Great game, great team. 4-in-a-row champions; great sound to it.
FAir play Locke
YOurself and the Link must be delighted
[quote=“sid waddell”]Few things from the highlights. The amount of slipping and sliding on that pitch, most notably when Eoin Kelly slipped when he was one on one with Ryan. To produce a game like that on that pitch is a huge tribute to the players.
Again it has to be said that the GAA have absolutely no right to moan about any effect that spectators have on the pitch when they rip it up in mid season. Conor O’Mahony slipped on his arse when he was about to nail Richie Power before Power went on the solo run that resulted in the penalty.
Pass of the year from Kerwick to Callanan for the first one on one and save of the year without question. Callanan has it all, he’s going to be some player if he keeps his head screwed on.
PJ Ryan is nailed on for an All Star after that performance. Comerford shortened the hurley brilliantly for the goal when most players would have been sandwiched by the two encroaching defenders.
Dunne’s pull was pure filth. Up there with Declan Ryan’s on Jim Cashman in '91 and Peadar Carton on Paul Curran a couple of years back. 3 months minimum for that and I’d give six. Although it has to be said that Walsh is an irritating little bollox and had it coming.[/quote]
I thought Corbett’s pass for Kelly’s chance was superb also. He was running in the opposite direction.
Is damage to the pitch the reason the supporters are not let on? I thought it was for safety issues.
[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]FAir play Locke
YOurself and the Link must be delighted[/quote]
Delighted is not the word. Twas the most tence game I reckon I’ve ever watched. Thought the heart was going to go on me a few times. Jaysus it was brilliant. I think the fact that KK kept Tipp goaless was a huge help to go on and beat Tipp. I don’t think it was a penalty but you have to play the whistle. It was that much in the balance but I’d hope that the Tipp crowd won’t be saying that 2009 was one they left behind them. They were beaten on the day by 5 points; it would be different if it was 1 or 2 points win.
I’d say they’ll take their beating but next year could be different
was 2004 the year you were in the Rutland
Mind you I thought 1999 was pretty classy
NICKY ENGLISH
Monday, September 7, 2009
This was the crowning glory for Brian Cody and his outstanding team, although Tipperary will look back and believe that this was one that got away on them.
Yet you picked 1983 as one of the better ones?:rolleyes:
Badly shown up here.
Class quote
Sylvie is a Legend:thumbsup:
caught up in the same timewarp NCC ?
A brilliant contest and a glorious day. Nerve shredding stuff but thank fuck we won.
Hon the Cats :D:thumbsup:
Kilkenny Players In Shirts Drenched In Alcohol Scandal:
[quote=“Bandage”]Kilkenny Players In Shirts Drenched In Alcohol Scandal:
who are those 2 benders?
do all stickhurlers have the same “hairstyle”
Look at the ginger munter behind hoping for a riddling by a KK superstar! God damn jersey girls.
There was a couple of KK girls standing behind me in the hill yesterday saying who they would and wouldnt “do” when they were announcing the team lineups before the games! Dogs the both of them.
[quote=“Sheriff Lobo”]
There was a couple of KK girls standing behind me in the hill yesterday saying who they would and wouldnt “do” when they were announcing the team lineups before the games! Dogs the both of them. :D[/quote]
thinly veiled ‘I was rejected when I tried to slip the hand’ post there
Doesnt get much more manly than that, I’d say CLG is driven to distraction by that picture.
Great game of hurling - The better team lost it though. Kilkenny were saved by outstanding individual displays from PJ Ryan and Tommy Walsh, with a little help from Benny Dunne and Diarmuid Kirwan. For the Penalty, Curran should have brought him down out around the 21, which was what Kilkenny were doing all day - they were just too clever for Us on the day. I’m not too disheartened though, because we are back and are going to get even better in the next few years. Sheedy and Co will give it a right rattle next year and if we don’t win it next year sure Nicky will come back for the year after that.
Was raging (seething even) coming out of Croker but fair play to Kilkenny folk - they win graciously - they are alright sorts.
[quote=“tipptops*”]Great game of hurling - The better team lost it though. Kilkenny were saved by outstanding individual displays from PJ Ryan and Tommy Walsh, with a little help from Benny Dunne and Diarmuid Kirwan. For the Penalty, Curran should have brought him down out around the 21, which was what Kilkenny were doing all day - they were just too clever for Us on the day. I’m not too disheartened though, because we are back and are going to get even better in the next few years. Sheedy and Co will give it a right rattle next year and if we don’t win it next year sure Nicky will come back for the year after that.
Was raging (seething even) coming out of Croker but fair play to Kilkenny folk - they win graciously - they are alright sorts.[/quote]
Ye did nothing wrong on Sunday(Benny Dunne apart)and played brilliantly the whole way through. Ye’ll get yere reward next year I reckon :rolleyes:
Well done Kilkenny, what a team. I’m heartbroken, but life goes on…