to Senior B - all because the championship was restructured to lump all Senior A and B teams in the same round robin competition. Two years on theres no such safety net of a structures change to save them. But, there could be something else. What if Sixmilebridge beat Broadford in Saturdays intermediate hurling final? If they do, they wont go up to senior ranks, unless they receive special dispensation to do so from Croke Park, The question is, would that leave a vacancy in the senior championship for 2009. At present there are 20 senior teams, so that would leave an odd number of 19 if the Bridge didnt move up a grade. It might be all conjecture. Broadford could beat the Bridge to lay claim to their second intermediate title this decade. But if they dont will the Townies try to get back into the senior ranks by the back door? From the Ditch says yes.

From the Clare People

i wouldn’t be putting too much stock into their win over joseph’s…they played well but barefield were cronic the same day…if newmarket hurled like they did in the second half against inagh/kilnamona then they will win but with the weather it will be whoever wins the battle between 5 and 12 will win the match…we have been hurling consistently well for the past 18 months and when it has come to big games(and we have had plenty over that time)we haven’t been found wanting…i don’t think it will be too high scoring and probably 1-12 will be enough to win it…

if newmarket do win on sunday I can see them winning munster and probably getting to an all ireland club final(munster winners play the ulster winners in the semi’s)

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Anyone else see this shite? Surely this can’t happen.

TWO years ago ire g were relegated from the Senior A championship when they lost a relegation tie to Ogonnelloe. However, they didnt go down to Senior B - all because the championship was restructured to lump all Senior A and B teams in the same round robin competition. Two years on theres no such safety net of a structures change to save them. But, there could be something else. What if Sixmilebridge beat Broadford in Saturdays intermediate hurling final? If they do, they wont go up to senior ranks, unless they receive special dispensation to do so from Croke Park, The question is, would that leave a vacancy in the senior championship for 2009. At present there are 20 senior teams, so that would leave an odd number of 19 if the Bridge didnt move up a grade. It might be all conjecture. Broadford could beat the Bridge to lay claim to their second intermediate title this decade. But if they dont will the Townies try to get back into the senior ranks by the back door? From the Ditch says yes.

From the Clare People[/quote]

yeah i can’t see the bridges second team going up if they win, the first team will lay claim to the clare minors that are hurling with them and their older lads wouldn’t have the legs…but i reckon broadford will beat them anyway in what will be a dogfight…

was reading in the clare people yeasterday that this bridge team has a combined total of 59 county medals between them, that is some going…

Oh so they are on the bank holiday weekend then

[quote=“The Puke”]i wouldn’t be putting too much stock into their win over joseph’s…they played well but barefield were cronic the same day…if newmarket hurled like they did in the second half against inagh/kilnamona then they will win but with the weather it will be whoever wins the battle between 5 and 12 will win the match…we have been hurling consistently well for the past 18 months and when it has come to big games(and we have had plenty over that time)we haven’t been found wanting…i don’t think it will be too high scoring and probably 1-12 will be enough to win it…

if newmarket do win on sunday I can see them winning munster and probably getting to an all ireland club final(munster winners play the ulster winners in the semi’s)

[QUOTE]

Well I’m not a big fan of NOF, but I would’nt detract from their semi-final showing. Patches of it were better than any performance given by any Clare club in a long, long time. I saw D/B vs I/K and the only difference was NOF just did’nt let them breathe. Barefield had experience and physicality on their side and they were just hurled out the gate. They did eventually throw in the towel but not before NOF had given them a serious lesson. If Nicky O Connell, DOD, and Paul Nihill continue to hurl as well as they have, Clonlara are in with a huge shout but if Newmarket get into a groove they’ll be fierce hard to stop. On the upside though, Clonlara have harder working forwards, no primadonnas (maybe one or two suspects against a whole fleet of them) and a serious winning habit. I’d love to see a shock but either way there’s going to be some mighty battles.

thats it in a nut shell…i am not for one minute saying that we are going to get it easy but i think it will extremely tight barring an absolute masterclass by one team or a total collapse by the other…

newmarket seem to have abit more strength in depth with their subs but we have a bit more versatility in our forwards as conlon can go in full and honan can come out to the wing and donovan, o hare and lynch are versatile, so we can change it about if things aren’t working…

what do you make of the young lads clonlara have WTB…i find it hard to look at them objectively anymore as i know them too well but i reckon we have at least 5 lads that will hurl intercounty in the next few years…

According to FM104 anyone with a serious interest in Dublin football should be heading along to Parnell Park tonight for the county final.

Well I’m not going…

but have you a serious interest in dublin footabll farmer?

Stevie G and myself shall be attending our adopted county final in Parnell Park tonight. cumspot, will Wexford’s Adrian Morrissey be starting for Crokes?

Lads did anyone else watch Srafields and Kill last Sunday, i put myself through it. Without doubt the worst game of football this year. I love football, probably a bit more than hurling, but that shite on TV does nothing for our fight against the hurling snobs. If Kill is the sum total of Barney Rocks year of management then the Dubs are dead right to stay away from him. Fucking basketball if ever i saw it, disgraceful. I know Intermediate teams in Cork and Kerry that would beat the pick of those teams the last day, that is not an over-statement, believe me.
The weather didn’t help, but still, no score for 16 minutes at the start.

By me saying that I am not going means that I obviously don’t Puke given the strict criteria specified by the good folk at FM104.

I don’t think they were precluding anyone whose interest isn’t serious from going Farmer. More stating that anyone with a serious interest should definitely be going.

Heading along myself…hope to see Plunkett’s lift their first ever County title but heart says Kilmacud will win it by about 3 or 4.

NCC, the Swan is picking me up at 6.45 - give him a call if you fancy joining us

[quote=“thedancingbaby”]Heading along myself…hope to see Plunkett’s lift their first ever County title but heart says Kilmacud will win it by about 3 or 4.

NCC, the Swan is picking me up at 6.45 - give him a call if you fancy joining us[/quote]

What time’s throw-in dancingtoddler? I’ve heard a couple of different times bandied about so far today.

19.45 Bandage unless crowd congestion pushes it back

What ye make of this?

Speaking at the launch of the tournament last night, Gilroy said the six-team competition was designed with a view to unearthing players who had yet to play for Dublin and who the new management feel would increase their options in their squad for the forthcoming year.

“We’re not having trials and we have no plans to have trials,” Gilroy told the Evening Herald.

"This gives us a great opportunity to see a lot of players playing at a certain level. It will be a blitz-type tournament and if a guy shows up well in that, it gives us a good opportunity to have a look at him seriously.

Top level

“It’s like any of the club championship matches. We’ll have guys going to league matches and this is just another opportunity for people to show that they’re capable of playing at the top level.”

The competition will be run over two days - Saturday, November 8 and Sunday November 9 at Innisfails ground in Balgriffin. For the purposes of the competition, Dublin will be broken into six regional teams: Fingal, Dublin Central, Dublin North-East, Dublin North-West, Dublin South-West and Dublin South-East.

Most of the current Dublin squad will be involved with their respective regional sides and specially-appointed selectors will be tasked with gathering a panel of 20 for each regional team.

“The current panelists are all allocated teams but after that, the selectors will be talking to different club managers and using their own knowledge to come up with players and make up a panel of twenty,” Gilroy said.

The novel initiative has also attracted the support of some of Dublin’s top former players. People such as Mick Deegan, Mick Galvin, Eamon Heery, Joe McNally and Senan Connell are already on board to act as selectors for the teams.

"People liked the idea, in fairness. The initiative is a good one. When people were contacted they seemed to be keen. It should give us a good trawl of the county and see players.

“Most of the current panel will be playing in the tournament so the standard should be quite high. All the teams look quite strong.”

Matches on the Saturday will be 20-minutes per half in a blitz-style format with the finals played off on the Sunday.

"I’ve been at all the senior championship matches anyway myself and so have the other guys. But this is a county board initiative to do something a little bit different and to give guys a chance to put themselves in there who weren’t involved previously. It’s a good idea and it’s a good way to finish the year.

“I think the standard is good in club football. There are good players at all levels so hopefully, we’ll see something that will add to last year’s squad.”

Regional Tournament

Saturday, Nov 8

11.0am Dublin Central v Dublin North East

12.0 Fingal v Dublin North West

1.0pm Dublin Central v Dublin South East

2.0 Dublin South West v Dublin North West.

3.0 Dublin North East v Dublin South East

4.0 Fingal v Dublin North West

Sunday, Nov 9

Final: 2.0pm

Management teams

Dublin Central: Declan Mc Grath, Eamon Heery, Ciarn O’Hare.

Fingal: Niall Guiden, Mick Kennedy, Mick Deegan.

Dublin North East: Tony Diamond, Neil Curley, Paul Kelly.

Dublin North West: Senan Connell, Mick Galvin, Jim Brogan, Mick Bohan.

Dublin South East: Pat Burke snr, Pauric Monahan, Declan O’Boyle.

Dublin South West: Brendan Moran, Brendan Murray, Joe McNally.

• Conor McKeon

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Lads did anyone else watch Srafields and Kill last Sunday, i put myself through it. Without doubt the worst game of football this year. I love football, probably a bit more than hurling, but that shite on TV does nothing for our fight against the hurling snobs. If Kill is the sum total of Barney Rocks year of management then the Dubs are dead right to stay away from him. Fucking basketball if ever i saw it, disgraceful. I know Intermediate teams in Cork and Kerry that would beat the pick of those teams the last day, that is not an over-statement, believe me.
The weather didn’t help, but still, no score for 16 minutes at the start.

It was Celbridge, not Kill

[quote=“Watch The Break”]Anyone else see this shite? Surely this can’t happen.

From the Clare People[/quote]

Similar instance in Wexford this year where Rathnure play Blackwater in the IHC Final on Sat. As Rathnure are already senior they are allowed to decide if they wish to field 2 seniors teams afaik. If they decide not to then Blackwater automatically get promoted, even if they lose the final.

Wexford could do with mass relegation from senior instead of promoting teams but sin sceal eile.

how many teams are senior in wexford appendage…

Semi-interesting fact - Conor McKeon of the Evening Herald plays the Uilleann Pipes for Damien Dempsey at his live shows.

I’m starting to get in the mood for the football later now - the Mark Vaughan/Michael Brides duel should be worth the admission fee alone.

[quote=“Appendage”]Similar instance in Wexford this year where Rathnure play Blackwater in the IHC Final on Sat. As Rathnure are already senior they are allowed to decide if they wish to field 2 seniors teams afaik. If they decide not to then Blackwater automatically get promoted, even if they lose the final.

Wexford could do with mass relegation from senior instead of promoting teams but sin sceal eile.[/quote]

You sure about that? I always thought they couldnt be promoted. They beat Ferns in last years final but I thought they couldnt be promoted? Gman might be the man with the answer here.