Coldplay -Fran's faves

Half of oasis was singing in Limerick a month ago and they couldn’t give away tickets.

The mob are fickle.

Most bands / artists have 4 or 5 decent songs.

I hadn’t seen the likes of it at a stadium gig before - they pulled out every trick in the book. In fairness they seem to now that they’re there to entertain and they go all out for it. Apart from the obvious ones it’s amazing how many of their songs you’d recognise too so the crowd go all in for it too.

Lads in their 40s who think they are too cool for a certain artist need to have a chat with themselves. You’re not cool you’re in your 40s. It’s a show no different to going to wicked in the bord gais or some blockbuster movie if it’s entertaining job done.

Ah yeah - it’s pop really. Anthems that are suited to 80k people jumping around to.

1D

Apparently they did a great version of Ride On. They just have played it twice because the video I saw was of an absolutely shite version.

You need to calm down bud. Some people like particular genres or artists that aren’t big stadium fillers… Sometimes i wish i was simple minded and into your westlifes and oasis and the likes but I’m not. I genuinely hope you lads have a great night

Yeah but they almost always denigrate the lads who like the popular stuff. Especially in music. That’s who my ‘pop’ was aimed at. That’s grand when you are a young lad and you are actually cool

Gas to hear fella filleting Martin. He knows the market and has evolved to meet the demand. Seems a smart cookie and i guess he’d be fairly successful at anything he’d put his hand to.

I was never cool.

Fix You is a beautiful song and written for his wife during the passing of her father. That’s lovely

I remember listening to the debut Coldplay album on my disc-man on Sundays & Fridays on the Wexford-UCD/UCD-Wexford bus - it must be 24 years ago?

I had a lovely little CD case/holder thing into which you could slide around 20 CDs so you’d update your library from time to time. Some tough decisions had to be made & once you were gone, you were usually gone for good.

“And spies came out of the water…”

Coldplay have some good songs.

They showed promise after their debut album but seemed to make a decision to go the route of radio friendly, bland and most important earning a lot of money.

Parachutes was a great debut album recorded in 99 i believe and released 2000 … It’s contemporary of oasis?

Oasis heyday was mid 90’s but they were contemporaries.

Parachutes and the Marshal Mathers Album were released that summer. I’d have both CDs with me on my walk from Clonskeagh to Dundrum. Trying not to walk too fast incase I’d jump the CD.

Dr Dre’s 2001 was also huge at the time.

The gait must have evolved from shuffle to swagger as you moved between albums.

Every where i go all i ever seem to hear is…bang, bang, bang

Coldplay had some bangers. I remember walking out of underworld in witnness 2003 and across the back of Coldplay crowd and they had the place bouncing. Great light show too :joy: