Club championships

to be honest i don’t think it can be much good for any county or team for that matter to have two teams in the senior championship…

St Oliver Plunketts 0-13 Kilmacud Crokes 1-10. A very enjoyable game of football tonight in really difficult conditions.

Plunketts were leading 0-6 to 0-5 at half time after playing against the gale and it seemed both sides found it easier to carry the ball forward into the wind rather than playing with the aid of the elements. 3 frees from Mark Vaughan kept Crokes in touch.

Crokes got a really well worked goal early in the second half after a series of sharp handpasses and incisive runs to go 1-7 to 0-7 up.

But Plunketts wiped out the lead straight away with 3 quick fire points. Ross McConnell got a superb point and had a smashing battle all game with Darren Magee, who scored a first half line ball.

Plunketts then forged into a 2-point lead near the end after good points by Jason Sherlock and Bernard Brogan before Crokes hit back to level with points by very impressive full forward Mark Davoren and then the equaliser by Pat Burke, who scored 1-2.

Alan Brogan, who knocked over 2 points, had a couple of late wides for Plunketts and Niall Corkery missed a fairly easy chance for Crokes too. Then Garreth Smith, the Plunketts captain, was through in the inside left position and, though a point would have done them, he soloed through and crashed a shot off the crossbar.

The ref blew it up shortly after and Smith would have been kicking himself had they lost it, especially as they played the better football overall. The replay’s on Monday night and I wouldn’t rules Crokes out at all even though I’d like to see Plunketts win their first ever title.

[quote=“Bandage”]St Oliver Plunketts 0-13 Kilmacud Crokes 1-10.

Then Garreth Smith, the Plunketts captain, was through in the inside left position

Is that much different from the missionary position?
Why bring sexual matters into what was otherwise a reasonable report.
Croagh Patrick for you lad …
Footnote: A big crowd???

Apologies Boxty - your old eyes shouldn’t have to read filth like that. We got in 10 minutes before the start and the crowd was smaller than I anticipated. By throw-in and just after it had filled up quite a bit though. The stand was about 80% full and there was a decent crowd on the covered terrace on the far side too.

Forgot to mention Wexford’s Adrian Morrissey, he spent most of the game on Alan Brogan and was average enough. Brogan got a couple of points but was wasteful with some of the other possession he got.

Morrissey wasn’t on the ball an awful lot and his distribution was mixed but he was involved in the goal when he received the ball at pace from Magee from a kick-out, burst forward, fisted it to Longford’s Brian Kavanagh, who in turn fed Davoren and he drew the 'keeper before palming it across to Burke to tap home.

Top job man.
Mrs Boxty has rehearsed the “emergency” call tomorrow around the 12th.bell (unsure of which ruse to use - cows out/burst pipe) to enable Boxtyman view the early afternoon activities from Perth.
Apart from the junket for the players,it’s a worthless exercise in my book.

Great evening’s entertainment but think Plunkett’s will definitely feel they left it behind.

Bandage, cant believe you never mentioned Vaughan missing the 21 yard free in the second half…very very unlike him.

McConnell’s point was top drawer alright. Thought Alan Brogan was very poor. Some of his shooting was very wayward as was Jason Sherlock’s.

Looking forward to the replay on Monday at 7.30.

I think Ferns won actually last years intermediate c’ship.

There are 16 teams in Wexford senior c’ships Puke, both hurling and football.

The football is pretty even as almost any team could beat another on any given day. But the standard is pretty poor.

The hurling is not so competitive, but the standard is also pretty poor as Wexford results in Leinster have indicated. This is the first year in a while that the Alley, O/B, Rathnure and St Martin’s are not the 4 semi finalists. After these 4 there are 5 or 6 teams that can keep the ball pucked out to the top them and then there are 6 teams that on recent form are mere canon fodder.

A mass clear out is required but Wexford Co Board, being Wexford Co Board will leave its head in the sand forever and a day.

Good luck tomorrow Pukester.

Appendage, on the Wexford championship - I think we should look to get it down to 12 teams. I’d like 8 senior clubs team and then 4 district sides comprised of players from intermediate and junior clubs, like what they have in Cork. Reducing the number of teams would make the championship more competitive and introducing district teams would give the best lads from lesser clubs senior experience.

Not a fooking hope something like that will happen as clubs won’t vote for a proposal that would put their own senior status at risk. But I think we need to do something like this to give hurling a shot in the arm in Wexford. 'Twould be good if Wexford district were playing the Harriers or the Martin’s or Enniscorthy district were taking on the Rapps or Rathnure.

[quote=“Bandage”]Good luck tomorrow Pukester.

thanks bandage…i have 5 hurleys sharpened for if i get the run…i have a feeling with the weather it will be a dog fight, might suit my style:)

Controlled aggression now Puke. You don’t want to give away a crucial free in a tight, low-scoring game. In other words, make sure you’re sly and sneaky when giving someone a dog. 'Mon Clonlara!

i have the controlled aggression down to a tee bandage if only i had a bit of pace:D…

[quote=“Bandage”].

Appendage, on the Wexford championship - I think we should look to get it down to 12 teams. I’d like 8 senior clubs team and then 4 district sides comprised of players from intermediate and junior clubs, like what they have in Cork. Reducing the number of teams would make the championship more competitive and introducing district teams would give the best lads from lesser clubs senior experience.

they should do what was the norm up until a couple of years ago on clare…have 12 senior A teams and 8 senior B teams…3 groups of 4 in the A, top two in each qualify for the quarters…2 groups of 4 in the B top team in each qualify for the quarters…

I believe The Puke is now a Clare senior hurling title winner. Well done comrade Puke.

Ballyhale 2-11 James Stephens 0-12 in the Kilkenny SH Final.

Jugs senior opted for a 1 1/2 hour drive to see this as opposed to going around the corner to see the two best clubs in Wexford playing their semi final. I’ve yet to get the report but i’ve no doubt it was a far superior game.

Yeah, well done the Clon. Heard it was pure guts that won it.

well done pukey

Amongst your many opponents on this board, may I welcome you to the inner sanctum of -County Medallists’-Senior.
To paraphrase your countyman MM “there won’t be a sheep safe in Clare tonight”
Comhirdeags Puke agus do clainn go lir.

Fair play 2ye Puke, congrats.

A full report-new thread- due around Weds. methinks.

does this mean pukey is the best stick hurler on the forum & boxty is the best swampballer on the forum

good stuff lads